Bride of Christ by Pastor Don Moore

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Bride of Christ by Pastor Don Moore

Taught 2/11/11

A question came up before we could get into our study of Isaiah.  The question was:  A person heard a teaching that said the Church is considered the Bride of Christ, and the Jews who will accept Christ after the rapture are considered the Bride of God.  Is this true?

We looked at a lot of long Scripture passages, I am going to include them for your reference.  This it is a Scripture heavy teaching.

Pastor Don’s reply:

The prophetic promise of God, that God recognizes us as a Bride to the Bridegroom.  Many people walk around with feelings of unworthiness, but we forget our status as the Bride.

In the Jewish wedding ceremony the Bride is in the village waiting for the Groom to come and take her to the Father’s house.  The Groom has gone to prepare a place for His Bride, and when the Father tells Him it is time, the Groom goes to collect His Bride for a seven day wedding feast.

In Matthew 25 Jesus talks about the 10 virgins – five were ready, five were not ready.

Matthew 25:1-13  Then the kingdom of heaven shall be likened to ten virgins who took their lamps and went out to meet the bridegroom. Now five of them were wise, and five were foolish. Those who were foolish took their lamps and took no oil with them, but the wise took oil in their vessels with their lamps. But while the bridegroom was delayed, they all slumbered and slept. And at midnight a cry was heard: ‘Behold, the bridegroom is coming; go out to meet him!’ Then all those virgins arose and trimmed their lamps.  And the foolish said to the wise, ‘Give us some of your oil, for our lamps are going out.’ But the wise answered, saying, ‘No, lest there should not be enough for us and you; but go rather to those who sell, and buy for yourselves.’ And while they went to buy, the bridegroom came, and those who were ready went in with him to the wedding; and the door was shut. Afterward the other virgins came also, saying, ‘Lord, Lord, open to us!’  But he answered and said, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, I do not know you.’  Watch therefore, for you know neither the day nor the hour in which the Son of Man is coming.

This is a rapture scripture, of Christ coming to get His Bride.  The Church today is asleep.  “The all slumbered and slept.”

The Groom in a Jewish wedding ceremony does not come by Himself, He is accompanied by the Friends of the groom.

Who were the friends of Jesus?

John 14:1-3  Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.

John 14:11-12  Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves.  Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father.

We are to come and be with Jesus, for we are Jesus’ Bride.

John 14:16-18  And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever—  the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him; but you know Him, for He dwells with you and will be in you.  I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you.

John 14:26-27  But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you. Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

Jesus then speaks about abiding in Him.

Jesus, in speaking to his Disciples calls them His friends – we too are His disciples and friends if we are doing His will.

John 15:14-15  You are My friends if you do whatever I command you.  No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.

God called the Jews His Servants.  Israel means Prince with God.  Israel is a Prince, not a King.  The prince serves the King.  Sometimes the prince will take on the kingly role (but still is not the king) and serve in office in the place of the King.

No one else was assigned to position of priest (servant of God).

As believers we are priests and kings.

Revelation 5:9-10 And they sang a new song, saying:  “You are worthy to take the scroll, and to open its seals; for You were slain, and have redeemed us to God by Your blood out of every tribe and tongue and people and nation, and have made us kings and priests to our God; and we shall reign on the earth.”

We are called to step into the offices of the five-fold ministry.

Ephesians 4:11-13  And He Himself gave some to be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, and some pastors and teachers, for the equipping of the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ,  till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ;

Some are apostles, some are prophets, some are evangelists, some are pastors, and some are teachers.

Not every pastor has the teaching anointing.  Pastors are to be apt to teach, but not all are great teachers.

The Hebrew Children are the Servants of God.  The Apostles and followers of Jesus are His disciples, and those who were with him at the Last Supper, these are His friends.

King David was a prince in the office of King on earth.  David’s throne is God’s throne, and David was God’s servant.

John 15:13-15  Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.  You are My friends if you do whatever I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.

Jesus has made known to us what he heard from His Father, and we are not blind servants, but rather His friends.

John 15:16-17 You did not choose Me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit, and that your fruit should remain, that whatever you ask the Father in My name He may give you.  These things I command you, that you love one another.

Jesus chose a set number, and when the Bridegroom comes, He will come with His friends and a wedding party consisting of the friends of the groom.

Those are the wise virgins who are prepared for Him.

Another parable of Jesus speaks of the end days too.  Pastor Don said that some are going to be surprised at who is in Heaven with the Bridegroom, for some will come in at the last hour and that will not sit right with some believers who have labored long in the field.

Matthew 20:1-7 For the kingdom of heaven is like a landowner who went out early in the morning to hire laborers for his vineyard.  Now when he had agreed with the laborers for a denarius a day, he sent them into his vineyard.  And he went out about the third hour and saw others standing idle in the marketplace, and said to them, ‘You also go into the vineyard, and whatever is right I will give you.’ So they went. Again he went out about the sixth and the ninth hour, and did likewise. And about the eleventh hour he went out and found others standing idle, and said to them, ‘Why have you been standing here idle all day?’  They said to him, ‘Because no one hired us.’ He said to them, ‘You also go into the vineyard, and whatever is right you will receive.

The ones who were not hired by the eleventh hour are the ones who were lazy and not working, asleep, and waiting for others to do the work. But the Master will hire them.

Matthew 20:8-15 (bold is done by me)  So when evening had come, the owner of the vineyard said to his steward, ‘Call the laborers and give them their wages, beginning with the last to the first.’  And when those came who were hired about the eleventh hour, they each received a denarius. But when the first came, they supposed that they would receive more; and they likewise received each a denarius. And when they had received it, they complained against the landowner,  saying, ‘These last men have worked only one hour, and you made them equal to us who have borne the burden and the heat of the day.’ But he answered one of them and said, ‘Friend, I am doing you no wrong. Did you not agree with me for a denarius?  Take what is yours and go your way. I wish to give to this last man the same as to you. Is it not lawful for me to do what I wish with my own things? Or is your eye evil because I am good?

These workers were working in the vineyard as “friend”.  We are a friend if we make it to the table early on or in the eleventh hour.  All are given the same eternal life.

Matthew 20:16-19 So the last will be first, and the first last. For many are called, but few chosen.” Now Jesus, going up to Jerusalem, took the twelve disciples aside on the road and said to them, “Behold, we are going up to Jerusalem, and the Son of Man will be betrayed to the chief priests and to the scribes; and they will condemn Him to death,  and deliver Him to the Gentiles to mock and to scourge and to crucify. And the third day He will rise again.”

All Scriptures that mention the third day are End Times Scriptures whether in the Old or the New Testaments.

Matthew 22:2-3  The kingdom of heaven is like a certain king who arranged a marriage for his son, and sent out his servants to call those who were invited to the wedding; and they were not willing to come.

This passage mentions “servants” the Jewish people.  All the early disciples and even Jesus were Jewish.

There will be an army – the angels of God war on God’s behalf.

The angels will be pouring out the Judgments of God, and those who are on earth will still reject and curse God.  God is pouring out judgments hoping that it will inspire people to turn to Him, and instead they choose to reject Him.

Matthew 22:10-14 (I marked a word in bold)  So those servants went out into the highways and gathered together all whom they found, both bad and good. And the wedding hall was filled with guests.  But when the king came in to see the guests, he saw a man there who did not have on a wedding garment. So he said to him, ‘Friend, how did you come in here without a wedding garment?’ And he was speechless. Then the king said to the servants, ‘Bind him hand and foot, take him away, and cast him into outer darkness; there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’  For many are called, but few are chosen.

All the Scriptures confirm each other.  Here we see that those who are not the Friend of the Groom are cast out of the wedding – notice the one not in the wedding garment, there are some who say they are saved, belong to Jesus, but Jesus doesn’t know them.  It is not just knowing Jesus, but a relationship with Him that matters.

These who do not know Jesus in relationship are like the five virgins without the oil, they are near the wedding party, but missed getting in the doors, and the doors were closed to them.

God is merciful and He is working hard to get the last of the laborers in at the eleventh  hour before the doors close. The ones left on earth have made the choice to reject Him.

Notice that it mentions friend – a friend is one who serves Jesus, knows Jesus, and can go with the wedding party.

Matthew 25:40-41  And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’  Then He will also say to those on the left hand, ‘Depart from Me, you cursed, into the everlasting fire prepared for the devil and his angels:’

God did not prepare the everlasting fire for mankind, but for satan and his angels – but it is the only place that God can send those who choose to reject Him and want nothing to do with Him.

There are some who claim to be born again, but they really have not accepted Christ in their hearts.  They tend to struggle with the same stuff over and over again, and do not turn to Jesus for help. They do not pursue their relationship with Jesus.  Those are the ones that Jesus will say, “I never knew you.”  If you struggle with the same stuff, but are seeking with God’s help to overcome the problem, you are known by God.  But some get saved, and then do not try to turn their lives around, and just go back to their same old stuff.  Those Jesus doesn’t know.

Matthew 24:45-47  Who then is a faithful and wise servant, whom his master made ruler over his household, to give them food in due season? Blessed is that servant whom his master, when he comes, will find so doing.  Assuredly, I say to you that he will make him ruler over all his goods.

The faithful and wise servant does what God tells Him to do.

Matthew 24:29-31  Immediately after the tribulation of those days the sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light; the stars will fall from heaven, and the powers of the heavens will be shaken. Then the sign of the Son of Man will appear in heaven, and then all the tribes of the earth will mourn, and they will see the Son of Man coming on the clouds of heaven with power and great glory.  And He will send His angels with a great sound of a trumpet, and they will gather together His elect from the four winds, from one end of heaven to the other.

The elect are those who operate by the Spirit.  They will get it right, and Jesus will gather them from the four corners of the earth before the Day of the Lord, for we are not to suffer the Lord’s wrath.  Jesus will come in the clouds, this is before He sets His foot on the ground.  We have not seen these days yet, for the sun has not been darkened and the moon doesn’t give the light – the stars are not fallen from Heaven.  This is a prophecy of future times.

We will not receive the punishment and wrath of God.

But we are at a time now where satan is testing the Church.  We are seeing many ministries crumble and fall, hidden sin is being revealed.  Pastor Don is warning that we need to get our lives in order, so that satan doesn’t stand a chance to shake hidden sin out of our lives.

1 Thessalonians 4:13-18  But I do not want you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning those who have fallen asleep, lest you sorrow as others who have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so God will bring with Him those who sleep in Jesus.  For this we say to you by the word of the Lord, that we who are alive and remain until the coming of the Lord will by no means precede those who are asleep. For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And thus we shall always be with the Lord. Therefore comfort one another with these words.

We are the friends of the Groom and we will be with the Groom at the wedding party, as will those who were with Jesus 2000 years ago and all the time between.  Those who sleep in Jesus (died in Christ) will be caught up and we who are alive on the earth will follow, being caught up to meet with Christ in the clouds, and then we will attend a wonderful Wedding Feast with the Groom.

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2011 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

