Are you ready? by Pastor Mark Horan

Thursday, November 11, 2010

Are you Ready? by Pastor Mark Horan

We were blessed to have Pastor Mark Horan visit our Friday Bible Study last week.  He is from Australia, and has been involved in ministry for 28 years.

At one point Pastor Horan was connected with CLC, a major move of God in Australia.  In 1999 he was sent to an area where every church that tried to be planted failed. In 10 years the church he planted has a congregation of 300 people. God is moving on the young people in his area.

It is not the size of a church that is important, but rather if the church is faith filled.

He encouraged us to think about the prominent thoughts that come to our mind, for God will speak to us through prominent thoughts.  Write down what God tells you when you are dreaming, studying the Word, or hearing from the Spirit. If you don’t write it down, there is a tendency to forget.

Ezekiel 38:7-9  “Prepare yourself and be ready, you and all your companies that are gathered about you; and be a guard for them. After many days you will be visited. In the latter years you will come into the land of those brought back from the sword and gathered from many people on the mountains of Israel, which had long been desolate; they were brought out of the nations, and now all of them dwell safely. You will ascend, coming like a storm, covering the land like a cloud, you and all your troops and many peoples with you.”

God was about to do something for Israel and He wanted them to get ready.

Jeremiah 1:5  “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; before you were born I sanctified you; I ordained you a prophet to the nations.”

God knew all the things He was going to do before we were in the womb.

Jeremiah 1:17  “Therefore prepare yourself and arise, and speak to them all that I command you.  Do not be dismayed before their faces, lest I dismay you before them.”

Be ready. God is always ready.

Psalm 86:5  For You, Lord, are good, and ready to forgive, and abundant in mercy to all those who call upon You.

Is 38:20 “The LORD was ready to save me; therefore we will sing my songs with stringed instruments all the days of our life, in the house of the LORD.”

Daniel 3:19 Then Nebuchadnezzar was full of fury, and the expression on his face changed toward Shadrach, Meshach, and Abed-Nego. He spoke and commanded that they heat the furnace seven times more than it was usually heated.

These three refused to bow down to the idol of Nebuchadnezzar, they were ready, if necessary to be thrown into the furnace and die.

Luke 12:40 Therefore you also be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect.

Matthew 22:8 Then he said to his servants, ‘The wedding is ready, but those who were invited were not worthy.

The people invited to the wedding party came up with excuses.  Matthew 22:4-6 Again, he sent out other servants, saying, ‘Tell those who are invited, “See, I have prepared my dinner; my oxen and fatted cattle are killed, and all things are ready. Come to the wedding.”’ But they made light of it and went their ways, one to his own farm, another to his business. And the rest seized his servants, treated them spitefully, and killed them.

They did not put God first.

Remember the parable of the ten virgins – five were ready with enough oil, five were foolish and not ready.

Procrastination is the assassination of all Godly motivation.

God’s always ready.  Are you ready?

People in Church are loved by God, but not all are ready.  They are placing their relationships, material things, desires for other things, other activities, etc. in front of serving God.

We will make mistakes, even if we choose to be ready for God. We need to keep the attitude of serving God, repent for our mistake and move on.

Why are we here in this community?  What is our purpose?

Acts 21:13 Then Paul answered, “What do you mean by weeping and breaking my heart? For I am ready not only to be bound, but also to die at Jerusalem for the name of the Lord Jesus.”

The people in the community wanted to stop Paul from going into danger where he could lose his life, but Paul was a sold out man. He was ready to serve God even at the cost of His life.

Romans 1:15 So, as much as is in me, I am ready to preach the gospel to you who are in Rome also.

Paul was ready.

Pastor Horan spoke about a train that went through his town. It would stop at the station for one minute. If someone needed to board the train or exit the train, they had only one minute to do so. They had to be ready the second the train came into the station.

Our opportunities in life are like that train. They arrive in our station and we either get on the train or not.  If we are not ready, we will miss the train.

We have to have in our spirit the words, “I’m ready.

Titus 3:1 Remind them to be subject to rulers and authorities, to obey, to be ready for every good work,

We need to be ready to do whatever is good

2 Timothy 4:6 For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure is at hand.

Paul was ready to be poured out as a drink offering.

You get to live ready.
Christian and ready
Young and ready
Old and ready

Or we can be: not ready.

What matters is what God wants. Don’t get caught up in temporary stuff. We need to do what we do unto the Lord.

When John Wesley was not allowed to preach on church grounds, he stood up on his father’s grave, the place of land that he owned, and preached from there. Find a way to do what it is that God wants.

2 Corinthians 9:7 So let each one give as he purposes in his heart, not grudgingly or of necessity; for God loves a cheerful giver.

Are you ready to give?
Are you ready to serve?

Jesus came to serve, not to be served. He gave His life for us. If someone calls you, even at an inconvenient time, are you ready to serve?

Revelation 19:7 Let us be glad and rejoice and give Him glory, for the marriage of the Lamb has come, and His wife has made herself ready.

Are you ready for the marriage of the Lamb?

No matter what season of life you are in, are you ready for the new season?  Do you want more from God?  It is a new day, a new way, a new road, a new challenge to be conquered.

God is always ready, are we?

Isaiah 1:19 If you are willing and obedient, you shall eat the good of the land;

Are you ready to obey?

Faith is followed by obedience, and if we obey we are blessed, peace.

Obedient faith

We need to deal with the rebellion in our heart. satan is the most rebellious person in the Bible.

We can’t be led by the Spirit without a willing heart.  Disobedience is like the sin of witchcraft.

If you decide that you want to do what you want to do, that is the spirit of antichrist.

To have power over the enemy, the safety valve is obedience.

We want to obey God in the period of change, when things are new, when we are stretched farther than we thought we could be, when we are split up, when things are stirred up, in good seasons, in bad.

The devil is a strategist. He keeps seeking for a way to break down a person and will methodically attack a person.

If a church is effective, the devil wants the people to try to get to the pastor.  He will try to get the congregation to speak against the pastor, try to get the people to stop giving, anything to cause a pastor to be pulled off course.

Psalm 71:10 For my enemies speak against me; and those who lie in wait for my life take counsel together,

The devil is afraid of the church and Jesus, and seeks to get the people to plot against each other.

Psalm 2:1-3 Why do the nations rage, and the people plot a vain thing? The kings of the earth set themselves, and the rulers take counsel together, against the LORD and against His Anointed, saying, “Let us break Their bonds in pieces and cast away Their cords from us.”

They take counsel together against the Lord and the Church, against Jesus, the family, children, etc. The world is giving in to everything, not standing for the truth.  Are you ready to stand with your pastor and stop complaining?

We may have to let some friendships that are not fruitful to drop away.

We need to embrace God’s correction in our lives, Are we ready to defend, fight and pray when God brings us in to a new area of His reality?  Are you ready?

We need to look after our health, for we will last longer in the fight if we are healthy. We can do more damage to the enemy when we are healthy. Are you ready to make the right choice? God is also a God of common sense, and you will live longer if you look after yourself.

God is the author and finisher of our faith. He wants to take us to something new. Are you ready?

It could be that little extra spark, and BANG you have a revival at work.

If you are doing what you always have done, you will get what you always got.

A pastor,  Tommy Evans, although elderly, continues to attend youth events. When asked about it, he points out that he wants to catch something new.

God told Jeremiah to speak with authority, God’s Word. Jesus is sending us out with authority.  Are you ready?

Get rid of things that are wasting your time.

Are you ready to deal with the things in your heart? We’ve all been hurt?  Are you ready to let go of the hurts of the past?

Are you ready for the change, new season, new thing?

1 Corinthians 2:9 But as it is written“Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.”

Are you ready?

He prayed for people who had strongholds who were keeping them from being ready for their next step in life.

Pastor Horan then spoke about how to pastor people. I am going to make that a separate post, tomorrow.

Praying your day is blessed!

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Pastor Mark Horan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

