Fulfilling your destiny in the Lord by Pastor Wendell Williams

Tuesday, August 03, 2010

Fulfilling Your Destiny in the Lord by Pastor Wendell Williams

Notes from Pastor Wendell William’s Bible study July 9, 2010 Pastor Wendell is pastor of Good Ground Family Church.

When Pastor Wendell visited Pastor Yonggi Cho’s church in Korea an associate pastor from Australia was also ministering there. This pastor came up to Pastor Wendell and said, “Mate, there’s greatness in you.”  That was a word in season for Pastor Wendell that turned on a switch and increased his faith and expectancy for God. It was a transition point in his thinking that caused him to move up to another level.

The essence of life in God is to have a life that is pleasing to God, to live a life of humility. Paul writes about being able to be content when he was abounding and when he was abased. Paul was beaten, stoned, left for dead, shipwrecked, and still held his love for God and trusted God no matter the circumstance he was dealing with.

GOD IS FOR YOU!  Don’t let your circumstances or situations dictate your relationship with God. Whether you feel it or not, God is with you. If you can find a circumstance where God is not with you you would be the first person to do so.

You may choose to take steps that are not the direction God wants you to go, or do something contrary to God’s will for you. If you are out of God’s will, He is not required to cover you in your disobedience, and may take His hands of protection off from you. But that does not mean that He leaves you or forsakes you.  Let God do what God wants to do.

DESTINY TO FULFILL 

We read through John 4 which covers the Woman at the Well and the harvest that is coming.

1. TO COME TO JESUS. The Woman at the well in John 4 was in a tough situation. Jesus knew He had to go to Samaria, because He had this divine appointment.  John 3:16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

GOD SO LOVED – this is God’s motive for doing everything. Sometimes God chastens us (takes us to the woodshed), but he would much rather be able to say to us, “‘atta boy,” We are only aware of a small portion of His vast love that He has for us. We want to share the truth and the Gospel with others, not with condescension, but in the love of God. God wants to see us grow and fulfill our divine destiny. We can only fill this destiny through God when we come to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. While we were yet sinners Christ loved us and began to seek us and draw us to Himself. The end result of this process is the number one destiny – that we are Born Again, coming to Jesus.

2. GOD DID NOT SAVE YOU FOR YOURSELF ALONE, HE WANTS YOU TO TAKE THE MESSAGE OUT INTO THE WORLD.

Winning souls is wise, it is the Great Commission. when we seek to help others come to Jesus we are in agreement with the purpose of God.

God fills you and calls and equips you because He not only loves you but He loves others, and wants others to come to Jesus.

John 4:4 But He needed to go through Samaria.  John 4:7  A woman of Samaria came to draw water. Jesus said to her, “Give Me a drink.”

Jesus needed to go to Samaria to have a conversation with a certain woman.

John 4:17 The woman answered and said, “I have no husband.” Jesus said to her, “You have well said, ‘I have no husband,’ 

Jesus started out speaking to the woman about water, and drew her out until she was able to be brought to the point of revelation. Jesus filled her so full of the living water she had to run and tell the Samaritans they needed to come and get some for themselves.

John 4:18 for you have had five husbands, and the one whom you now have is not your husband; in that you spoke truly.

Jesus had a Word of Knowledge about this woman

John 4:19-20 The woman said to Him, “Sir, I perceive that You are a prophet. Our fathers worshiped on this mountain, and you Jews say that in Jerusalem is the place where one ought to worship.

She moved the subject to talk about her understanding of religion.

John 4:21 Jesus said to her, “Woman, believe Me, the hour is coming when you will neither on this mountain, nor in Jerusalem, worship the Father.

Jesus corrects her errant religious views.

John 4:22-26 You worship what you do not know; we know what we worship, for salvation is of the Jews. But the hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth; for the Father is seeking such to worship Him. God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.”  The woman said to Him, “I know that Messiah is coming” (who is called Christ). “When He comes, He will tell us all things.” Jesus said to her, “I who speak to you am He.

Jesus tells her that He, the Messiah, is standing in front of her.  God is on a mission for worshippers and wants us to make disciples, to reproduce disciples and worshippers.

Jesus did not leave the woman like He found her, He changed her.  He could have made the conversation all about physical water, but He chose to take her to a new place. We can’t do it for anyone else, our heart has to be willing to come to the truth. We are to GO TELL IT, but the person has the choice of whether they receive it or not.  If you know Jesus, you want to let someone else know about Him too.

John 4:28-30 The woman then left her waterpot, went her way into the city, and said to the men, “Come, see a Man who told me all things that I ever did. Could this be the Christ?” Then they went out of the city and came to Him.

We want to tell others and then when we stand in front of God, we want to hear Him say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”  That is the essence of all that is. When you find out and realize that He loved you, you want to tell others about this love – that is commendable. Pastor Wendell reminded us of the woman who washed Jesus’ feet with her tears and anointed him with expensive oil.  Jesus told those who questioned what she was doing that she had been forgiven of much and so she loved much.

When we see people whose lives are miserable we want to let them know that there is a God and that they need Him to make changes in their lives.

3. GREATER IS HE WHO IS IN YOU THAN HE THAT IS IN THE WORLD.

1 John 4:4 You are of God, little children, and have overcome them, because He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world.

2 Samuel 22:36 You have also given me the shield of Your salvation; Your gentleness has made me great.

The greater one lives on the inside of you, and that is why we are great.

Acts 1:8 But you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be witnesses to Me in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.

The power is in us so that the greatness of God is manifested in us from day-to-day – the Greater one lives inside of you. The greatest message is inside of you. It is the message of the love and care of a BIG GOD.

2 Samuel 22:35-36 AMP He trains my hands for war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze. You have also given me the shield of Your salvation; and Your condescension and gentleness have made me great.

Gentleness.  He stooped down and came to our level, because of His great love.

2 Samuel 22:37 AMP You have enlarged my steps under me, so that my feet have not slipped.

You have made me feet so that they do not slip, my steps are secured and ruled. The heart of God is to lift me up, so that we do not fall, and then through us perform wonders to touch the lives of others.

Psalm 18:35 AMP You have also given me the shield of Your salvation, and Your right hand has held me up; Your gentleness and condescension have made me great.

John 1:1-5 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made. In Him was life, and the life was the light of men. And the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it.

John 3:19-21 And this is the condemnation, that the light has come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil. For everyone practicing evil hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed. But he who does the truth comes to the light, that his deeds may be clearly seen, that they have been done in God.”

The people love the darkness rather than the light. They are surrounded by darkness and people are slipping in the darkness.

Then Pastor Wendell spoke about DISTRACTIONS TO FULFILLING YOUR DESTINY IN THE LORD. I will give you my notes on this in my next post.

Praying your day is blessed.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Pastor Wendell Williams and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fulfilling your destiny in the Lord by Pastor Wendell Williams

  1. Pingback: Distractions to fulfilling your destiny in the Lord, Part 2 by Pastor Wendell Williams | Heather's Blog

Leave a Reply

