6/24/09 Stand – testimony by Hilton Wilson

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Stand by Hilton Wilson

Hilton gave a powerful testimony on how he used the Word to deal with a tough situation.  It blessed all of us at our Friday Bible study.

Ephesians 6:10-18 Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. (13) Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. (14) Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth, having put on the breastplate of righteousness, (15) and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God; praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints

Verses 13 and 14 tell us to STAND.  Hilton reminded us that Superman had his Kryptonite that made him weak.  For Hilton, his daughter was his Kryptonite.  While Hilton iwas on the islands, his daughter decided to move back to New York.  He prayed.  In the Spirit Hilton and his wife held it together, but when the flesh rises in us it is a battle.

Ephesians 5:18-21 praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints— and for me, that utterance may be given to me, that I may open my mouth boldly to make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains; that in it I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak. But that you also may know my affairs and how I am doing, Tychicus, a beloved brother and faithful minister in the Lord, will make all things known to you;

His wife, at one point in her life, had a problem with drinking and she was possibly going to go back to that to cope with the daughter moving to New York and making unwise choices.  Hilton reminded his wife where she came from, and then they stayed in prayer, holding together during the battle.

Mark 11:25-26 “And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him, that your Father in heaven may also forgive you your trespasses. But if you do not forgive, neither will your Father in heaven forgive your trespasses.”

He had to seek the condition of his heart, in the flesh the changes he wanted for his daughter were not manifesting fast enough.  But what satan meant for evil, God turns it around for good.  You can quote Bible verses in your head, but do you believe it in your heart?

Mark 11:22-24 So Jesus answered and said to them, “Have faith in God. For assuredly, I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be removed and be cast into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that those things he says will be done, he will have whatever he says. Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them.

No matter what he saw in the natural, Hilton chose to believe God.  The boy his daughter was with would not let his daughter call home.  Hilton wanted to hurt this boy, but Pastor Don convinced him to wait in faith and pray.

Galatians 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

Hilton realized it was not his life anymore, Hilton’s life belongs to Christ.  He had to put things into Christ’s hands and believe, to overcome the devil by the word of His testimony and the blood of the lamb.

The end result of Hilton staying in faith and praying is that his daughter got hurt by this boy, she escaped and reached a relative’s house, and ultimately ended up back in Hilton’s home, having learned a lesson, and realizing many things that she did not before the circumstance.  Hilton stood on the Word of God and God came through.

Pastor Don then began to talk about what Hilton said and turned it into the rest of the Bible Study.  I will share that with you tomorrow.

Praying your day is blessed.

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Hilton Wilson and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 6/24/09 Stand – testimony by Hilton Wilson

  1. Pingback: How we deal with our stuff is a choice by Pastor Don Moore | Heather's Blog

Leave a Reply

