Water is the Word & dealing with the demonic taught by Pastor Don Moore

More on the water is the Word of God & dealing with the demonic taught by Pastor Don Moore.

Notes from Bible study taught on 12/14/12

There is an onslaught against the church and the Bible. We want to be equipped to defend the faith.

John 15:13 Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.

God loves us so much he prunes and cuts away things that are not beneficial to us. When we face an unexpected situation we often think it is the work of the devil. Sometimes it is of our own making, other times it may be the devil, but in either case, God can use the situation to prune us so we can bear more fruit for the Kingdom of God.

If a church or a person is not bearing fruit, God’s Shekinah glory is removed.

John 15:3-4 You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you.  Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me.

Verse three speaks of cleansing by the Water of the Word. We saw that the water is the Word of God.  Verse four speaks about abiding in Jesus.

Jesus was asked about the commandments and he broke down all the laws and commandments into two – Doing the will of the Father and walking in love.

To abide means to obey, read, meditate (say the Word to ourselves and think on the Word, not yoga meditation of repeating a mantra of blanking the mind), speak the Word of God, be directed by the Holy Spirit.

Ezekiel 36:22-25 “Therefore say to the house of Israel, ‘Thus says the Lord God: “I do not do this for your sake, O house of Israel, but for My holy name’s sake, which you have profaned among the nations wherever you went. And I will sanctify My great name, which has been profaned among the nations, which you have profaned in their midst; and the nations shall know that I am the Lord,” says the Lord God, “when I am hallowed in you before their eyes. For I will take you from among the nations, gather you out of all countries, and bring you into your own land. Then I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you shall be clean; I will cleanse you from all your filthiness and from all your idols.

Relationship with Jesus. How can we be united with Jesus when we are not a Jew? We can claim that by faith.

Galatians 3:5-9 Therefore He who supplies the Spirit to you and works miracles among you, does He do it by the works of the law, or by the hearing of faith?— just as Abraham “believed God, and it was accounted to him for righteousness.” Therefore know that only those who are of faith are sons of Abraham.  And the Scripture, foreseeing that God would justify the Gentiles by faith, preached the gospel to Abraham beforehand, saying, “In you all the nations shall be blessed.”  So then those who are of faith are blessed with believing Abraham.

We claim our covenant relationship by faith as sons of Abraham.

Galatians 3:22  But the Scripture has confined all under sin, that the promise by faith in Jesus Christ might be given to those who believe.

This is a sad indictment against us – that are confined under sin. BUT Jesus (salvation) is given to those who believe. Everywhere we went, we didn’t act like one of His kids. Negativity pollutes the Presence of God. Don’t whine and complain.

We need discernment to ask why? Is the hold on negativity demonic? If so, address it in prayer.

The demonic makes ninja attacks, undercover subterfuge. If we are dealing with demonic then we have to counterattack. Perhaps anoint the pillow of the person who is bringing the demonic into the house.

To know how to react to the situation you have to discern if it is demonic. If it is demonic they are going to be speaking negative words, their view will be unreasonable. There is no way to reason against it.

Acts 16:16-18 Now it happened, as we went to prayer, that a certain slave girl possessed with a spirit of divination met us, who brought her masters much profit by fortune-telling. This girl followed Paul and us, and cried out, saying, “These men are the servants of the Most High God, who proclaim to us the way of salvation.” And this she did for many days. But Paul, greatly annoyed, turned and said to the spirit, “I command you in the name of Jesus Christ to come out of her.” And he came out that very hour.

This girl was a slave who had a spirit of divination. She spoke the truth about Paul, but that does not mean that what she was saying didn’t come from a demonic source. The demons will tell mostly the truth and slip in a small lie here and there. Notice that it took many days before Paul recognized that he had a devil promoting his ministry and cast it out of her. We need to discern our environment.

Pastor Don painted a word picture to let us see what he was trying to explain. If it’s a demonic spirit, the response is always unreasonable. For example, we know smoking cigarettes will kill us. Yet, the people who are smoking say things like, “I only smoke a few. I can stop when I want to.”

If a person is not speaking the truth it causes emotional and physical damage. It programs the negative thinking. And this thinking persists when the cause of the damage is no longer present.

Pastor Don told the story of a woman who cooked ham for dinner. The first thing the woman did was cut two inches off the tail of the ham. Someone asked her why she did that. She didn’t know so she called her mom to find out why the two inches were cut off. The mom replied that she did that because the pan she baked the ham in was too small and therefore the mom had to cut two inches off.

Some things are passed down generationally. We keep doing things not thinking or asking why. We need to ask ourselves why. For example, why am I so negative? How did I get that way?

Jesus asked the dad of the demon possessed son how his son got that way.

Once we discern why another person is acting negatively or demonically, we can’t just confront them. Sometimes we have to wait until there is a proper teaching moment when you can show the person a word picture of what they are doing. There is no point confronting a person when they aren’t going to receive it. If you approach them when it isn’t a teaching moment, you are doing to them what made them the way they were in the first place.

In order to make a change in a person you need a teacheable moment and a teacheable spirit.

The Holy Spirit dwells in you and you can receive the truth. You may have to tell a person your mouth is killing me and driving everyone else away from you.

When you deal with people, you have to change to get them to change. Like the father of the demon-possessed son, you need to pray, “Lord I believe, help thou my unbelief.”

Ezekiel 36:24-27 For I will take you from among the nations, gather you out of all countries, and bring you into your own land. Then I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you shall be clean; I will cleanse you from all your filthiness and from all your idols.  I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; I will take the heart of stone out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.  I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will keep My judgments and do them.

God cleanses us from our idols and filthiness. He’s given us His Word and His word cleans us. The water is the Word.

Ezekiel 36:28 Then you shall dwell in the land that I gave to your fathers; you shall be My people, and I will be your God.

This is God’s pledge to us.

Ezekiel 36:32 Not for your sake do I do this,” says the Lord God, “let it be known to you. Be ashamed and confounded for your own ways, O house of Israel!”

Pastor Don said God didn’t do this for our sake. God wants us healed and delivered for His sake.

Ezekiel 36:33-34 ‘Thus says the Lord God: “On the day that I cleanse you from all your iniquities, I will also enable you to dwell in the cities, and the ruins shall be rebuilt. The desolate land shall be tilled instead of lying desolate in the sight of all who pass by.

Our loneliness and desolation is pushed out by the Spirit of the Lord. He will fill our aloneness with His presence. God fills us, restores us, and adjusts us so that we can abide with Him.

Ezekiel 36:37 Thus says the Lord God: “I will also let the house of Israel inquire of Me to do this for them: I will increase their men like a flock.

This is a spiritual secret. God lets the house of Israel inquire of God. He will let you ask. God really wants to do what we need, but He can’t unless we ask. He won’t force Himself on us.

We wait for the Lord to do something, when God is waiting for us to ask, we don’t have to accept our station of life.

Women have the responsibility of caregiver, comforter, consoler. Man has the responsibility of the home.

Ezekiel 36:38 Like a flock offered as holy sacrifices, like the flock at Jerusalem on its feast days, so shall the ruined cities be filled with flocks of men. Then they shall know that I am the Lord.

The ruined cities will be filled with flocks of men. Churches are filled with women, few men to lead or cover. We need godly men to guard our wives and help the women. Too many men are knuckleheads and disobedient.

Have a wonderful night.

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2012 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

