Unashamed of the Gospel of Christ by Darrell Hayes

Unashamed of the Gospel of Christ by Darrell Hayes

Notes from a Bible study taught on 5/4/12

Romans 1:14-17 I am a debtor both to Greeks and to barbarians, both to wise and to unwise. So, as much as is in me, I am ready to preach the gospel to you who are in Rome also. For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes, for the Jew first and also for the Greek. For in it the righteousness of God is revealed from faith to faith; as it is written, “The just shall live by faith.”

We are in debt to preach the Gospel. We are to study to be able to give a testimony of why we believe. A testimony of our life is what God wants us to do. As a believer I have an obligation to share the Good News. Since it is good, how much more so are we to share the goodness of God?

Before the foundation of the earth, God decided to die to fix our sins. What does your sin look like? Christ sees us as we are in the ugliness of our sins and He still went to the Cross.

This passage says, “as much as is in me”. What is in you will come out of you. People are perishing, dying without the truth. Jesus did a remarkable work in our lives and, because of the work He did, there needs to be a testimony.

We want to please and be approved by God. We want to hear well done good and faithful servant.

If we are dealing with unbelievers, there is a spirit of unbelief. We must focus in our testimonies on the place where God has changed us the most and share that.

2 Corinthians 4:1 Therefore since we have this ministry as we have received mercy, we do not lose heart.

Ministry means service. What service are we offering God? We have received mercy. We faint not. Deal with folks like we want them to deal with us. The Holy Spirit shores us up.

God is merciful to you. Can you look at people the way God sees them?  No situation is hopeless or impossible. God always has a response. Often it is contrary to what we know as human beings.

2 Corinthians 4:2 But we have renounced the hidden things of shame, not walking in craftiness nor handling the word of God deceitfully, but by manifestation of the truth commending ourselves to every man’s conscience in the sight of God.

We must live in such a way that it doesn’t give people a reason to discredit God or Jesus.

2 Corinthians 4:3-5 But even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing, whose minds the god of this age has blinded, who do not believe, lest the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine on them. For we do not preach ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord, and ourselves your bondservants for Jesus’ sake.

If we just preach Jesus, that is more than enough to change circumstances. To preach Jesus, you have to spend time with Him.

John 6:63 It is the Spirit who gives life, the flesh profits nothing. The words that I speak to you are spirit, and they are life.

The words that Jesus speaks are Spirit and Life, not flesh. When we share the Word of God it is able to do more than we think or imagine.

Genesis 1:1 In the beginning God created the Heaven and the earth.

In creation God said it, and it was. Faith speaks. The Word comes froth from the Holy Spirit.

Jesus said he was going to the Father and He would send a Comforter (teacher, guide – the Holy Spirit). Preach the Word to those who do not have the Spirit. The Spirit will guide what we speak. Until we introduce the spoken Word of God, there is no action for the Holy Spirit.

Our responsibility is to tell them about who the Savior is. God saves, we cannot save them, we can just share our testimony.

Jude 20-25 KJV But ye, beloved, building up yourselves on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Ghost, Keep yourselves in the love of God, looking for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ unto eternal life. And of some have compassion, making a difference:  And others save with fear, pulling them out of the fire; hating even the garment spotted by the flesh. Now unto him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy, To the only wise God our Savior, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and ever. Amen

God is expecting us to make a difference. The Gospel makes a difference in our lives and we take the changes He has made in our lives and bring them into our community.

Jesus did the work so that I could walk into it.

People cannot dispute with what Jesus has done for you. God met the Prodigal Son and put a robe and ring on him.

How many times has God gone after you when you’ve gone after the things that would destroy you?

We want to know God in a way that makes you one with what you know.

Darrell said that we can talk about jails and what we’ve heard by word of mouth, but Darrell experienced them. He can speak from experience.

Experience waits for you in your salvation, an experience that God won’t give you until you come to Him. God wants to talk with you about yourself and how to reach so-and-so and how to share your testimony with them.

1 Corinthians 15:1 Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand;

Paul was all about the Gospel. Paul tells the testimony of Jesus and not man’s wisdom. You received it, are you standing with it?

1 Corinthians 15:2 By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain.

Keep the Gospel in memory. Remember what God does for you. When Joshua crossed the Jordan, God told him to place stones from the river on the shore to remind the Israelites of what God did for them. We must remember what God has delivered us from and stand up and testify to what God did in your life.

1 Corinthians 15:3-4 For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; and that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures:

We speak the Gospel according to the Scriptures about Jesus’ death, burial and resurrection.

Philippians 1:13-21 So that my bonds in Christ are manifest in all the palace, and in all other places; and many of the brethren in the Lord, waxing confident by my bonds, are much more bold to speak the word without fear. Some indeed preach Christ even of envy and strife; and some also of good will: the one preach Christ of contention, not sincerely, supposing to add affliction to my bonds: but the other of love, knowing that I am set for the defense of the gospel. What then? Notwithstanding, every way, whether in pretence, or in truth, Christ is preached; and I therein do rejoice, yea, and will rejoice. For I know that this shall turn to my salvation through your prayer, and the supply of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, according to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death. For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

Paul is set for defense of the Gospel. A lot being said about Jesus that is not true. Paul is in prison, whether some say for good our bad, Jesus is glorified. In good times and in bad we are still to share the Gospel and let others know the Good News.  God uses many ways to save people. Who is to say that the reason we are facing what we are facing is so we can reach someone.

We looked at verses to show that Jesus is Lord.

1 Timothy 3:16 And without controversy great is the mystery of godliness: God was manifested in the flesh, justified in the Spirit, seen by angels, preached among the Gentiles, believed on in the world, received up in glory.

Philippians 2:6-7 Who being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men.

John 20:28 And Thomas answered and said to Him, “My Lord and my God!”

Luke 22:70 Then they all said, “Are You then the Son of God?” So He said to them, “You rightly say that I am.”

Revelation 5 (Worthy is the Lamb)

John 8:56-58 “Your father Abraham rejoiced to see My day, and he saw it and was glad.” Then the Jews said to Him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have You seen Abraham? Jesus said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM.”

Moses at the burning bush.  I AM that I AM.

John 14:9 Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and yet you have not known Me, Philip? He who has seen Me has seen the Father, so how can you say, “Show us the father?”

2 John 10 If anyone comes to you and does not bring this doctrine, do not receive him into your house nor greet him.

This was a great Bible study.  In this day, with all that is going on in the world, we need to share our testimony and help others to know Jesus. Time is getting short.

Have a blessed day.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Darrell Hayes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

