John 13 – Jesus washes disciples’ feet (cont.) taught by Pastor Don Moore

John 13 – Jesus washes disciples’ feet taught by Pastor Don Moore

Notes from Bible study taught 6/21/13

John 13:9-12 Simon Peter said to Him, “Lord, not my feet only, but also my hands and my head!” Jesus said to him, “He who is bathed needs only to wash his feet, but is completely clean; and you are clean, but not all of you.” For He knew who would betray Him; therefore He said, “You are not all clean.” So when He had washed their feet, taken His garments, and sat down again, He said to them, “Do you know what I have done to you?

Jesus washes the disciples’ feet. He tells the disciples that only their feet needed washing because they were clean – not all (Judas was going to betray Jesus). So how were the disciples clean?

John 15:1-3 “I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser. Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit He prunes, that it may bear more fruit. You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you.

The disciples were clean because of the Word that Jesus spoke to them. The water is the Word. We saw that with Nicodemus. Jesus cleaned the disciples by pouring the Word on them.

The water of the Word brings us to the process of surrender to the Lord.

Betrayal is a destroyer of the Body of Christ. Some take the Word of God and twist it in the process of betrayal. Rebellion and betrayal are a process that happens over time. Offense is a bad thing to handle.

Mary Magdalene washes Jesus’ feet with her hair. Judas complains at the cost of the ointment Mary Magdalene used, but Judas was a thief. He did not see what Mary was doing.

Good teachers are not offensive except to one given to a spirit of offense. A leader brings correction. Sometimes correction is misinterpreted and people get offended. Peter experiences the truth of who Jesus is, the Messiah, the Christ. In his next breath, Peter tells Jesus not to go to the cross. Jesus rebukes Peter, saying get the behind me satan. Peter will deny Christ, but afterwards he will humble himself and stay with the body. Judas won’t do that.  Many people rebel, leave the church, and return to their own vomit, their old ways.

Judas got the feeling he is not on the same page with the disciples. Judas was a zealot, and wanted to overthrow the Roman Empire. This decision was made based on money and greed.

Sitting under the word is not enough. You can hear the Word, but something has to happen to get you cleansed by the Word. It has to go from your head to your heart.

Forty-nine percent of pastors don’t believe in the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus or the supernatural powers of God.

John 13:12-17 So when He had washed their feet, taken His garments, and sat down again, He said to them, “Do you know what I have done to you? You call Me Teacher and Lord, and you say well, for so I am. If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. For I have given you an example, that you should do as I have done to you. Most assuredly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master; nor is he who is sent greater than he who sent him. If you know these things, blessed are you if you do them.

Servanthood – to be the boss, practice being the greatest servant. Ask yourself how can I humble myself to raise others up?

John 13:18  “I do not speak concerning all of you. I know whom I have chosen; but that the Scripture may be fulfilled, ‘He who eats bread with Me has lifted up his heel against Me.’

We went to Psalms to see where this passage came from to get a greater understanding. The Psalm was so good, we read it all, not just the one passage.

Psalm 41:1-13 Blessed is he who considers the poor; 
the Lord will deliver him in time of trouble. The Lord will preserve him and keep him alive,
 and he will be blessed on the earth;
 You will not deliver him to the will of his enemies. The Lord will strengthen him on his bed of illness;
 You will sustain him on his sickbed. I said, “Lord, be merciful to me;
 heal my soul, for I have sinned against You.” My enemies speak evil of me:
 “When will he die, and his name perish?” And if he comes to see me, he speaks lies; 
His heart gathers iniquity to itself;
 when he goes out, he tells it. All who hate me whisper together against me;
 against me they devise my hurt. “An evil disease,” they say, “clings to him.
 And now that he lies down, he will rise up no more.” Even my own familiar friend in whom I trusted,
 who ate my bread,
 has lifted up his heel against me. But You, O Lord, be merciful to me, and raise me up,
 that I may repay them. By this I know that You are well pleased with me,
 because my enemy does not triumph over me. As for me, You uphold me in my integrity,
 and set me before Your face forever. Blessed be the Lord God of Israel
 from everlasting to everlasting!
 Amen and Amen.

Jesus has a great sense of outcome. We get depressed when we look at the present, but in the Lord we have to look at the outcome. We can’t be depressed if we are focusing on the future of what God put in our mind and imagination. We get depressed looking at the past or our current circumstances.

Right now things are not working right, we may be dealing with health issues, finances, troubles, emotional issues. God answers our prayers. God’s got a plan for us. Our outcome will be greater than our pressures.

Notice the prophecy –verse 9, has the resurrection around it. Psalm 41:9-11 Even my own familiar friend in whom I trusted,
 who ate my bread,
 has lifted up his heel against me. But You, O Lord, be merciful to me, and raise me up,
 that I may repay them. By this I know that You are well pleased with me,
 because my enemy does not triumph over me.

Too often we see the troubles in our present. As believers we know our enemy does NOT triumph over us. That doesn’t mean we won’t face troubles and challenges, but we will triumph in Christ. We only become depressed if we stay sitting in our mess. A bump in the road does not mean that you give up your future.

John 13:18-20 “I do not speak concerning all of you. I know whom I have chosen; but that the Scripture may be fulfilled, ‘He who eats bread with Me has lifted up his heel against Me.’  Now I tell you before it comes, that when it does come to pass, you may believe that I am He.  Most assuredly, I say to you, he who receives whomever I send receives Me; and he who receives Me receives Him who sent Me.”

Jesus is speaking in the authority of the sent one. He says those who receive whomever Jesus sends receives Jesus, and those who receive Jesus receive the Father. Judas will dip bread, but will not share the cup. Judas does not receive the Lord.

Praying your day is blessed.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2013 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

