Worship and service – Part 2 by Pastor Abraham

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Worship and Service – Part 2 by Pastor Abraham

Part 1 is here

This is a continuation of the teaching Pastor Abraham did last Sunday.  We were all blessed by this great man of God. Check the end of Part 1 to see the work that is happening in Orissa and find a place to donate to this ministry.

Romans 8:11 But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you.

The same Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead dwells in us! The days of miracles are not ending. God still heals the sick, raises the dead, and performs miracles. The blind are healed, the lame walk, the deaf hear. We are all able to do these miracles; they are not only for our pastors to do. We are the royal priesthood. God wants us to use these powers for His Kingdom. Jesus paid the price so that we can do God’s will. We need to show people who Jesus is, and that He still has the power to do miracles. It is our responsibility. God wants to use us mightily for His Kingdom. He wants us to bring more people to the House of God.

We say we want to be used by God, but do we go to get souls for the Kingdom? Here in America there is little persecution for our faith, but that will not always be the case. When persecution comes will we still be willing to share Jesus Christ with the world? God will give us the power and ability to do so. Just as Jesus did what His Father did, we are to do what Jesus does.  Jesus lives in us.  We have the same power that Jesus has to do the Kingdom Work. We pray, “Fill me.”  But what are we doing with that filling? Are we pouring it out for the Kingdom? Are we using our knowledge to spread the truth about Jesus?

We must act in God’s will, pray, read the Bible, and do what is our duty, to share the Gospel. Pray for the sick. If you are a child of God, He has already given us the power to do His will.

Mark 16:15-18 And He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature. He who believes and is baptized will be saved; but he who does not believe will be condemned.  And these signs will follow those who believe: In My name they will cast out demons; they will speak with new tongues; they will take up serpents; and if they drink anything deadly, it will by no means hurt them; they will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover.”

Accept your responsibility as a believer. Pastor Abraham shared about a young Hindu girl who was crippled.  She could not stand on her feet. The girl’s whole Hindu family came and Pastor Abraham prayed for this girl.  The first time he prayed, he saw no change.  Nor was there a change on the 2nd or 3rd  day.  Pastor Abraham anointed her leg with oil and tried to get her foot on the floor, but it would not happen. He gave the family the bottle of Holy Oil and told them to keep praying and putting it on her leg, that he would pray also. After 10 days, Pastor Abraham received a phone call that in the morning the girl was walking and that same afternoon she was running. The family became believers because they saw the power of God. People long for signs and wonders and to see the power of God in their lives. This miracle that happened to the little girl greatly changed her family’s life.  The power of the Gospel and the name of Jesus works miracles.

The Buddhists, Hindus, Muslims pray but do not see miracles. But in Christianity there are miracles after miracles. We need to put our faith to the Word of God.

Luke 4:35-37 But Jesus rebuked him, saying, “Be quiet, and come out of him!” And when the demon had thrown him in their midst, it came out of him and did not hurt him. Then they were all amazed and spoke among themselves, saying, “What a word this is! For with authority and power He commands the unclean spirits, and they come out.” And the report about Him went out into every place in the surrounding region.

Notice that the miracle happened and then the Word spread out everywhere, even when there was no publicity or TV.  They realized that Jesus is the real deal.  That nothing is impossible for our God.

Acts 1:1-3 The former account I made, O Theophilus, of all that Jesus began both to do and teach, until the day in which He was taken up, after He through the Holy Spirit had given commandments to the apostles whom He had chosen, to whom He also presented Himself alive after His suffering by many infallible proofs, being seen by them during forty days and speaking of the things pertaining to the kingdom of God.

Jesus rose from the dead and did not do a lot of preaching. What convinced the people was sign after sign after sign during the 40 days He was on earth.

Moses did 10 signs and wonders to convince Pharaoh to let the Children of Israel out of bondage. He used what he had in his hand, the staff to make it become a serpent, turn the sea blood red, and to do other miracles. We also have been given in our hands the tools necessary to do the work for God.

Hebrews 2:4 God also bearing witness both with signs and wonders, with various miracles, and gifts of the Holy Spirit, according to His own will?

God will bear witness of Himself with signs, wonders, and miracles.

John 21:25 And there are also many other things that Jesus did, which if they were written one by one, I suppose that even the world itself could not contain the books that would be written. Amen.

 There is no way to write down all the miracles Jesus did. We received freely from Him and we are to freely give.

Jeremiah 4:19 O my soul, my soul! I am pained in my very heart! My heart makes a noise in me; I cannot hold my peace, because you have heard, O my soul, the sound of the trumpet, the alarm of war.

We are waiting for the sound of the trumpet. Matthew 24:31 And He will send His angels with a great sound of a trumpet, and they will gather together His elect from the four winds, from one end of heaven to the other.

We don’t know when the trumpet will sound so we have our work cut out for us. We want every person possible to be saved. We will answer to God for what we have done for His Kingdom here on earth. When we stand in front of the throne of Judgment, we want to let Him know we shared the Gospel with everyone possible.  We are fishers of men and we need to fish the highways and byways on the earth. We are to use the talents that God has given us.

David Livingston and a colleague went to the same college. David’s goal was to go to Africa and reach people for the Lord, his colleague wanted to start a hospital and gain a fortune and great reputation in the field of medicine. When David Livingston died there were thousands of people gathered for his funeral.  His colleague realized that he had made a wrong choice in seeking fame and fortune, and changed what he was doing so he could serve the Kingdom of God.

Acts 20:30-31 Also from among yourselves men will rise up, speaking perverse things, to draw away the disciples after themselves. Therefore watch, and remember that for three years I did not cease to warn everyone night and day with tears.

 Paul preached, taught and ministered with tears.  How many tears have you cried for souls? Have you prayed to God, “Give me souls?” The God who calls us is faithful and true.

I AM A ZERO; MY LORD IS A HERO. Step out in faith and He will meet you with signs, wonders and miracles. Seek ways to tell others about Jesus. Go out into the market place and pray for others.  As your prayers are answered people will see that Jesus is alive and loves them, and there will be new souls for the Kingdom of God.

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Pastor Abraham and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

