The rich young ruler, the water of the Word taught by Pastor Don Moore

Yielded and obedient, the water is the Word taught by Pastor Don Moore

Notes from Bible study taught 12/7/12

Pastor Don answered a few questions during this Bible study.

We’ve made our God small and personal, limiting Him.

The Rich Young Ruler comes to Jesus. We looked at this passage in several Gospels

Matthew 19:16-22 Now behold, one came and said to Him, “Good Teacher, what good thing shall I do that I may have eternal life?”  So He said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good but One, that is, God. But if you want to enter into life, keep the commandments.” He said to Him, “Which ones?” Jesus said, “‘You shall not murder,’ ‘You shall not commit adultery,’ ‘You shall not steal,’ ‘You shall not bear false witness,’ ‘Honor your father and your mother,’ and, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ ”The young man said to Him, “All these things I have kept from my youth. What do I still lack?” Jesus said to him, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell what you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow Me.” But when the young man heard that saying, he went away sorrowful, for he had great possessions.

Mark 10:17-22 Now as He was going out on the road, one came running, knelt before Him, and asked Him, “Good Teacher, what shall I do that I may inherit eternal life?” So Jesus said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good but One, that is, God. You know the commandments: ‘Do not commit adultery,’ ‘Do not murder,’ ‘Do not steal,’ ‘Do not bear false witness,’ ‘Do not defraud,’ ‘Honor your father and your mother.’”  And he answered and said to Him, “Teacher, all these things I have kept from my youth.” Then Jesus, looking at him, loved him, and said to him, “One thing you lack: Go your way, sell whatever you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, take up the cross, and follow Me.”  But he was sad at this word, and went away sorrowful, for he had great possessions.

Luke 18:18-23 Now a certain ruler asked Him, saying, “Good Teacher, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?” So Jesus said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good but One, that is, God. You know the commandments: ‘Do not commit adultery,’ ‘Do not murder,’ ‘Do not steal,’ ‘Do not bear false witness,’ ‘Honor your father and your mother.’ ”  And he said, “All these things I have kept from my youth.” So when Jesus heard these things, He said to him, “You still lack one thing. Sell all that you have and distribute to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow Me.”  But when he heard this, he became very sorrowful, for he was very rich.

Jesus loved this Rich Young Ruler. He accepted the young ruler’s statement that he kept the commandments (even though we know it is impossible to fully keep them – for Jesus took them to beyond the surface depth of meaning). Jesus examined this ruler and realized what he needed to do was to give up his love of mammon, riches, and give all he had to the poor. This bothered the ruler for he was rich. The truth is,  we can’t out give God – had the ruler done what Jesus suggested, he would have had riches beyond what he could think or imagine. God can’t gift us with riches if we are not going to use them for the Kingdom of God and God’s glory – He’s not going to give us riches for our selfish interests.

If someone came to Jesus and identified Him as the Son of God, Jesus told them to be quiet. Jesus didn’t want to be revealed as Messiah. Demons were told to shut up. Jesus wanted to be able to do the Kingdom work quietly.

We can do everything Jesus does – Jesus came to earth as a man and we are men. Jesus did not come to earth as God. This is a blessing for it means that if Jesus did His miracles as fully human, so can we. Jesus knew that it was not his time to be glorified, so he told the Rich Young Ruler, “Why do you call me good? No one is good but One, that is God.”

Your personal failure does not nullify what God has said. The human mind is obstinate and the enemy to our spiritual mind.

1 Corinthians 15:45 And so it is written, “The first man Adam became a living being.” The last Adam became a life-giving spirit.

Scripture never deals with the eventual outcome of Cain. God has the eternal blessing and He will keep His promise. We fail to keep our promises to God.

Sometimes we’re looking for the wrong fruit. Grace is the ability to manifest the ability God has given me in my heart. We are in relationship with Him because we believe what He said, that He came and lives in us. Because of this, we manifest the fruit of the Lord of Life in our lives. God equips us by the Holy Spirit to dominate the flesh. When we yield to the Spirit, the same way Jesus yielded to the cross, our flesh doesn’t have a clue.

In the Kingdom of God, the way we are developed is by pressure – that is how we are formed and shaped. We have a mental image of Jesus that may differ from the Biblical Jesus who is the Word of God.

We read about Nicodemus (Heather’s comment or as some like to say Nick at Night)

John 3:1-21 There was a man of the Pharisees named Nicodemus, a ruler of the Jews. This man came to Jesus by night and said to Him, “Rabbi, we know that You are a teacher come from God; for no one can do these signs that You do unless God is with him.” Jesus answered and said to him, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.” Nicodemus said to Him, “How can a man be born when he is old? Can he enter a second time into his mother’s womb and be born?” Jesus answered, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God. That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. Do not marvel that I said to you, ‘You must be born again.’ The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear the sound of it, but cannot tell where it comes from and where it goes. So is everyone who is born of the Spirit.” Nicodemus answered and said to Him, “How can these things be?” Jesus answered and said to him, “Are you the teacher of Israel, and do not know these things? Most assuredly, I say to you, We speak what We know and testify what We have seen, and you do not receive Our witness. If I have told you earthly things and you do not believe, how will you believe if I tell you heavenly things? No one has ascended to heaven but He who came down from heaven, that is, the Son of Man who is in heaven. And as Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, even so must the Son of Man be lifted up, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life. For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved. “He who believes in Him is not condemned; but he who does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God. And this is the condemnation, that the light has come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil. For everyone practicing evil hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed. But he who does the truth comes to the light, that his deeds may be clearly seen, that they have been done in God.”

This is a foundational teaching – How can one be born again? Nicodemus says, can I crawl back into my mother’s womb?  Jesus responds, you have to be born of the water and the Spirit.  What is this water? It isn’t amniotic fluid. It isn’t baptism, so what is Water?

Pastor Don had us mark our Bible with the following verses so we have the proof texts to show what water is. He asked those of us who know the answer to not say anything so the newcomers to the Bible study can do the research to find out what water is.

Ephesians 5:26 …that He might sanctify and cleanse her with the washing of water by the word,

1 Peter 1:22-23 Since you have purified your souls in obeying the truth through the Spirit in sincere love of the brethren, love one another fervently with a pure heart, having been born again, not of corruptible seed but incorruptible, through the word of God which lives and abides forever,

John 15:3 You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you.

Ezekiel 36:25 Then I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you shall be clean; I will cleanse you from all your filthiness and from all your idols.

Titus 3:5 not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us, through the washing of regeneration and renewing of the Holy Spirit,

From reading these verses we saw that the water is the Word.

Pastor Don told us he loves his wife and because of that he washes her with the water of the Word. He doesn’t beat her up with the Word or cut her down with the Word. He just teaches her with the Word.

The thing with the water of the Word is you can’t just come to church and get washed on Sunday and think it’s going to last until the next Sunday. We need to wash with new water on Monday. Then Tuesday. Each day we need to wash in fresh water (Word of God).

The water of the Word must be mixed with faith. You believe the process of washing with the Word will change things. Jesus wants us washed clean so He can present us as the Bride – holy and without blemish. It takes faith to watch our mouths (what we speak that is doubt and unbelief) and to believe in the power of the Word.

Hope this study helps you. I like how we sometimes look at parallel Scriptures like the ones with the Rich Young Ruler – each author of the Gospel witnessed the scene, but each one adds information the others don’t include. By combining the stories into one, we get a clearer picture of what happened.

I also enjoy using the Bible as a dictionary to help us understand what is meant by a word or passage.  I count myself so blessed to sit under good teachings. Pastor Don is a passionate Bible teacher who loves opening up the Scriptures and helping us understand the Word of God.  In his classes we have ample washing of the Water of the Word.

Have a blessed night.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2012 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

