Isaiah background continued by Pastor Don Moore

Saturday, July 04, 2009

Isaiah background by Pastor Don

The first thing Pastor Don did for this Bible study was to tell us there is a mystery between Genesis 1:1 and Genesis 1:2.  This was in answer to a question from last Friday’s Bible study that we did not get a chance to discuss.

Genesis 1:1 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.

Genesis 1:2 The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.

This is a puzzle that is also noted by the rabbis.  The Hebrew word for created is one of two words.  Either to create something from nothing, or to take something are recreate it.  Our word “create” doesn’t differentiate.

This word for “created” in Genesis 1:1 is “bara” meaning to shape, fashion, create.

God created in Genesis 1:1 from nothing.  But whatever God creates is perfect. God creates order, and yet in Verse 2 it tells us that the earth was without form and void. Did God create something without form and void?  God created it with form.  The question is what happened to make the earth without form and void?

Genesis 1:1 – God spoke it into existence.  That speaking is “logos” and that is part of God that does the saying – the Word of God (whom we know as Jesus).  God who says, who creates.

When God appeared to Moses, He told Moses His name was I Am that I Am – when Jesus was accosted by the soldiers and asked if He was Jesus, He said, “I Am.”  All the soldiers fell flat.

We are like God in that we too were created with the creative ability to speak into existence, that we can speak with creative force.  Only man can do that.

God created the earth and He did not create it without form and void, or that the Light of the World would have the earth in darkness.  Something must have happened between verse 1 and 2.  God comes back and reestablishes earth.

Jeremiah 4:23-26 I beheld the earth, and indeed it was without form, and void; and the heavens, they had no light. I beheld the mountains, and indeed they trembled, and all the hills moved back and forth. I beheld, and indeed there was no man, and all the birds of the heavens had fled. I beheld, and indeed the fruitful land was a wilderness, and all its cities were broken down at the presence of the LORD, by His fierce anger.

So what happened that caused the earth to be null and void?

Isaiah 14:12-17 How you are fallen from heaven, O Lucifer, son of the morning! How you are cut down to the ground, you who weakened the nations! For you have said in your heart: ‘I will ascend into heaven, I will exalt my throne above the stars of God; I will also sit on the mount of the congregation on the farthest sides of the north; I will ascend above the heights of the clouds, I will be like the Most High.’ Yet you shall be brought down to Sheol, to the lowest depths of the Pit. “Those who see you will gaze at you, and consider you, saying: ‘is this the man who made the earth tremble, who shook kingdoms, who made the world as a wilderness and destroyed its cities, who did not open the house of his prisoners?’

When satan and his minions were cast from Heaven, then not much was left on the earth that wasn’t destroyed by the devil.

We looked at a few passages from the Bible.

Isaiah 14:18-20 All the kings of the nations, all of them, sleep in glory, everyone in his own house; but you are cast out of your grave like an abominable branch, like the garment of those who are slain, thrust through with a sword, who go down to the stones of the pit, like a corpse trodden underfoot. You will not be joined with them in burial, because you have destroyed your land and slain your people. The brood of evildoers shall never be named.

Including some that sound remarkably like Christmas trees, which God equates with idols.

Isaiah 44:17 And the rest of it he makes into a god, his carved image. He falls down before it and worships it, prays to it and says,

Jeremiah 10:3-5 For the customs of the peoples are futile; for one cuts a tree from the forest, the work of the hands of the workman, with the ax. They decorate it with silver and gold; they fasten it with nails and hammers so that it will not topple. They are upright, like a palm tree, and they cannot speak; they must be carried, because they cannot go by themselves. Do not be afraid of them, for they cannot do evil, nor can they do any good.

The customs of people are futile, they love their customs even though they are not biblical.  Some of the customs and traditions are birthed in the full force of idolatry.  We relabel it, love it, and choose not to change it. That does not mean that God changes His mind about them.

2 Peter 3:5-9 For this they willfully forget: that by the word of God the heavens were of old, and the earth standing out of water and in the water, by which the world that then existed perished, being flooded with water. But the heavens and the earth which are now preserved by the same word, are reserved for fire until the day of judgment and perdition of ungodly men. But, beloved, do not forget this one thing, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day. The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some count slackness, but is longsuffering toward us, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance.

This is the passage that Callin read that started his questioning about the two worlds.

Genesis 1:1-2 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.

The Spirit of the Lord and the Spirit of God are not separate.

Isaiah 11:2 The Spirit of the LORD shall rest upon Him, the Spirit of wisdom and understanding, the Spirit of counsel and might, the Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD.

These are the names of the Spirit of God.

Proverbs 1:7 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and instruction.

If it is a word of warning don’t do it, fear God more than our traditions.

For God:  Do not is DO NOT; don’t is DON’T.  God hates certain things.  God does not change His opinion because it is unpopular.  “IT IS WRITTEN”  Jesus had no problem upholding “IT IS WRITTEN.”  What does the Word say?  Everything we have or do, check it in the Word and see what thus says the Lord.

Take the Lower seat.

In two places God uses 1000 to represent years.

Psalm 90:4 For a thousand years in Your sight are like yesterday when it is past, and like a watch in the night.

2 Peter 3:8 But, beloved, do not forget this one thing, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.

We are in the sixth day if you calculate the missing years from the Jewish calendar.

We are in the Jewish year 5769 – but people have calculated that there are 240 missing years in Jewish history – this is determined by when they started counting the rule of kings, of years not counted during exile, etc.  That makes this really the year 6009 – definitely the sixth day.  God does not have to complete all of the 6th day to begin the end times.

We are close to the 70th week of Daniel, it can come at any time.

Daniel 9:22-27 And he informed me, and talked with me, and said, “O Daniel, I have now come forth to give you skill to understand. At the beginning of your supplications the command went out, and I have come to tell you, for you are greatly beloved; therefore consider the matter, and understand the vision: “Seventy weeks are determined for your people and for your holy city, to finish the transgression, to make an end of sins, to make reconciliation for iniquity, to bring in everlasting righteousness, to seal up vision and prophecy, and to anoint the Most Holy. Know therefore and understand, that from the going forth of the command to restore and build Jerusalem until Messiah the Prince, there shall be seven weeks and sixty-two weeks; the street shall be built again, and the wall, even in troublesome times. And after the sixty-two weeks Messiah shall be cut off, but not for Himself; and the people of the prince who is to come shall destroy the city and the sanctuary. The end of it shall be with a flood, and till the end of the war desolations are determined. Then he shall confirm a covenant with many for one week; but in the middle of the week He shall bring an end to sacrifice and offering. And on the wing of abominations shall be one who makes desolate, even until the consummation, which is determined, is poured out on the desolate.”

We will come out of the 69th week based on what we do, based on prophetic events that have to be fulfilled first before we can enter the 70th week.

When the prophetic clock kicks on again then events will begin to play out.

We need to have a willingness of heart to have faith.

We then looked quickly at a bit of Isaiah Chapter 1.  I will share that with you tomorrow rather than making this post mega long. Believe it or not, I am ALMOST caught up with my notes, as these were taken on Friday June 19.  I am so glad that I get to sit under such great teaching and share with you what I am learning.  My husband often tells our children that we are blessed to learn from Pastor Don, who is like a professor of the Bible.

This past week he told my daughter that anytime we spend reading and learning from the Bible makes our brains stronger because the Bible builds so much into our minds and hearts.

Have a wonderful Fourth!

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2009 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

