1 Corinthians 4 by Pastor Don Moore

1 Corinthians 4 by Pastor Don Moore

Bible study notes 3/9/12

Ezekiel 38 and 39 show Israel under attack. Israel is surrounded by enemies. Israel today is still surrounded by enemies, which are mostly oil-producing and muslim. Why Israel?  The desire to kill the Jewish nation is satanic. Israel attacked Persia, which is modern day Iran.

Many in the Church have become confused thinking that, because Israel rejected Jesus,  Israel is replaced in the end times by the church. This theology, called replacement theology, is in error and does not agree with the Word of God.  The Spirit and the Word must agree.  We must be led by the Word of God to balance and identify the truth.

Bible prophecy is the only way to test and prove God. Do the prophecies in the Bible come true?  So far they have, so we must assume that the few remaining unfilled prophecies will also come true.

There are many talents in the Body of Christ.  Apollos was a charismatic figure. Paul was brilliant, but spoke long and in a monotone. He was a good writer.

Faith of desperation – desperation for healing or you die. When you have no other options, your faith is the only choice.

Whose report will you believe? Sometimes the Gospel doesn’t go forward because we don’t stay humble. There’s nothing wrong with recognizing the Holy Spirit is coming with you as you follow His instructions and do the work He tells us to do.

We are to follow the anointing. Paul and Apollos both operated under the anointing of the Holy Spirit. The church in Corinth was in error, divided by personalities instead of acting as one body in Christ.

1 Corinthians 4:6  Now these things, brethren, I have figuratively transferred to myself and Apollos for your sakes, that you may learn in us not to think beyond what is written, that none of you may be puffed up on behalf of one against the other.

There are two problems with the church at Corinth. They were concerned with pitting one leader against another, caught up in personalities and charisma. And they were thinking beyond what is written.  False religion says Christians are intolerant.  A false religion can closely approximate the truth, but there are lies embedded in the doctrine. The truth is that Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life and no one can come to God except through Jesus. We don’t include and tolerate everything.

1 Corinthians 4:7-16  For who makes you differ from another? And what do you have that you did not receive? Now if you did indeed receive it, why do you boast as if you had not received it? You are already full! You are already rich! You have reigned as kings without us—and indeed I could wish you did reign, that we also might reign with you! For I think that God has displayed us, the apostles, last, as men condemned to death; for we have been made a spectacle to the world, both to angels and to men. We are fools for Christ’s sake, but you are wise in Christ! We are weak, but you are strong! You are distinguished, but we are dishonored! To the present hour we both hunger and thirst, and we are poorly clothed, and beaten, and homeless. And we labor, working with our own hands. Being reviled, we bless; being persecuted, we endure; being defamed, we entreat. We have been made as the filth of the world, the offscouring of all things until now. I do not write these things to shame you, but as my beloved children I warn you.  For though you might have ten thousand instructors in Christ, yet you do not have many fathers; for in Christ Jesus I have begotten you through the gospel. Therefore I urge you, imitate me.

What is Paul saying? He said that the apostles taught the Gospel,  stayed true to the Gospel, and were made a spectacle to the world, dishonored, condemned to death. They have not been treated well by the world, being persecuted and suffering for Christ.

He tells the Corinthians not to be puffed up in pride, for what they have received they did not suffer to get. Don’t think that you are all that.  The disciples and Paul paid in blood for what the Corinthians received. All the Corinthians had to do was to receive it.  Paul told them they didn’t go to the cross, get spit upon, get their beards pulled out, or beaten.

The Corinthians didn’t pay for their faith, they took little persecution and grief, but what they are facing today wasn’t anything compared to what Jesus and the apostles took. They reaped the benefits of the Apostles.

Pastor Don added we should pray hard for our unsaved friends and family.

1 Corinthians 4:17-21 For this reason I have sent Timothy to you, who is my beloved and faithful son in the Lord, who will remind you of my ways in Christ, as I teach everywhere in every church.  Now some are puffed up, as though I were not coming to you. But I will come to you shortly, if the Lord wills, and I will know, not the word of those who are puffed up, but the power. For the kingdom of God is not in word but in power. What do you want? Shall I come to you with a rod, or in love and a spirit of gentleness?

The church has forgotten the anointed Word of God and not all churches demonstrate the power of God. Modern day churches have the Word, but not the power. We’ve talked ourselves out of the power of the Word of God.

2 Timothy 3:1-5 But know this, that in the last days perilous times will come: for men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, unloving, unforgiving, slanderers, without self-control, brutal, despisers of good, traitors, headstrong, haughty, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having a form of godliness but denying its power. And from such people turn away!

In this time period, there are churches who deny the power of God and come against anyone who believes in the power of God. We’ve developed a theology of intellectualism and discount the supernatural.

The heart of the issue is yieldedness.  The power Paul displayed was due to the supernatural ability of the Holy Spirit to do something. With the help of the Holy Spirit we have supernatural ability, supernatural faith, strength, healing, visions, and signs and wonders.

Hope my notes from this teaching are helpful.

Have a blessed night.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2012 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

