Victim or victor by Pastor Don Moore

Monday, December 27, 2010

Victim or Victor by Pastor Don Moore

Sermon Sunday November 21, 2010

We live in a time where people do not take time for God.

We keep thinking we are the mom, but we are the children in the womb of God’s plans.  When God is birthing us it is messy, and the moment we are born our journey is not over.  God works stuff out in us through the battles of life.  The way we face the battles will determine if we are the victim or the victor.  We do not want to fall prey to stress and defeatism.  Life is a midterm exam, not a final exam.  We have our final exam in glory where we earn our crowns or not.

Pastor Don, when faced with a problem, asks himself, “Will it matter 100 years from today?”  Most of our “problems” are not as major as we think they are.

How we handle our problems from sickness to troubles, shows us where we place our faith.  Do we place our faith in carnal responses to our problems or do we place our faith in God?  We’ve all got stuff that we need to win the battle.

Jesus wrote and passed all the exams.  He has prepared us for victory through Christ Jesus.

1 Corinthians 15:57-58  But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.  Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

Are we a victim or gaining the victory?

The definition of victim is a person who suffers from a destructive or injurious agency, a person who is deceived or cheated (by own emotions, ignorance, dishonesty of others or an impersonal agency), misplaced confidence, a person or animal sacrificed for a cause (war victims or religious rites).  To injure or go after an object or to gratify a passion.  Ruthless.  A person who falls prey to a scheme or scam.  Fall prey to ruthless ambition.

At the altar or in the battlefield the place that the army wants to be is at the top of the hill because that gives them the advantage to be able to see everything around it.

The victim falls on the battlefield unable to rise, vanquished by the enemy.  The victim may have lost that battle, but the way they respond to the enemy or the circumstance determines the outcome.  If a victim is injured and lays in the field long enough he can become comfortable in his fallen state and forget that he has fallen on the battlefield.  The victim can think he is a loser, fallen prey to the enemy, accepting the perception that he is conquered.  He can fall back on the thought that he is injured and doesn’t need to fight the battle much more.  They can think, it’s just the way I am, they hurt me.

Or as the commercial says, “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.

If you are speaking to someone who feels like they are a victim, you may want to say to them, “I’m sorry for what happened to you.  But, if you met Jesus…”

2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.

We no longer have to be the victim.  In Christ we have the victory.  We are called to be the victor.

I am looking forward to the victory, how about you?

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2010 Pastor Don Moore Teachings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

