The Word by Callin

Monday, May 25, 2009

The Word by Callin

This was a study where a lot of group discussion occurred, but the verses for the Word are important so I included as much as I could of the main content of this study.

Callin began by showing us a book entitled Advanced Bible Course by Kenyon.

He pointed out that not all Christian books are 100% Biblically based, and reminded us that a little leaven (false ideas) leavens the whole loaf.

The book of Acts was written by Luke, and it speaks about  The Word, the Name, and the Holy Spirit.

Acts 4:31 And when they had prayed, the place where they were assembled together was shaken; and they were all filled with the Holy Spirit, and they spoke the word of God with boldness

That Word of God is the Logos.

We need to get to God one on one.

Romans 12:1-2 I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

Notice it says I beg you (beseech you), that shows His love for us. Pleading for us.  To present our bodies as a living sacrifice – pick up our cross and follow Christ daily.

Malachi 1:14 But cursed be the deceiver who has in his flock a male, and takes a vow, but sacrifices to the Lord what is blemished— for I am a great King,” says the LORD of hosts, “and My name is to be feared among the nations.”

The first sin is disobedience.

Salvation is immediate, but it is also perpetual, for we grow from glory to glory.  It is eternal.

Adam and Eve walked away from the eternal. Jesus was 100% human when He walked this earth.

Sacrifice is from the beginning.  God killed an animal to clothe Adam and Eve.  If that animal had not been killed to cover them in the blood of the animal, God would have had to kill Adam and Eve for no evil could stand in God’s presence.  From that original disobedience God started a campaign for redemption and salvation.

LOGICAL WORSHIP.  Our worship is logical (reasonable service Romans 12:1-2) Reasonably prudent individuals will worship God.  We spend our lives conforming, but what are we conforming to?  The world or God?  If you live in the Now, and under the Blood and led by the Spirit you will be successful. The only thing we have is the NOW, perpetual.  We have dominion.  Without the Spirit we can get caught up in our past successes or we dream of the future.  When we renew our minds, we become more and more like Christ.  Psalm 107:20 He sent His word and healed them, and delivered them from their destructions. Isaiah 55:11 So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth;  it shall not return to Me void, but it shall accomplish what I please, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it. Anything else but God’s Word is a counterfeit. We need to be ever vigilant and make sure we are in the Word daily.

Matthew 9:17 Nor do they put new wine into old wineskins, or else the wineskins break, the wine is spilled, and the wineskins are ruined. But they put new wine into new wineskins, and both are preserved.”

Mark 2:22 And no one puts new wine into old wineskins; or else the new wine bursts the wineskins, the wine is spilled, and the wineskins are ruined. But new wine must be put into new wineskins.”

Joshua 1:5-9 No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life; as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you nor forsake you. Be strong and of good courage, for to this people you shall divide as an inheritance the land which I swore to their fathers to give them. Only be strong and very courageous, that you may observe to do according to all the law which Moses My servant commanded you; do not turn from it to the right hand or to the left, that you may prosper wherever you go. This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”

Romans 14:5 One person esteems one day above another; another esteems every day alike. Let each be fully convinced in his own mind.

1 Corinthians 10:6 Now these things became our examples, to the intent that we should not lust after evil things as they also lusted.

No one can stand before you if you are working in the Spirit.

Joshua 1:8 This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.

2 Timothy 2:15 Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

We need to know the Word of God so we can decide if an idea we have is a GOOD IDEA or a GOD IDEA.  A God idea will pay 100% more.

Sometimes we want a map, but if we have a map with everything planned out, then we are not operating in faith.

GPS – God’s perfect system.  That is our Inner witness. If you are in fear you are not in the Word.

Hebrews 10:19-23 Therefore, brethren, having boldness to enter the Holiest by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way which He consecrated for us, through the veil, that is, His flesh, and having a High Priest over the house of God, let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful.

Hebrews 4:11-12  Let us therefore be diligent to enter that rest, lest anyone fall according to the same example of disobedience. For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

If you wrestle with Scriptures to make them say what it doesn’t you do that to your own destruction.

Then Callin spoke about the parable of the talents.  Talents equals not only money but skill, ability and knowledge.  We need to use all our talents to the glory of God, not being a pew sitter.

We can get distracted, pulled off course.  So we need to discern ourselves through the eyes of God.  We need to be on the offense so that we proactively do not fall into darkness, evil, sickness, or disease.  Our defensive weapon is the shield of faith.  Ephesians 6:16 above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one.

And the sword which is the Word of God. Ephesians 6:17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God;

When we are facing situations, we need a Rhema Word of God, a Word that is alive and powerful.  Hebrews 4:12 For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

This division of soul and spirit is our reasonable sacrifice (see Romans 12:1-2 above). No suffering is in vain.  If we are in line with God’s will and sacrificing from the heart.   God knows the thoughts and intents of our hearts.

Callin spoke of King Hezekiah, that God left Hezekiah so that he could see his heart.  2 Chronicles 32:31 However, regarding the ambassadors of the princes of Babylon, whom they sent to him to inquire about the wonder that was done in the land, God withdrew from him, in order to test him, that He might know all that was in his heart.

God knows our thoughts and intents.  Sometimes he lets us be in situations so that the content of our heart becomes apparent.  We need to come to a place where we take authority over our lives and begin to implement the Rhema words in our life.

Hoping you enjoy this study on the Word.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Callin and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

