Isaiah 11:1-5 by Pastor Don Moore

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Isaiah 11:1-5 by Pastor Don Moore

Isaiah 11:1-2 There shall come forth a Rod from the stem of Jesse, and a Branch shall grow out of his roots. The Spirit of the LORD shall rest upon Him, the Spirit of wisdom and understanding, the Spirit of counsel and might, the Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD.

Last time we looked up what the Rod from the stem of Jesse and the branch out of His roots referred to – and found that it referred to the Messiah. Then Isaiah speaks of the Seven Spirits of the Lord – The Spirit of the Lord, the Spirit of Wisdom, the Spirit of Understanding, the Spirit of Counsel, the Spirit of Might, the Spirit of Knowledge, and the Spirit of the fear (awe) of the Lord.)

Isaiah 11:3 His delight is in the fear of the LORD, and He shall not judge by the sight of His eyes, nor decide by the hearing of His ears;

We need not to desire the spirits, but rather to delight and fear the Lord, make God first. Proverbs 9:10 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom, and the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding. We don’t judge by our eyes. Everything doesn’t look like what you think it should look like. We cannot judge by appearances or circumstances. Don’t look at faces and be afraid, you can be misled by their expressions and actions. We need to look at the heart.

Isaiah 11:4 But with righteousness He shall judge the poor, and decide with equity for the meek of the earth; He shall strike the earth with the rod of His mouth, and with the breath of His lips He shall slay the wicked.

He judges the poor based on their righteousness. God’s mercy extends to the weak and the poor. Bill Gates is not entitled to have it all in Heaven. Wealth must be used to balance life’s inequalities.

The Rod of His mouth – the breath of His lips slays the wicked.

The Bible tells us that we will have what we say and that we have the power of life and death in our tongues.When God says He will strike the Earth, He will. What we speak will come to pass. We have the power over what we say both with our lips and in our minds and hearts. We have endless RAM between our ears.

Isaiah 11:5 Righteousness shall be the belt of His loins, and faithfulness the belt of His waist.

Pastor Don had us take a look back at Verse 1 and 2.  This is how Jesus functioned in righteousness and faithfulness, by using these Spirits. The Spirits exist and they can endow you with gifts that they bring.

Pastor Don told us that for the next 30 days we need to specifically ask the Lord to give us the Spirits specifically. Ask Him to give us these Spirits to edify the Kingdom, for the Body of Christ.

He told us that a good prayer to pray is Daniel 2:20-23 …Blessed be the name of God forever and ever, for wisdom and might are His. And He changes the times and the seasons; He removes kings and raises up kings; He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to those who have understanding. He reveals deep and secret things; He knows what is in the darkness, and light dwells with Him. I thank You and praise You, O God of my fathers; You have given me wisdom and might, and have now made known to me what we asked of You, for You have made known to us the king’s demand.”

God is glad to give us wisdom for He is our God. When we face the silence of life, we need to hear from God. The devil is a bully and we intercede to interrupt his bullying. When we know that God is real and are committed to Him, and have patience, we begin to know that He will supply all of our needs.

We need to develop an ability to protect our self when we sleep at night. Ask the Holy Spirit to be a sentinel to watch over us so that no dreams from the devil come. Sometimes we get dreams that are not from God, and often they come between the hours of 4-6, when we are not so fully awake and aware and discerning.

We need to delineate between what I do and who I am. God will still keep His seal of approval on us even if we mess up. The devil knows our weaknesses and will try to cause us to doubt God’s calling on our lives. That is why we need to keep renewing our minds. Speak forth the Word of God, and especially before you go to sleep, to keep your mind renewed. When you are sleeping the devil will try to get you to feel unworthy. That is why we need the Holy Spirit as our sentinel.

How you wake up in the morning sets you up for the day. Pastor Don prays and affirms that his day will be a day of health and vitality, productivity and peace.

Praying that your day is a day of health and vitality, productivity and peace.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2010 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

