A happy message – God’s promises are so much bigger than we can ever imagine – taught by Joy Pollard

A happy message – God’s promises are so much bigger than we can ever imagine –taught  by Joy Pollard

Bible study 7/26/13

Joy said, when someone comes to you with a mess and you want to tell them off, don’t. If they call and leave a frantic message, wait and return the phone call after a few days. A lot of times, if you wait there is a second message saying never mind.

God’s promises are so much bigger than we can imagine.

We looked at a few instances of the incredible promises and provision of God.

Exodus 25:1-8 AMP And the Lord said to Moses, Speak to the Israelites, that they take for Me an offering. From every man who gives it willingly and ungrudgingly with his heart you shall take My offering. This is the offering you shall receive from them: gold, silver, and bronze, blue, purple, and scarlet [stuff] and fine twined linen and goats’ hair, rams’ skins tanned red, goatskins, dolphin or porpoise skins, acacia wood, oil for the light, spices for anointing oil and for sweet incense, onyx stones, and stones for setting in the ephod and in the breastplate. Let them make Me a sanctuary, that I may dwell among them.

God says, speak to the Israelites to give me an offering and from those who willingly and ungrudgingly give them take the offering. God orders an incredible list of stuff – gold, silver, dolphin skin, ram’s skins dyed red, acacia wood, etc. It was a very specific order to PEOPLE WHO ARE IN THE DESERT, and before that, THEY WERE SLAVES for 400 years. He knows He will get it.

When we ask God for things, we are afraid to ask for too much. We ask for a little, but say, if it’s not too much trouble.

These offerings God asked come from people happy to give it.

Where did all this stuff come from?  The Egyptians.  After the death of the first-born sons of the Egyptians, the Egyptians were happy to get rid of the Israelites and the Israelites asked the Egyptians for these things. God had it all planned before the exodus occurred.

Exodus 12:33-36 The Egyptians were urgent with the people to depart, that they might send them out of the land in haste; for they said, We are all dead men. The people took their dough before it was leavened, their kneading bowls being bound up in their clothes on their shoulders. The Israelites did according to the word of Moses; and they [urgently] asked of the Egyptians jewels of silver and of gold, and clothing. The Lord gave the people favor in the sight of the Egyptians, so that they gave them what they asked. And they stripped the Egyptians [of those things].

Exodus 35:30-35 AMP And Moses said unto the children of Israel, See, Jehovah hath called by name Bezalel the son of Uri, the son of Hur, of the tribe of Judah. And he hath filled him with the Spirit of God, in wisdom, in understanding, and in knowledge, and in all manner of workmanship; and to devise skilful works, to work in gold, and in silver, and in brass, and in cutting of stones for setting, and in carving of wood, to work in all manner of skilful workmanship. And he hath put in his heart that he may teach, both he, and Oholiab, the son of Ahisamach, of the tribe of Dan. Them hath he filled with wisdom of heart, to work all manner of workmanship, of the engraver, and of the skilful workman, and of the embroiderer, in blue, and in purple, in scarlet, and in fine linen, and of the weaver, even of them that do any workmanship, and of those that devise skilful works.

God says that He has specific plans for the tabernacle. There would be intricately wrought work for the Tabernacle, carvings, beaten metal, garments. And these were to be made by people who spent 400 years making mud bricks, and they did not spend their evening passing down the skills. God raised up a workman – Uri is from Hur – Hur is one of the ones who held Moses’ arms up during a battle. Uriah (Uri) means light, Bezalel means in the shadow of God. 

God called Bezalel by name and not because Bezalel had training in the stuff. What God did was fill him and a helper with the Holy Spirit so that he had the gifting to make these items for the tabernacle – and God also raised up helpers for the work.

Joy said, be careful when you go to God that you don’t shorten His hand. Don’t say I know I can’t do this so it’s not going to happen. Pray this is what I want and the Holy Spirit inside can make it happen.

Psalm 138:8 AMP The Lord will perfect that which concerns me; Your mercy and loving-kindness, O Lord, endure forever—forsake not the works of Your own hands.

God will perfect those things that concern me.

James 1:17 AMP Every good gift and every perfect (free, large, full) gift is from above; it comes down from the Father of all [that gives] light, in [the shining of] Whom there can be no variation [rising or setting] or shadow cast by His turning [as in an eclipse].

God says if it concerns you, God will perfect it and He knows what concerns yo. God is no respecter of persons. If God does something for someone, He’ll do it for me. God is Jehovah Jireh – God is my provider. We have to be careful not to limit Him.

Even if we don’t do it with our mouth, we limit God’s hand by our thought life. We ask God to do it and we tell him how to do it – do it this way, I need a raise at work and I don’t get one. Don’t limit the amount of God’s promises and method of His provision.

What a powerful and good reminder of God’s power and provision.

Have a blessed day.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Minister Joy Pollard and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

