John 14:1-14 – Many mansions, the Way, the Truth, and the Life taught by Pastor Don Moore

Notes on John 14:1-14 – Many mansions, the Way, the Truth, the Life taught by Pastor Don Moore

Friday Bible Study notes taught on August 30, 2013 by Pastor Don Moore.

John 14.

Jesus ministered, depending on what you believe, from one to three years. He traveled the Jordan to Nazareth, Damascus to the Sea of Galilee. He was, at this stage of his journey, preparing to go to the Cross and is with the disciples in the Upper Room, sort of like his last will and testament. The marriage covenant, He is putting His offer on the table and they are responding. He is telling them everything they are entitled to.

John 14:1 “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.

This is the beginning point of Faith. If you have trouble in your heart, believe in God. Jesus is telling us not to let our heart be troubled – He wouldn’t tell us to do that if it was impossible to do that.

John 14:2-3 In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.

This is not a parable but a truth. Jesus is preparing the Kingdom of God, a home for the spirit of man, and He will come again. Jesus is the Resurrection and the Life. Jesus will receive us to be with Him in eternity.

John 14:4 And where I go you know, and the way you know.”

Jesus assured the apostles that they knew where He was going and He will be taking the way also.

John 14:5 Thomas said to Him, “Lord, we do not know where You are going, and how can we know the way?”

Thomas says we don’t know the way. He was thinking carnally.

John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

Jesus was speaking about the spiritual. This statement of His about being the way, the truth, and the life is a problem for the world. The world wants to believe that there are many ways to get to the Father and Jesus is saying no, there is ONE way – HIM.

The way the road upon which you must travel to find the truth. The Truth – that Jesus is the truth, and we must trust and rely on Jesus and only Jesus helps us to get there.  The Life – we must abide in Jesus.  We must trust and stay connected, there is no other deviant way to get to Him.

Jesus is the Word of God, and the Word of God is the Truth – we don’t want to be deceived by false prophets.  Jesus spoke with the Fathers of Faith – He spoke with Moses in the bush – I AM THAT I AM, He spoke with Abraham, with Mary.

In the Old Testament they knew Him as an Angel of the Lord.

Someone asked how people born before Jesus would be saved?  Those who died before knowing Jesus the Christ, the Savior, went to either Abraham’s Bosom or gehenna (hades).  Jesus went to Abraham’s bosom and preached salvation to those in Abraham’s bosom and took captivity captive – brought them to Heaven.

We don’t understand how God is going to do this, to bring unbelieving Jews to salvation, but God will make a way for them.

Prayer is the highest form of spiritual worship. We don’t pray to angels for that insults God.

Hebrews 1:5 For to which of the angels did He ever say: “You are My Son,
 today I have begotten You”? And again: “I will be to Him a Father, and He shall be to Me a Son”?

Answer: to no one. Never.

Hebrews 1:6-7 But when He again brings the firstborn into the world, He says: “Let all the angels of God worship Him.” And of the angels He says: “Who makes His angels spirits 
and His ministers a flame of fire.”

Phew, this gets good.

Hebrews 1:8-12 But to the Son He says: “Your throne, O God, is forever and ever;
 a scepter of righteousness is the scepter of Your kingdom. You have loved righteousness and hated lawlessness;
 therefore God, Your God, has anointed You
 with the oil of gladness more than Your companions.” And: “You, Lord, in the beginning laid the foundation of the earth,
 and the heavens are the work of Your hands. They will perish, but You remain;
 and they will all grow old like a garment; like a cloak You will fold them up,
 and they will be changed.
 But You are the same,
 and Your years will not fail.”

Science is proving this, even the wearing out like a garment.

Hebrews 1:13-14  But to which of the angels has He ever said: “Sit at My right hand, 
till I make Your enemies Your footstool”? Are they not all ministering spirits sent forth to minister for those who will inherit salvation?

Ministering spirits sent to us to help us. We don’t order the angels, but we can as God to send the angels to help us. We have history and victory here on earth during the hardest time. Angels marvel that we made it, that we say no to the antichrist. We sometimes entertain angels unawares.

John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

The truth – the indisputable reality, always proves itself. Truth is provable.

The work of the devil, just look at society and the people that believe the lies of satan.

Believers believe the Word of God. The best sermon is the one that doesn’t have to be preached, that the Lord is with us.

The life – is the Zoe life, the God kind of life.

John 14:7 “If you had known Me, you would have known My Father also; and from now on you know Him and have seen Him.”

There are people who try to reduce who you are. Pastor Don gave the example of a box of crabs. That crabs try to escape the box and what the crab beneath does is grab the top crab and pull him down, in the effort to escape.

Don’t expect people to see your anointing and know who you are. People in Nazareth didn’t recognize who Jesus was. They felt they knew his mother and father, etc. So they did not recognize that seeing Jesus was also seeing the Father.

John 14:8-10 Philip said to Him, “Lord, show us the Father, and it is sufficient for us.” Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and yet you have not known Me, Philip? He who has seen Me has seen the Father; so how can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on My own authority; but the Father who dwells in Me does the works.

Jesus is talking spiritually. The men did not want the spiritual talk; they wanted something more concrete.

John 14:11 Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves.

Pastor Don said, believe in Jesus for Jesus or else believe for the sake of the works. TEST THE FRUIT.  We tend to be more concerned about what we can see that is measurable. How a person lives their life, their walk, what they do and what they don’t do. Whether Jesus served one or three years, His fruit bears witness to who He is.  And John says there are so many more miracles that aren’t recorded that the world can’t contain them. During Jesus’ life and ministry through the cross and the resurrection – everything  Jesus did on earth, He did not do as the Word or as God. He did it as MAN, born of woman (mother Mary). Jesus did what He did by listening and obeying the Holy Spirit and the Father, doing it as a man, not using Godly power. If Jesus did not do his works this way, then our faith is in vain.  By faith Jesus accessed authority and power over satan, and faith is transferable. Because Jesus did it as a man, so can we as men and women access our authority and power over satan.

John 14:12-14 “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father.  And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.

To believe means without doubt. Clearly believes, relies and trusts.

There is a prophetic end, where things need to be rooted up and destroyed. If verse twelve is true, then we need to look at our Christian bias and recognize that our belief in Jesus is partial if you base it on the success of our works.

There are 125 churches in the Hudson Valley and more than half of the pastors have never seen themselves doing some of the works that Jesus has done.

Sadly, 57% of the pastors in America do not believe and have a Biblical worldview.

Someone counted up the number of salvations in the church and figured that, based on the numbers of saved people, it takes 680 people to save one person.

In America 84% of the people say they are Christian, but only 4% share their testimony.

The devil has used pastors and the ministry to mislead us for 2000 years. When we stray from the Word it has powerful implications for our life, and can bring us defeat.

The meaning of grace has been taught to mean unmerited favor, but Grace is far more than that. Grace is the divine influence on the heart made manifest in our life.

The Bible tells us that Jesus grew in grace and wisdom.  Why would Jesus have to grow in unmerited favor? He never sinned.

Jesus preached eternal life, salvation, which is more than just escaping hell, it is deliverance, salvation by God to wholeness, prosperity, help, health, wellbeing. Jesus has saved us to the uttermost.

Have a blessed day,

Heather.

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2013 Pastor Don Moore Teachings, Discipleship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to John 14:1-14 – Many mansions, the Way, the Truth, and the Life taught by Pastor Don Moore

  1. You write so beautifully from the heart and it touches mine, thank you. Blessings,

Leave a Reply

