1 Corinthians 1:26 to 1 Corinthians Chapter 2 by Pastor Don Moore

1 Corinthians 1:26 to 1 Corinthians 2 by Pastor Don Moore

Hope you enjoy my notes from this Bible study taught on 12/23/11. My goal is to catch up to the present as soon as possible.  Have a blessed day. – Heather

1 Corinthians 1:26-31 For you see your calling, brethren, that not many wise according to the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, are called. But God has chosen the foolish things of the world to put to shame the wise, and God has chosen the weak things of the world to put to shame the things which are mighty; and the base things of the world and the things which are despised God has chosen, and the things which are not, to bring to nothing the things that are, that no flesh should glory in His presence. But of Him you are in Christ Jesus, who became for us wisdom from God—and righteousness and sanctification and redemption— that, as it is written, “He who glories, let him glory in the Lord.”

The theme is simple, if glory or honor, we don’t glory in our flesh for what Christ has done. We glory in the Lord. The world is in a quandary trying to figure out God. They don’t understand principles like calling things that be not as though they were.  Missouri is called the Show Me State. We can’t rely on our senses for faith is not of things we see. Everything is not what it seems to be.

Scientific knowledge is not as scientific as they claim. Much of what they call knowledge is based on conjecture, not reality.  There are presuppositions that the “facts” are based upon.  As time goes on and more knowledge is gained many of these presuppositions are proved wrong.  For example, scientists at one time thought the world was flat.

It is foolishness to rely on our own thinking.  There are times when satan gives us a good idea and we bite into it, but it is not a God idea. The wisdom of God is greater than the wisdom of man.

1 Corinthians 2:1 And I, brethren, when I came to you, did not come with excellence of speech or of wisdom declaring to you the testimony of God.

People have different gifts. Paul was not an impressive orator, he was a writer, teacher of the law, and prophet of the pen. Apollos was the orator, but Apollos wrote nothing.

We all have different gifts. Some pick up the phone and make a mess. Others pick up a pen and bless.

1 Corinthians 2:2 For I determined not to know anything among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified.

This is powerful – not a philosophy, not a doctrine – just Jesus Christ and Him crucified.

1 Corinthians 2:3-5 I was with you in weakness, in fear, and in much trembling. And my speech and my preaching were not with persuasive words of human wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, that your faith should not be in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.

Paul did not come with a PhD or entice with words. He laid hands on people and they received healings and power.  The power of God was working in him to prophesy – to foretell the future and forth-tell the preaching of the Gospel.

Paul deemphasizes what the modern church emphasizes. Paul gives a demonstration of Spirit and power. If the Spirit is in it, someone is touched and feels the presence of the Holy Spirit.

The individual spirit in us amplifies what we need to hear. We don’t want to get sidetracked or go on a side journey. We need to ask if what we are hearing is  from God or not. Is it for someone?  Is it the flesh?

Someone can come and give a great speech or talk and you might go away saying I don’t know what they said. Or you could go away from the service and have heard something that they didn’t say.

We can’t judge by appearance where our message from God comes from. By the Spirit we can listen to fools and use what they say. Out of the mouths of babes and innocents the Spirit can minister to us.

Demonstration of spirit and power doesn’t make sense in modern churches where the emphasis is on wisdom of men, not the power of God.

1 Corinthians 2:6 However, we speak wisdom among those who are mature, yet not the wisdom of this age, nor of the rulers of this age, who are coming to nothing.

The rulers of this age – the devil and evil spirits, their work is coming to nothing. We may be under attack by the prince of the air, who tries to get us upset about nothing. You can figure it out – no sickness, no foreclosure, our house isn’t on fire, but the drama still goes on.

When people come to you with yesterday’s stuff it is the devil at work.  When God brings you back to something to be dealt with it is with a Spirit of Peace. It the devil is doing it, it stirs up stuff. If you have to fabricate the things, ask am I being influenced by the divine realm? Is something really is going on? Is this something to get upset about? Or is it something to not affect you?

YOUR FUTURE IS NOT A REHASH OF YOUR PAST.

Some people want to keep their demons. People are set free when they get to a point in their lives where they really want to be set free.

Jesus walked by many people at the pool of Siloam and saw only ONE guy to be healed. This guy was believing for something, to get in the water when the angel stirred up the waters. Jesus knew he had the faith to believe and be delivered from what oppressed him. Jesus rebuked the worker of iniquity and the man was healed, able to take up his bed and walk.

We have to determine to change.

1 Corinthians 2:7-9   But we speak the wisdom of God in a mystery, the hidden wisdom which God ordained before the ages for our glory, which none of the rulers of this age knew; for had they known, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory.  But as it is written: “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, 
nor have entered into the heart of man 
the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.”

It is a mystery.

Pastor Don ended the Bible study here.

I missed the following week’s study. During that study Pastor Don covered the following verses, but I don’t have any notes from the study.

1 Corinthians 2:10-16  But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God.  For what man knows the things of a man except the spirit of the man which is in him? Even so no one knows the things of God except the Spirit of God. Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, that we might know the things that have been freely given to us by God. These things we also speak, not in words which man’s wisdom teaches but which the Holy Spirit teaches, comparing spiritual things with spiritual. But the natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.  But he who is spiritual judges all things, yet he himself is rightly judged by no one. For “who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct Him?” But we have the mind of Christ.

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2011 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

