1 Corinthians Chapter 15 taught by Pastor Don Moore

1 Corinthians Chapter 15 taught by Pastor Don Moore

My Bible study notes from 9/15/12

1 Corinthians 15:1 Moreover, brethren, I declare to you the gospel which I preached to you, which also you received and in which you stand,

Pastor Don had us say, “I’m standing on the Gospel.”

1 Corinthians 15:2 by which also you are saved, if you hold fast that word which I preached to you—unless you believed in vain.

Hold fast.

1 Corinthians 15:3 For I delivered to you first of all that which I also received: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures,

Jesus died for our sins, was buried and rose again according to the Scriptures

1 Corinthians 15:4-5 and that He was buried, and that He rose again the third day according to the Scriptures, and that He was seen by Cephas, then by the twelve.

 Cephas is Peter – and his name meant small pebble. Jesus said upon this rock (Jesus) God will build his church.  It is against this rock that the gates of hell not prevail.  Don’t forget, when Jesus made this comment about Peter, Peter would still make the mistake of betraying Jesus by denying him three times before the cock crowed. And Peter would be told, “Get the behind me satan” for trying to talk Jesus out of the Cross.

Jesus, after His resurrection, was seen by the disciples.

1 Corinthians 15:6 After that He was seen by over five hundred brethren at once, of whom the greater part remain to the present, but some have fallen asleep.

After being seen by the disciples, he was seen by over five hundred brethren. At the time Corinthians was written, many of these five hundred were still alive. If Paul had written lies, they would have come forward and said this isn’t true. The fallen asleep here is died, it is not astral sleep like the jehovah’s witnesses claim.

There is no teaching that ghosts or dead people will appear and walk on the earth. Only God can intervene and raise the dead as Jesus did with Lazarus. God is God of the living, not the dead.  The concept of soul sleep has no Biblical basis.

Lazarus was risen from the dead, he was dead four days, not asleep as some try to teach.

Our body experiences the resurrection of he dead. To be absent from the physical body is to be spiritually present with the Lord.  The soul is our mind, will and emotions. Our spirit man is not our soul – our soul resides in our spirit man, not our flesh man. When the flesh man dies, our spirit man is what is present with the Lord.

God is Spirit. God has a mind, will and emotions. God has a soul.  The mind of Christ functions and thinks like the spirit man without the flesh.  Evil things don’t have their spirit renewed. We are Christ-like in our spirit, not in Heaven. When we die, based on what you believe, you could go to heaven or hell. It was possible to rebel in Heaven – Lucifer rebelled.

On earth, if our spiritual will lines up with the will of God, and we do these lusts and deceits, we can be forgiven for a slip in our physical – for our spiritual is lined up with God.

Not all would believe Jesus is resurrected.. Those who did believe were persecuted for their faith by evildoers.

1 Corinthians 15:7 After that He was seen by James, then by all the apostles.

James, Jesus’ brother and the Apostles saw Jesus resurrected. Jesus appeared and ate with the disciples.

1 Corinthians 15:8 Then last of all He was seen by me also, as by one born out of due time.

Paul was not with the original apostles. Paul was out of sequence. He was born again after Christ was resurrected.

1 Corinthians 15:9-10 For I am the least of the apostles, who am not worthy to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. But by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace toward me was not in vain; but I labored more abundantly than they all, yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.

Sometimes guilt works for you. The grace of God was with Paul. The Grace of God is with us.

Many people think grace means unmerited favor, but that is not the meaning of grace. Grace is power.  God formed us and gave us ability and power. God gives us the ability to do what He wants us to do.

1 Corinthians 15:11 Therefore, whether it was I or they, so we preach and so you believed.

God gave Paul the ability to deal with all the difficulties he faced.

1 Corinthians 15:12  Now if Christ is preached that He has been raised from the dead, how do some among you say that there is no resurrection of the dead?

Some things have changed. Both in Paul’s day and today there are people who question the resurrection of the dead.

1 Corinthians 15:13-18 But if there is no resurrection of the dead, then Christ is not risen. And if Christ is not risen, then our preaching is empty and your faith is also empty. Yes, and we are found false witnesses of God, because we have testified of God that He raised up Christ, whom He did not raise up—if in fact the dead do not rise. For if the dead do not rise, then Christ is not risen.  And if Christ is not risen, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins!  Then also those who have fallen asleep in Christ have perished.

If the dead are not risen, if Christ is not risen, then our faith is futile and our sins are not forgiven.

1 Corinthians 15:19 If in this life only we have hope in Christ, we are of all men the most pitiable.

It would be pathetic to live the Christian life if there is no resurrection of the dead. It would make no sense for the Father to separate and send His Son to the earth if there is no resurrection. There was no evidence that showed that Jesus didn’t resurrect from the dead. Even secular sources, such as Josephus, have written about His resurrection in secular records. If we don’t believe in the resurrection, Heaven, or Hell, then it makes no sense for Jesus to have come to earth.

No place to feel superior to others for without Jesus we are all going to hell. Before we were saved we weren’t all that.

1 Corinthians 15:20-23 But now Christ is risen from the dead, and has become the firstfruits of those who have fallen asleep. For since by man came death, by Man also came the resurrection of the dead. For as in Adam all die, even so in Christ all shall be made alive.  But each one in his own order: Christ the firstfruits, afterward those who are Christ’s at His coming.

There is the resurrection of the dead and the coming of the Lord.

We quickly looked at the following verses and will look more in depth next Bible study.

1 Corinthians 15:24-26 Then comes the end, when He delivers the kingdom to God the Father, when He puts an end to all rule and all authority and power. For He must reign till He has put all enemies under His feet.  The last enemy that will be destroyed is death.

Death is our enemy. Plan now to escape the enemy. Death is never the truth. When Jesus was on the cross, death did not take Him, Jesus dismissed His spirit, he was not killed by others.

1 Corinthians 15:27-28  For “He has put all things under His feet.” But when He says “all things are put under Him,” it is evident that He who put all things under Him is excepted. Now when all things are made subject to Him, then the Son Himself will also be subject to Him who put all things under Him, that God may be all in all.

Jesus is the exception to the rule. Jesus subjected Himself to Him, so God is all in all.

Hoping you have a blessed day.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2012 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

