John 14:1-11 taught by Pastor Don Moore with comments from Rabbi Michael Zeitler

John 14:1-11 taught by Pastor Don Moore with comments from Rabbi Michael Zeitler

My Bible Study notes from August 23, 2013

John 14:1 “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.

Pastor Don asked – Would Jesus tell us to do something we can’t do? We are capable of not letting our hearts be troubled.

In emotional circumstances the problem is we don’t want to let our inner man be stressed to the max. If we are ruled by our emotional makeup, we can be easily disturbed by something.

We need to take intellectual and spiritual authority over our emotions, our soul (mind, will, emotions). Our hearts cannot be policed until we dominate our minds and emotions, then we can tell our spirit the truth.

Don’t let people say, “God told me this about what you should do,” and blindly accept it. Ask them how did God tell you this. Not all of their statements are from God, some people speak from the flesh and emotions.

We trust our emotions and that is the number one vehicle that the enemy uses to fool us.

Jesus is telling His Apostles not to go with their feelings. What is said down here in front of you affects your belief system.  Pastor Don said, if we allow our hearts to be troubled, it affects our belief system. Don’t focus on the second part of this verse without understanding that the first part, a troubled heart, will affect our ability to believe.

If you are in fear and seeking to believe but you have a troubled heart, your case to doubt will be bigger than your belief. Don’t try and exercise your faith when you are upset. Instead, calm down, or you can be operating in faith bound by aspirations, fears, and hopes. So many people wish and hope, calling it faith, when there is no faith in it.

Some people get a diagnosis of cancer – with some people, their faith is so strong they are healed without a doctor.  Some pick a touch point like, I’ll have a cup of tea, read the Word, and the cancer will leave. Some people need to put their faith on doctors and chemotherapy, and they know that treatment will heal them. God can heal through any of these means.

We need to honestly identify where our faith is located – and apply our faith that way. Some get fooled thinking that their enthusiasm is faith – but that is not true.

Depressed and negative people usually are not strong people of faith.

When people face troubles, many say, if Jesus loves us, how come we are facing this, how can we believe anything that Jesus said? Doubts foster unbelief.

Pastor Don said the hardest thing he has to say to someone in a prayer line is, “Stop crying.”  If we stop crying and focusing on the circumstance, we can then go up for prayer with positive hope, and that works.

We can’t plan to get out of a hole if we’re mesmerized about the hole and miss the shovel.

Faith is not emotions. Faith is knowledge and acceptance of understanding. We need to believe (trust, and rely upon – the outcome of faith.)

Rabbi Michael said that Jesus told us John 14:12 “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father.  Rabbi Michal said that verse 1 is a foundation for us to be able to do these greater works.  (Pastor Don accused him of reading ahead – LOL)

John 14:2 In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.

Mansions mentioned in this verse are also called, in some Bible translations, dwelling places.  Jesus is speaking truth. Jesus said – “…if it were not so, I would have told you.” This is TRUTH, not a parable or an analogy.  There are dwelling places in Heaven, special places made just for us.

In Heaven spiritual places exist. Jesus prepared them, built, created, and spoke them into existence. We can’t understand what they are like because we haven’t seen them. Some people have died and gone to Heaven, then came back to life, telling us about what Heaven is like.

Pastor Don had us say: I have a mansion in Heaven. Jesus has prepared it for me.

John 14:3-5 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also. And where I go you know, and the way you know.” Thomas said to Him, “Lord, we do not know where You are going, and how can we know the way?”

The disciples did know the way. But they misperceived what Jesus was saying. They weren’t seeing that Jesus was talking about something similar to what happens in the Jewish Wedding ceremony. Where the groom (Jesus) goes to his father’s house (God) and prepares a home for his bride-to-be. When the father decides that the house is ready to receive the bride, the father sends the groom to go and collect his bride – to bring the bride to the house prepared for her.

Communion is a sealing of the marriage covenant with God and us. Man’s function in communion is to accept the covenant, saying I am marrying you, putting us in primary position with Jesus via the Holy Spirit. Jesus wants to marry us completely and totally. Jesus did this for his disciples during the Last Supper. Jesus fulfilled His promise to them and to us.

Thomas was not thinking Jewish wedding ceremony or the rapture. This understanding would not come to the disciples until the book of Acts.

John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

Pastor Don said this was the answer that answers the answer. The non-believing apostate world has more trouble with this verse, it screams against the desire that there would be many paths. People question why Jesus is the only way.  Apostasy is based on trying to find away to get out of verse six, that Jesus is the way, the truth and the life.  People want it to be anything else.

We have eternal life through Jesus – that is not just eternal life in Heaven, but also on earth. The Kingdom is here on earth as well as in Heaven.

The way – the road
The truth – verifiable undisputable reality
The life – the source of life in earth as well as in Heaven.

There is ONE destination and conclusion. Jesus is the truth.

How do we identify what is the truth? It is not a feel good thing, not emotional truth. It isn’t just good principles. There are good principles contained in many things that are not truth. Can we establish something as an absolute truth of something? There are lifestyle truths. Some things that we think “should” be true do not have great conclusions. For example, homosexuality – what is the fruit of that. Many who embrace that lifestyle die early – males by 45 and females by 50.

John 14:7-8 “If you had known Me, you would have known My Father also; and from now on you know Him and have seen Him.”  Philip said to Him, “Lord, show us the Father, and it is sufficient for us.”

Now they get into the crux of the matter.

John 14:9-11 Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and yet you have not known Me, Philip? He who has seen Me has seen the Father; so how can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?  Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on My own authority; but the Father who dwells in Me does the works. Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves.

There are deep mysteries in this statement of Jesus and many do not understand it. This is a crossover from the natural to the supernatural. Christ is speaking a supernatural truth of the spiritual, giving it to us while we are carnal.

Verse 9 says something spiritual is going on that you didn’t know. The disciples looked at Jesus in the physical, living with them day-to-day. Is Jesus speaking about the physical?  No.

This is not carnal, physical representation of the Father. This is also a passage that speaks of the Trinity. 

Pastor Don had Rabbi Michael speak about the Trinity to us.

Rabbi Michal said that the Israelites pray the Sh’ma:

Sh’ma Yis’ra’eil Adonai Eloheinu Adonai echad.

Hear Israel, the LORD is our God, the LORD is one.

Echad means one

Eloheinu – is part of Elohim – which is a plural form of God.

Rabbis say that God is one – they do not entertain the concept of Trinity. But Elohim implies the Trinity.

Rabbi Michael gave the example of water –with water we can have it in the form of liquid, or water can be frozen and become ice, or boiled and become steam. Whether it is liquid, ice, or steam it is still water – just water in different forms.  That is the same as the Trinity where God can be Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

Yeshua came to earth as fully God/fully man and the Holy Spirit was guiding Him.

When you come across echad – think – water-ice-steam

Jesus was saying if you see Me, you see the Father, and you also see the Holy Spirit.

God is one God, The Holy Spirit – Ruach HaKodesh – The Holy Breath of God.

The Holy Spirit is also a person. Ruach – the Breath of God. The Holy Spirit is fully God, not just the Holy Spirit.

God sent Yeshua.  Yeshua is God.

Jesus said, I AM the Father and the Father is Me. If you see the Father, you see Me, and vice versa.  This is true because of the Trinity.

Jesus was not speaking of the flesh, He was speaking a huge spiritual truth.

Pastor Don then continued:

When we meet someone, we want to ascertain spiritually who is this person? We want to get at the framework.  We don’t want to look at the flesh and the manifestations of the flesh. We want to perceive people as the saints that they are, separating out the carnality they are manifesting.

We have to never forget God’s sovereign, supernatural nature.  Some worship songs and some people think we are a friend of God – yes we are His friends, but He is far more than our best buddy. We must never forget He is our Sovereign. He is the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.

It isn’t about gimme, gimme, gimme – my name is Jimmy. God is the Creator of the Universe.

John 14:11 Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves.

The Greatest Miracle is He brings Himself into our awareness while we are in our brokenness and foolishness. He changed us, cleansed us of our sins, and fixed us and now we have the opportunity to serve in His Kingdom.

I hope this study blesses you. God is so awesome.

Have a great day.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2013 Pastor Don Moore Teachings, Rabbi Michael Zeitler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to John 14:1-11 taught by Pastor Don Moore with comments from Rabbi Michael Zeitler

  1. Planting Potatoes says:

    I am blessed by your post – good read!

  2. annamatrix says:

    Okay, first, Messiah did NOT fulfill the wedding vow with us at Communion – that’s why He let the fourth cup pass… and said He would NOT drink of it until He was in Heaven.

    Second, Shema does NOT point at a Trinity. It points at a multi-faceted Creator who takes MANY forms… such as the Pillar of Fire in the wilderness, or the Cloud that went before Israel by day, or the Bush that burned but was not consumed, or the Holy Spirit, or the figure in the furnace of Nebuchadnezzar, or Messiah, etc. The concept of only three (Trinity) forms for Yehovah is a Catholic fabrication that is NOT supported by scripture.

    Yikes. I’m astounded that your rabbi would nod along with this…

    • Thanks for reading and commenting – The Last Supper is not the wedding ceremony – it is the engagement ceremony – then Jesus goes to prepare a place for us until He comes to lead us the Marriage Feast. The symbolism works. Rabbi Michael is Messianic – I just wrote what He shared with us. Father – Son – Holy Spirit is also a multi-faceted Creator for in the beginning was the Word (Jesus) and the Spirit hovered – all aspects of the trinity were there in Genesis too. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

