Obedience by Ethel Knox

Saturday, December 18, 2010

Obedience by Ethel Knox

This was taught on Sunday 10/24/10

Ethel spoke from her heart in this message.

I have what I need and I want what You (God) want me to have.

We all need something.  Faith is now.  Sometimes we are just playing church.

We come to church and sing praise songs with lyrics like:  Lord I will go where you want me to go.

Will we really go where God wants us to go?

God is able and faithful.  We desire to be powerful weapons in the Kingdom of God.  God has been preparing me all my life for now.

There are many in ministry who have cast doubt on their ministries because of sinful, ungodly behavior.  We want to be good representatives of God.  It isn’t about huge ministries, it’s about obedience.

Between then and now things happen.

How to be obedient?

Faith is obedience.  Faith is a doing word.  God cares more about the simple stuff.  The devil wants us to think that little things don’t matter.  But little things do matter to God.  We want to walk in obedience.  Avoid disobedience.

We want our children to be obedient.  As God’s children, He wants us obedient.  In our lives we can’t be shirking obedience and falling short in the little things. Our children see what we do.  We want to tell them to do what we say, not what we do.  But the truth is that what we do speaks more loudly than what we say.

There is power, freedom, joy and blessing in obedience.

Is anything too hard for God?  No!!!  Job, Sarah and many heroes of the Bible saw God move mightily in their lives.

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

A secular example of faith being the evidence of things not seen is what happens when you receive a package at the post office.  In your mailbox you receive a pink slip that tells you that you have a package you need to pick up.  You do not have the package in your hand, but you tell others you got what you ordered.  Have you seen it?  No.  Have you touched it?  No.  You just have a slip of paper and you have the faith that the box is there at the Post Office.  Once you turn your paper in and get the package, then you have it in hand and there is now no need for faith, for you are able to see and touch the package.

The Bible is like that pink slip of paper – you have all the promises of God available to you, even if you do not see them manifested, they are there.  God’s plan and purpose for your life is still there, even if you do not act on it.  Just like the package is at the post office even if you do not pick it up immediately. Many of God’s promises are conditional and one of the important conditions is obedience.

Remember what the Word of God says for you.  God will supply all your needs.  We are grafted into the Kingdom of God to make changes.  Are we ready for the undesirables who will come to our church?   Will we witness to them, call them, and help them to grow in their faith?

We can spend hours on the phone with people, counseling them, and helping them in their challenges, and not receive confirmation that what we have invested in a person’s life is producing fruit, but we still need to persistently reach out to the person.

I think I am ready but may not be sure I am able to do what God wants me to do.  When we walk in the Spirit we will know what things are needed.  God wants us to be ready, willing, and obedient.

Jesus was always ready.  He is our role model.  He never missed an opportunity to serve someone.  He made Himself second.

What if it is your birthday and someone calls to share a victory in their life?  Are you willing to put aside your special day to serve someone else?  Can you be happy for them even if they don’t acknowledge your special day?

We are to go the extra mile.  Do what Jesus did.  Show love, compassion, and empathy, not sympathy.

We hold each other up in tough times.

Ethel went to the conference in Ohio, the Network of Local Churches put together by Apostle Lafayette Scales.

She shared some of her notes from that conference.

Declare the truth and speak with a purposeful voice.  Declare the Gospel and confront error.  But in the process we are to love the brethren.

Prophetess Mary Ann Brown spoke on holiness.

How much do you love the Bible?  Will you do what it says?  Will we endure in the Last Days? Can we be in open sin and still live the life God wants us to live? No.

Will you endure or will you bend in the End Days?  Can you endure?  Or will we just settle?  We must stand for what is right, doing the Word of God.

We must minister to our children.

We want to be pleasing to God.  I want to be as close as I can be to God.  If we are not acting in obedience, and are doing what we know or what we think is right it is not pleasing to God.  Sin is sin.  When you know something is a sin, you need to repent.

Don’t compromise.

With churches, we are not to build up numbers of people in our church, but rather build up people.  We want to ensure that people are growing spiritually strong, that is more important to God than numbers of members.

We want to ensure that not one person will go through life not knowing that God loves them for who they are.  He won’t keep us in our mess, but He loves us now.

God wants us to come to Him so we can receive wholeness, peace, love, obedience, and healing.

Taste and see that the Lord is good.  Saints do not come from Heaven.  Heaven is where the saints will go.  Churches are hospitals for saints.  We are imperfect people, and God is helping us grow.    We want to be faithful in our service to the Lord.

Hebrews 6:10 For God is not unjust to forget your work and labor of love which you have shown toward His name, in that you have ministered to the saints, and do minister.

1 Corinthians 15:58 Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

Right relationship with God is repentance and obedience.

Love God’s people.  Whatever we do for the Kingdom, our motivation must be to glorify the Name of God.  Love is the greatest.

We lead people but we can’t take people or push people to where we want them to go.  Love each other and be patient with each other.  Build each other up.

It is good to remember what mess God delivered us from, for that helps us to be patient with others.  We don’t want to miss God’s calling in our lives.  We want to be part of what God is doing in His Kingdom.

A lot of food for thought in this!  I pray it blesses you.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Ethel Knox and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

