1 Corinthians 9:19 to end of chapter – run our race by Pastor Don Moore

1 Corinthians 9:19 to end of chapter run our race by Pastor Don Moore

Bible study notes from June 8, 2012

This passage covers the sovereignty of God and our ability to place self in the hands of the Master.

There is an unfortunate teaching in the body of Christ – Replacement theology. They teach that Jesus was crucified by the Jews so therefore God has removed the Jews from the Kingdom. This is a false teaching that began with Herbert Armstrong.

This is a dangerous teaching because God is judge. He is sovereign. We can’t take any actions we want to satisfy our desires. If God instituted such a false teaching as replacement theology it would be clearly shown in the Word of God. But God does not change His Word or what He will do based on what we want. God does not lie and His Word remains true.

1 Corinthians 9:19 For though I am free from all men, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win the more;

Importance of being a servant of the Lord.

1 Corinthians 9:20-21 and to the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might win Jews; to those who are under the law, as under the law, that I might win those who are under the law; to those who are without law, as without law (not being without law toward God, but under law toward Christ), that I might win those who are without law;

When Paul is talking to the Jews, he understands Jewish thing so he is not offensive to Jews and thus can talk and share the Gospel with them. Pastor Don gave an example of not going to a Jewish temple and eating pork roast.  When Paul is speaking with the Gentiles, they have a different set of rules and Paul talks with them in a way that they can understand.

1 Corinthians 9:22 to the weak I became as weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.

Some will be offended by the name of Jesus, but when speaking to the weak, the hindus (not eating beef), or whatever religion, Paul (and us) should try to not offend so there is no impediment in sharing the Gospel and some may be saved.

1 Corinthians 9:23 Now this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I may be partaker of it with you.

Paul does this for the Gospel’s sake.

1 Corinthians 9:24 Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it.

This verse speaks for itself. Many people do not realize we are in a race. We should be soul conscious and demonstrate love so people know what we have.

The greatest blessing comes by service, commitment to service, not taught from the pulpit, but demonstrated by example.

1 Corinthians 9:25 And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown.

We can’t be overboard in any area, but balanced and sanctified. There are points of departure.  We race for an imperishable crown. We are to be in the world, not of the world.  There is a spiritual solution for worldly problems

At all times the fight we’re fighting is for the sake of the truth of the Gospel. Do what the LORD wants, may God get the glory. We fight and race with sincerity, accuracy, and high character, level-headed and temperate in all things.

1 Corinthians 9:26-27 Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air.  But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified

In everything consider the impact and function of what we’re doing or we’re beating the air.

1 Thessalonians 5:21-22 AMP But test and prove all things [until you can recognize] what is good; [to that] hold fast. Abstain from evil [shrink from it and keep aloof from it] in whatever form or whatever kind it may be.

We must stop and analyze ourselves, our behaviors, and our motives.

Question, if they take away the fluff, the clothes, the income, who’s left? Who are you? This has to be answered. Locate your self-worth, not what you are worth to other people, but what you are worth to yourself. Is there enough of you left to be somebody? You have to be directed to self to discover who you are or we don’t know who’s coming to the table.

Second question. Is there enough of us left after our self-talk? Either you are your best encourager or we contribute to failure, lack, negative nature.

Self-help shows use God-like principles, but they stop at the point that you are doing it for you. They don’t let you realize that what we do is doing it for God’s glory.

The Potter can mold you and make you be the best you that you can be, the best you in the race. Listen to your self-talk. Don’t put yourself down. When you negatively self-talk the damage is phenomenal. We are being perfected to serve.

Paul was constantly doing positive self-talk, running to win his race.

Jesus spoke of it in the past tense. Jesus never says I hope it will turn out okay.

If you listen to enough of your self-talk you will realize how the race ends. We have our own race to run. Run to be the best me possible.

The more mature Christian might not do a sin of commission (doing something) but rather do a sin of omission (what did you fail to do)? Sins of omission are sins of the heart.

We want to strive to have the highest percentage of instantaneous obedience.

If I put myself down, do I realize I’m impeding my own progress? 

Most people go through the motions of life. Do they find their own purpose?

Hannah had many children, but her son Samuel excelled all – she brought Samuel to the temple and gave him as a sacrifice to God.

Psalm 37:4 Delight yourself also in the Lord,
 and He shall give you the desires of your heart.

We have a desire in our heart and God gives it to us and God puts desires into our hearts.

Do we have faith to believe the desire in our heart is going to be fulfilled? If we aren’t sure what we are put here for, look at the desire of our heart. Am I doing my passion or am I running around being passionate?

The peace of God is aligning ourselves with the will of God. As we align with the will of God, we have the perfect plan.

If we fulfill it, our prayer life is to support what you want to accomplish.

Paul, at this point in His ministry is going to lay down tent making. He is saying to the Church, support my work so I can give myself totally to ministry.

Is what I’m doing from habit or is it a distraction?

These are some great questions to ask ourselves.

Praying your day is blessed.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2012 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

