1 Corinthians 5-6 continued by Pastor Don Moore

Still catching up on notes.  Praying your Sunday is blessed.  For those new to this blog, I take detailed notes of Bible studies I attend and also my own studies. My pastor is a phenomenal Bible Study teacher and he raises up other church members to teach. The teachings are so in depth that I love sharing them with you.

Part 1 of this study is here.

1 Corinthians 5-6 continued by Pastor Don Moore

Notes from a Bible study taught March 23, 2012

1 Corinthians 5:9-10 I wrote to you in my epistle not to keep company with sexually immoral people. Yet I certainly did not mean with the sexually immoral people of this world, or with the covetous, or extortioners, or idolaters, since then you would need to go out of the world.

We are to be in the world, not of the world. In the world we will come in contact and fight with sinners, extortioners, sexually immoral people, and idolaters but we are to hold to a Gospel code of ethics and behavior, not be pulled into the same behavior of those in the world. If the sexually immoral person is in the House of God they must be dealt with.  With a sexually immoral person in the world, we may be the one they need to hear from to bring them to a saving relationship with Jesus.

That doesn’t mean we hang out at the club, but if club people show up in our lives, we may be the one to show them the truth by how we live our lives.

Sexual sin is an infectious disease and it will spread. Infections have to be dealt with.

1 Corinthians 5:11 But now I have written to you not to keep company with anyone named a brother, who is sexually immoral, or covetous, or an idolater, or a reviler, or a drunkard, or an extortioner—not even to eat with such a person.

Paul is speaking about sin in the church, sin in the House of the Lord. Paul tells the people not to eat with such a person.  When food and church come together there is fellowship.  (Heather’s note, in other studies Pastor Don points out we can’t throw all sinners out of the church for then the church building would be empty for we all sin and slip up. But sin that is quickly repented and the person is working on turning their life around is different from the kind of sexual immorality that is mentioned in this chapter.)

If sin occurs outside of the church our mission in the field is not to preach against the specifics of sin, just teach the truth of the Lord.  Sin is sin, and there are no greater or worse sins, just sin and sin separates us from God.

1 Corinthians 5:12 For what have I to do with judging those also who are outside? Do you not judge those who are inside?

Sin is expected in the world, and we don’t judge the world for they have not accepted the teachings and standards of the Word of God. We are told to judge those in inside the church, but there is a right way to do it. We are to judge one-to-one, not condemn a person from the pulpit. We want the sinner to gain victory over their sin, not put obstacles in their path. And if we are judging, we need to be sure we are not sinning the same way and pointing our finger at another.  Our judging is not to condemnation, but rather to help another in their walk.

1 Corinthians 5:13 But those who are outside God judges. Therefore “put away from yourselves the evil person.”

God judges those who are outside the church. The people in the church that know the truth of the law and ignore it are hypocrites.

(Heather’s note, this young  man repents of his sexual sin and in 2 Corinthians 2:5-8 Paul suggests restoring the man back into the church so his sorrow won’t swallow him up.)

1 Corinthians 6:1-6 (we will continue talking about these verses next week) Dare any of you, having a matter against another, go to law before the unrighteous, and not before the saints? Do you not know that the saints will judge the world? And if the world will be judged by you, are you unworthy to judge the smallest matters? Do you not know that we shall judge angels? How much more, things that pertain to this life? If then you have judgments concerning things pertaining to this life, do you appoint those who are least esteemed by the church to judge? I say this to your shame. Is it so, that there is not a wise man among you, not even one, who will be able to judge between his brethren? But brother goes to law against brother, and that before unbelievers!

The church still fails to do this. Instead of bringing their problems to church for mediation, people choose to take their problems to a secular court. The church is capable of mediating divorce, contract failures, and other complaints. In our church we can mediate with one elder, one trustee, one layman, and Pastor Don. This is a less costly practice and the decisions are solid. But, if the person coming for mediation doesn’t like what the mediators suggest, they often take their problem to the secular courts. This is a disobedient and selfish act.  Think about it, if a brother has a problem with a brother, why take it to a court of heathens?

If you do business with Christians write out a contract, specify the specifics. Don’t give leeway.

The above passage says we will be judging the angels, fallen angels and demonic spirits and having dominion over these areas we will have to judge. Angels are spiritual beings, and we are carnal men. We want to place our carnality under our spirit man.

Angels have an advantage over us. They sit by God and their faith is stimulated by God. They know Him.

We operate by faith and have to believe by faith, not by seeing. We step into faith and dispel doubt not because of ongoing knowledge of what God is doing, but by the faith of Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

Many of us struggle to live the life we are praying the Lord to grant.  To realize that we are not what we see in our circumstances, but through the Word of God we see the end.

There is going to be a millennial reign of a thousand years. Jesus will rule with an iron rod. Not all of us will be down on earth for this millennial reign. There will be a rapture.

We are on earth for 70-80 years (some a few more), and we have not been promised that our life will be struggle free. God wants us to struggle through our challenges with a good attitude.

When we know the way our lives are to be, we can get the challenge of our circumstances right. God is in control and He knows the outcome

Amos 9:11-15  “On that day I will raise up 
the tabernacle of David, which has fallen down,
 and repair its damages; 
I will raise up its ruins,
 and rebuild it as in the days of old; that they may possess the remnant of Edom, 
and all the Gentiles who are called by My name , ”Says the Lord who does this thing. Behold, the days are coming,” says the Lord,
 “When the plowman shall overtake the reaper,
 and the treader of grapes him who sows seed;
 the mountains shall drip with sweet wine,
 and all the hills shall flow with it. I will bring back the captives of My people Israel;
 they shall build the waste cities and inhabit them;
 they shall plant vineyards and drink wine from them;
 they shall also make gardens and eat fruit from them. I will plant them in their land, and no longer shall they be pulled up
 from the land I have given them, ”
Says the Lord your God.

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2012 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

