Judging, Judgment, Justification part 2 by Pastor Don Moore

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Judging, Judgment, Justification Part 2 by Pastor Don Moore

I hope you enjoy this transcript of a sermon by Pastor Don Moore of Living Word Chapel.
Here is the link to Part One.

What is in [brackets] is what the congregation says.

Say Amen
SHOW 148
Judging Judgment Justification
Part 2

3/21/10

We’re going to take a look at judging, judgment, judging, judgment, and justification.

What is Paul referring to when he gives us this section of Scripture?  So, let’s read it again so everybody’s clear.  Romans 14, Verse 10.  “But why do you judge your brother?  Or why do you show contempt for your brother?  For we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ.”  Before the judgment seat of Christ.  So then he says in verse 14 so we keep in context here.  “I know and am convinced by the Lord Jesus that there is nothing unclean of itself; but to him who considers anything to be unclean, to him it is unclean.  Yet if your brother is grieved because of your food.…”

What’s he talking about?  He is saying, hold on now.  When it comes to cultural things and people’s own traditions.  People have established certain things that they say are right and wrong.  He’s saying, don’t judge them, brother, there… We pull it out of its setting, we end up in terrible shape.  He’s saying if some could be having, they could have religion by “iggnance”.  [yep]  They could do certain spiritual things that are spiritual to them, but have no spiritual value.

Now, if after educating the brethren and helping them with that, if he still chooses to believe that, then guess what?  Don’t judge ’em.  Leave them alone… You know, if somebody came in here right now.  Listen, they walked in here right now.  And they made the sign of the cross over themselves and they kneeled and then spun around three times.  And then sat down.  Yeah, when the opportunity presents itself as teaching, I’m going to say, “Brother, are you aware that making the sign of the cross, kneeling, and spinning around three times has no spiritual value.”  And if he says this to me, “Well Pastor, I understand it’s not in Scripture, but I just feel cleaner when I do it.”  Then, do not judge the brother.  Leave him alone.  Let him spin all he wants.  [laughter]  Let him bow and kneel and scrape and hovel all he wants.

But if he walks in here with a statuette of his dead momma, and wants me to kiss it, I gotta judge him.  [right]  … Some of you all look more confused than you were before you came in here.  [laughter]  You know, we were eating dinner last night, and this lady, she says, she says, “Well, I don’t eat pork and I don’t eat beef.”  And so I was like, “Well, that’s interesting.  I see you eat all this other garbage.”  [laughter]  “You know, so why don’t you eat pork or beef?”  And then she says, “Well, I just have and I grew up in a family where we didn’t.”   I says, “Ok.”  Well, I’m not going to judge her for that.

What if she was a vegetarian?  I’m not going to judge a vegetarian unless they condemn me for eating, you know, Elsie the cow.  If they’re going to condemn me for eating Elsie the cow, I’ve got to just fire back and say, “Have it to yourself.  If you feel better, eating veggies, wonderful, God bless you.  But don’t judge me and my choice of eating meat.”…  Everybody got that?  [yes]

I don’t have a problem with Seven Day Adventists.  Seven Day Adventists are primarily veggies, and they live longer than all other denominations.  [that’s right]  But I’m not going to judge them for that.  But if they tell me the only day I can go to church is on Saturday, I’m going to respond to that.

Because why?  If you take something that you’re judging and put it over on someone else’s regulation, you bring them under guilt and condemnation.  And that’s all Paul is saying here.  He is saying, “Come on, don’t be rough on the brethren.  If they’re trying to live right and do right, even if they have some nonsense mixed in there, you know, if it’s not going to kill them and if they’re not going to bring condemnation on you with it, leave ’em alone.  You know, leave them alone.”

I know it’s hard for some people, you know.  We’re a Word Church.  We believe the Word.  We hold it up to a higher standard.  But some people hold culture up to a higher standard than we hold the Word.  [hmm]  And so, when we get loud, I’m aware that there’s some people who come to church from Presbyterian, Methodist, or Catholic background, that when they hear all that noise going on and you all jumping up and singing and all, it offends them.  And they feel that you’re not religious or spiritual.  They don’t know that if King David was in here he’d be the loudest one in the place.  [laughter]  They don’t know.  They don’t have a basis for that.  They don’t understand when Jesus said, “That if you stay quiet, the rocks’ll cry out.”  They’re just haven’t looked at enough scripture.  And so, you don’t want to bring them under condemnation or make them feel uncomfortable.

That’s why, I’m just blessed this morning when Brother Ray sang, “Great is Thy Faithfulness.”  Cause we need to mix it up so we don’t bring people under judgment.  Or make them feel that they’re being judged because of cultural things…You know, Jesus has a rock and roll band in Heaven.  But they ain’t rocking and rolling, they’re praising the Lord.  [amen]  But we don’t want to bring people under condemnation because we grew up in a place where only organ or only piano.   We don’t want to judge ’em like that.

People come dressed to our church any old kind of way.  Well, what are we supposed to do?  We’re supposed to judge lewdness and help the sister come along.  Brother’s pants are tight, bring him along.  We’re supposed to do that.  Do that.  [laughter]  But if a person comes in a sweatshirt and a pair of jeans, they can worship the Lord like that.  I don’t dress like that because I want to say something else when I get to the pulpit.  But, I’m not going to judge another pastor who thinks the best way he should lead his church is to wear jeans and a tee shirt.  He wants to make everybody feel comfortable, wearing jeans and a tee shirt, fine.

I want to say to ’em, I’m the priest over this house, and I come before God in my best.  [amen]  I don’t have a problem.  I come up here and I preach the same Gospel in a tee shirt.  But for me, personally, you can’t judge me.  Cause for me, personally, I see in scripture that the priests wore white, clean linen.  I cannot come to the pulpit in a shirt I wore yesterday.  I have to come in a clean shirt.  Now, that’s for me.  Now, do you want to judge me there?  That’s what Paul is saying you’d be wrong to do that.  Leave me alone.  [laughter]  I want to dress up.  Leave me alone.  [that’s right]  … [laughter]  I look good.  [you look good]  I like looking good.  And I feel I should look good for God.  But, I feel that you’d be just as holy, I’d preach just as good in a tee shirt and jeans.  And I have a pair of jeans.  One.  [laughter]  But I have ’em.  Can’t find them.  What did you do with my jeans anyway?  [hid them]  You hid them.  She was judging me.  [laughter]  Ok, do we understand this.

Paul is talking about food, he’s talking about spiritual things.  Look at, look at verse 20.  “Do not destroy the work of God for the sake of food.  All things indeed are pure, but it is evil for the man who eats with offense.   It is good neither to eat meat nor drink wine nor do anything by which your brother stumbles or is offended or is made weak.  Do you have faith?  Have it to yourself before God.  Happy is he who does not condemn himself in what he approves.”

In other words, what he’s saying is you can be happy, but what if you approve something that is evil.  What if you approve something that is lewd?  What if you approve something that is disgraceful?   Or dishonorable?  He says, in that case, then God has already judged you.  So be careful of what you approve of...

You know, before I tell a joke, do you know what I do?  I tell it to my wife and ask her, is that a little too off color?  Is that ok?  Be careful of what you approve.  Balance it out.  And say, “Do you approve of this?”  … You know, love the old, love the sinner, and hate the sin thing.  Do you approve of what the sinner does?  Is pedophilia ok to you?  Is homosexuality ok with you?  Is murder, sex, and incest, and all that.  Do you approve of all of that?  Well guess what.  If you approve of those things, then guess what.  You are already under the condemnation of the Lord, for you approve of something that is evil… But don’t judge your brother in anything that is in the grey area.  Leave the grey area alone. Leave ’em alone.  … Leave ’em alone.  Leave ’em alone.  Alright?

I approve of dancing.  I don’t have any problem with social dancing whatsoever.  But at the age of 14 I had an experience with God, and you know what I did?  Out of my mouth I said, “Lord, I’ll never dance again on the Lord’s Day.”   Now God did not require that of me.  I didn’t see no neon light that said, “Don’t ever dance again on a Sunday.”  But it came up out of my spirit.  It was something that I loved to dance and social dance and all that.  It was something that I wanted to give up for the Lord at 14.  And you know, I’m 60, going to be 65 this year.  You know I haven’t danced socially on a Sunday.  Had many opportunities.  But don’t judge me by that.  Don’t make me holy.  Pastor Don is holy, he don’t dance on Sunday.  [laughter]  But don’t condemn me and say, “That’s stupid.  That’s a dumb thing to give up.”  … No, to me it was important.  I wanted to do it as unto the Lord.  Why then should you judge me for it? … Leave me alone.  Don’t sneak to my house on Sundays and play music I like.  Trying to get me to shake my bootie or something.  Amen?  [amen]  I’ve been to many weddings.  I love to go to a wedding and dance.  You know…. My wife is beautiful.  We get out there, cruise.  [laughter]  But for me, not on Sunday.  Alright?  But I won’t judge you.  I won’t go to the wedding and see you dancing on a Sunday and decide you’re going to hell.  [amen]  How are you all doing?  You all alright?  [amen]  That’s what he’s trying to get across to us… Let’s do some scripture here.  Alright.

So.  God, as a way of punishment will bring judgment.  He will bring a system or a sentence onto people that need judgment.  That need to be straightened out.  His first reason for doing this is to bring people to repentance.  God’s judgment comes in order to bring people to repentance.  When they get dry, He withholds the rain until they get to a place where they’ll repent.  And realize that they are dry and they’ll call on the name of the Lord.  Alright?

Let’s go, let’s look at a couple of really quick ones here.  I want you to go to Isaiah Chapter 2.  Look at one verse there.  Isaiah 2… Everybody alright?… You there?  [yep]  In Isaiah, Chapter 2, verse 12, there are hundreds, I wouldn’t doubt.  I’m sure there’s over 100 verses that talk about the Day of the Lord.  But I guarantee you that there’s 50.  But in this one it says, “For the day of the LORD of hosts shall come upon everything proud and lofty, upon everything lifted up — and it shall be brought low–”  And then he goes on and on and on of the loftiness of man and what man thinks and so forth.  Now, verse 19.  “They shall go into the holes of the rocks, and into the caves of the earth, from the terror of the LORD and the glory of His majesty, when He arises… when He arises to shake the earth mightily.”

Lord have mercy.  Shaking the earth mightily.  “In that day a man will cast away his idols of silver and his idols of gold, which they made, each for himself to worship, to the moles and bats, to go into the clefts of the rocks, and into the crags of the rugged rocks, from the terror of the LORD and the glory of His majesty, when He arises to shake the earth mightily.”  [whoa]

This is the time period that, if we are coming into the Day of the Lord and the shaking of the planet, which we’re seeing.  And the moving of the earth on its axis, do not be fooled.  Don’t listen to the big lie.  The big lie is not global warming.  The big global warming is a lie in order to bring the world under the new world order.   They want to tax every fossil fuel use, every electrical use, they want to bring all the nations of the world.  They want to take the rich nations who use a lot of fossil fuels and tax them.  They want to get governmental control through the world bank and through the machine.  Through the world, one world government machine.  Global warming is a necessary step to bring all the nations together.  And they’re going to take from the rich and give to the poor.  The theory is, the rich nations are polluters.  They must pay a tax for the poor nations so that we can raise their level of whatever.  And global warming is the excuse that they’re using for that.

So let’s not be confused here.  We are facing climate change.  [yes]  Climate change.  Why?  Because all, about in the last five, the last ten years, we have had three major earthquakes that have moved the planet off its axis, and since then, the weather has been changing drastically.

My wife and I just got back from Florida where the fish kill was in the 1000’s of 1000’s.  On the East Coast of Florida, the south of Florida, and the West Coast.  And none of that news was released in the Northeast.  They told you something about strawberries and oranges.  But they didn’t tell you that there were 40,000 snook killed just on one beach where we were.  40,000.  The water got so cold that the fish were trapped and just died, washed ashore.  There was no beach that we went to in a three week period, on the north, south, east, west of Florida that did not have dead fish floating all over the place.  We are facing climate change.  Can you say, “Climate change.”  [climate change]  The earth has been moved on its axis and the climate is changing.  Just as God said it would.  He is shaking the earth.  Things are changing.  His judgment when He comes, He withholds the Word.  He withholds the Word.  People get dry.  Things get dry.  The earth begins to crack.  He begins to shake and to move things.  And that’s what we’re facing right now.  Alright?

And Obama and the rest of the boys can’t stop it.  They’re busy getting us into other problems.  [amen]  You know.  And don’t be fooled.  The health situation, the health situation is just a scam for the same thing.  Get economic control over all peoples.  And, watch this.  Get an identification system in place.  They can’t do it any other way but to give us all a medical process that will command and demand code identification of every human.  …

Amos 5.  I know Amos is a little hard to find… Ok, you there?  Am I alone here?  [no]  Come on, Amos.  Page 1184.  [1314, laughter]  1314 huh.  Alright.  Verse 18.  Here we go.  “Woe to you who desire the day of the LORD!  For what good is the day of the LORD to you?  It will be darkness, and not light.  It will be as though a man fled from a lion, and a bear met him!  Or as though he went into the house, leaned his hand on the wall, and a serpent bit him!  Is not the day of the LORD darkness, and not light?  Is it not very dark, with no brightness in it?”  And then He says, “I hate, I despise your feast days, and I do not savor your sacred assemblies.  Though you offer Me burnt offerings and your grain offerings, I will not accept them, nor will I regard your fattened peace offerings.  Take away from Me the noise of your songs, for I will not hear the melody of your stringed instruments.”  Look at this.  “But let justice run down like water, and righteousness like a mighty stream.”

Lord have mercy.  In the next few verses He talks about idols and idol worship.  And I thought to myself.  You know, God, judgment is coming on America for a number of different reasons.  But one reason is we’ve given ourselves over to idolatry.  And the people say, “Well, wait a minute.  We don’t have all these running around little statues.”  What are you talking about?  The number one, one of the number one hit shows in America is, [American Idol] … Not only that, you’ll stop any American.  They know more, listen to me.  They know more about Tiger Woods and his stuff and Rothelsburg  and his stuff, and all the different idols.  We’ve set Alex Rodriges up as an idol.  We’ve set up all of these men and women up as idols, and we worship them.  You can’t get out the supermarket without seeing all of the tabloid idol worship magazines.  [that’s right, amen]  People Magazine.  People.  What people?  The people that have reached idol status.  [that’s right]  We’re idol worshippers here.

And, guess what’s also popular?  And if you have one in your car, I’m coming out there right now.  We’ve got dream catchers and beam catchers and devil tools in our cars.  Little bitty saints and little magical things.  You know, what are you, what are we talking about here? … I mean, it’s nuts.  We raise, you know, we got… bad enough we had the, you know…. never mind.  [laughter]  I can’t believe, you know.  We make these rock stars.  We take rock stars.  They sing songs about sex and perversion and nonsense, and then we make them rich, famous, and then put pictures of them up on the walls of our house and go, “Aren’t they wonderful.”  … And we’ve made idols of preachers.  [yeah, come on]  We’ve given superstar status to men of God who are servants.

They’re not to be worshipped.  [amen]  Not to, “I can’t get my healing unless I go to Joe Schmo.”  What do you mean?  Joe Schmo ain’t gonna heal you anyway.  [that’s right]  Made idol of spiritual men… Judge not.  If we take down the things of God and replace them with the things of man, it is an idol.  [yes]  Everybody alright?  Lets, can you do some more scripture with me?

Ok, let’s move on down to Amos 5:15 is a good verse.  5:15.  “Hate evil, love good; establish justice in the gate.  It may be that the LORD God of hosts will be gracious to the remnant of Joseph.”  Now, watch this carefully, what I’m about to say.  God will always preserve for Himself a remnant.  When He brings judgment on somewhere, it’s to cause repentance.  But out of Him causing repentance, He will always save a remnant.  Cause He looks on the heart of men.

Let’s go to the book of Daniel.  Right in front of this… In front of Hosea.  Daniel Chapter 12, verse 1.  Chapter 12, verse 1.  You there?  [yes]  Are you there?   Are you there?  [yes]  Ok, Daniel 12:1  “At that time Michael shall stand up,…”  At what time?  At the end of this aeon, at the end of this age.  And He says, look, “The great prince who stands watch over the sons of your people; and there shall be a time of trouble,…”  Lord have mercy.  “Such as never was since there was a nation, even to that time.  And at that time your people shall be delivered,…”

In other words, God has a remnant.  He is going to deliver His remnant.  Say, “I want to be”  [I want to be]  in the remnant. [in the remnant]”  Come on, stand up and say it, come on.  “I want to be [I want to be]  in the remnant [in the remnant].  I want to be in the remnant.  You may be seated, thank you.  [hallelujah]

When all hell is breaking loose on the earth, and God brings His judgment to match it, you have to realize there are two forces coming together here.  Since the Peter, since Peter stood up and declared from the scriptures that we were in the Last Days, Paul echoed the same thing.  And said that satan is going about to seek and kill and destroy the church He’s coming to destroy the Jews and the people.  So, the terror and the tribulation, listen to me carefully, of satan, has always been here since Jesus went to the cross.  And it has been escalating higher and higher.  So, we’re living on the planet where what happens?  Where satan’s trouble, the trouble is getting worse and worse and worse.  And satan is doing it.

At a certain point of that trouble, God supernaturally joins the fray.  I hope somebody gets this. The devil has been doing tribulation from the beginning.  From the time of Adam, got worse during the time of Jesus, and then he stepped it up against the Church.  Going more and more trouble, and more and more trouble.  God is going to enter the battle, enter the fray.  He is going to enter it from His position on Heaven, and He’s going to enter it through the angels and the saints of God on the earth.  [glory]

Now, when God enters the battle, it’s on two fronts.  The first way He enters the battle is this, He designed it all and He timed it all.  [that’s right]  He spun the earth into position.  Spun the sun into position.  Spun it.  And like anything, listen to me carefully.  Like anything that has motion, it has a decaying motion as well.  So He spins the universe into place, voom.

The Hubble Telescope confirms it.  He spin it in.  The Hubble telescope says that the whole universe is expanding and slowing down.  The whole universe.  Everything is moving away.  How did they come up with the Big Bang?  Since everything was moving away, they realized it had to start from a central location.  Where God was in the central location, He flung the worlds into their position.  But, once they established their orbits, their orbits are decaying.  Once the earth is slowing down, it is like spinning a top.  Voom.  He spun it and it stood up straight for a long time, but it’s only a 6,000 year clock.  It’s only a 6,000 year spin.  He only put enough velocity on it to keep it upright for 6,000 years.  I’m trying to help you.  Now, it’s beginning to [wobble].  It’s beginning to wobble.

It isn’t anything Al Gore’s doing.  [laughter]  Nothing to do with Al Gore.  It has nothing to do with carbon fumes coming out of the back end of your vehicle.  Has nothing to do with that.  When a tsunami breaks out because the plates of the earth shift, it wasn’t no global warming.  It was global decay.  It’s starting to wobble.

It’s going to get so bad that earthquakes and volcanoes will continue to erupt until God finally says, “Yeperie, it’s time for a New Heaven and a New Earth.”  And that’s scripture.  Read your Bible.  [yep]  So, you happen to be born in the wobble period.

God changes things in the natural by the schedule that He has set up.  [that’s right]  Everybody got it?  He has set up a schedule for the earth so it will wobble and all of that.  It’s scheduled.  It’s built into the time clock.

The second way is that He brings judgment by loosing certain spiritual things in the earth.  In the Bible it tells us He’s going to break seven seals.  Seven trumpets are going to blow.

He’s going to, this information is going to happen in different stages because why?  Because of what He’s decreed in the natural But He’s also decreed certain things in the spiritual.  Everybody got that?  [yes]  So, right now we look at circumstances and we go, “Well, is that God or is that the devil?”  … Hello…. [yeah, yeah]  Is that God or is that the devil?  And we have to begin to realize that a little bit down the road from now we will begin to discern whether it is the natural wobble or the actual hand of God.  But I have good news for you.  If it’s the spiritual hand of God, of judgment, the saint is in position to be under the cover of the Lord.

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2011 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Judging, Judgment, Justification part 2 by Pastor Don Moore

  1. Pingback: Judging, judgment, justification part 3 – sermon by Pastor Don Moore | Heather's Blog

  2. Pingback: 4/24/11 Judging, judgment, justification part 4 sermon by Pastor Don Moore | Heather's Blog

  3. Pingback: Judging, judgment, justification part 4 sermon by Pastor Don Moore | Heather's Blog

Leave a Reply

