Notes on homily about Lord’s Prayer taught by Father Raphael Iannone

St. Francis de Sales Catholic Community in Phoenicia New York has a new priest, Rev. Raphael Iannone. His homilies are noteworthy.  The reading for  Sunday Mass was Luke 11:1-13 which detailed the disciples asking Jesus how to pray. He teaches them the Lord’s Prayer and then adds “ask and you will receive.”

Here are a few of my notes from the homily.

There is a book called The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff. In this book there is a time where a leader was scheduled to give a speech. Usually the auditorium is filled because the speeches are spectacular. One day his secretary made a mistake and put the wrong date on the schedule. The leader walks in to an empty auditorium. He bows to each section and then says that he needed to schedule more meeting like this one. He enjoyed the silence.

Father Raphael said we need to take time for silence and prayer, to listen to the voice of God.

Isaac Newton invented a telescope that could see far into the stars. Newton said he could look millions of miles into space (highly unlikely), but better still, he can set aside time, go into his room, get on his knees, and see more of Heaven than through the telescope.

Jesus gave us His very presence. He is in our midst. He is in the Eucharist.

The disciples ask Jesus to teach them how to pray. He teaches them the Lord’s Prayer.

Often, when we pray the Lord’s Prayer we pray it mechanistically, sort of like the prayer wheels of the eastern people. Although psychologists say repetitive prayers are beneficial and give us some peace, we can’t recite the Our Father like a prayer wheel.

In the Lord’s Prayer there are no “I”, “My” or “Me”.  Yet, when we pray it, we often think in those terms.

For example, we may pray, Give us this day our daily bread – but our mind is saying give me my daily bread. We make mental substitutions.  Forgive us our sins turns into forgive me for my sins.

Charles Thompson says there is no “I” in the Lord’s Prayer. We must pray for our other brothers and sisters.

Then Jesus tells us to Ask, Receive, Knock. This is not put a nickel in and get a pie. Only when we are seeking the Kingdom of God first, attuning our hearts to the realm of God’s will that we receive what we ask.

Abraham Lincoln was once asked about praying for the North to win the battle. Abraham Lincoln said it is his constant prayer that our nation is on the side of the Lord.

If we are on the Lord’s side, we can pray with an open hand and He will give us our needs, forgive our sins, etc.

Often we come to God only when we are facing tragedy and doom and need to storm the heavens for the peace of God. Father Raphael asked us, where were we when Jesus said for us to be peacemakers? Are we bridge builders?

We need to tune into God and ask God what to do. Seek His divine guidance. Pray that He helps us know His will. Pray, show me what you want me to do.

Prayer is listening to the voice of God in our innermost being. Pray, Lord, teach us how to pray. Pause a while and enter into the silence and know that He is God and that He loves you. God is here for us. God is Holy and He is our God.

Hope you enjoy this teaching. It sure touched my heart.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Father Raphael Iannone and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

