Hebrews 13:1-6 by Pastor Don Moore

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Hebrews 13:1-6 by Pastor Don Moore

Guess what, we are in a new chapter of Hebrews!  To be honest though, I am going to be sorry to see our study in Hebrews end, it is such a rich Word of God.  Although I guess the same could be said for any book of the Bible.  All are rich and full of wisdom.  I hope no one asks me what my favorite book of the Bible is, because I have 66 of them.

Hebrews 13:1 Let brotherly love continue.

Pastor Don said there is no way in the Scripture that we can discontinue the love walk.

Hebrews 13:2  Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some have unwittingly entertained angels.

We need to get this theological concept.  Angels do appear as humans, but not all angels are good guys, there are the nephalim and others that appear as angels of light but are not.  Then there are those like Gabriel.  The angels are not just coming to sit down for dinner, they have different purposes.  We are to treat people as if they are a celestial blessing, even people you do not know.  They have the potential to be a blessing.  Pastor Don told us that if you are looking at people as blessings they will show you their best side. Look for the best in everybody.

Pastor Don told us about a minister named John who liked to go hunting in the woods, even though he never fired his gun, he went there to be with the Lord.  This time he was pressured and felt anxiety because of the plans that he had to physically enlarge his church, which would need a massive amount of money.  This produced tremendous stress and John did not want to take the opportunity to expand the church unless God was in it.  He sat on a high hill overlooking the valley and enjoying the vista.  He sees a guy walking in the woods in a red flannel shirt, and realized that that guy was not a guy, that it was a divine encounter.  When the guy got to him, he told John, “The Lord sent me to tell you that it will be ok, build the building.”  John asked him if he was his angel.  The angel told him that he was John’s angel and had followed him all his life.  The angel turned to leave and John had lots of questions not answered.  When the angel was 10 yards away, he told John, “When you cross over, I’d like to be permitted to greet you on the other side and show you around.  God favors you and it would be my honor to show you heaven.”  The angel then took two steps and disappeared.

Angels never have to live with lack of consciousness of supernatural God.  They wonder why God cares about us.  We are so hard headed and we struggle with our flesh.  It takes us forever to get it right.

Every angel we deal with is not a good angel, it can be a demonic being.  We need to discern if the presence we are aware of is demonic or celestial.

Hebrews 13:3 Remember the prisoners as if chained with them—those who are mistreated—since you yourselves are in the body also.

We need to have compassion for all, for the prisoners.

Verse 1 is love, verse 2 angels help, verse 3 compassion.

Signs, wonders and healings occur on the wings of compassion, faith is elevated on compassion.  Jesus had compassion – for example He wept for Lazarus.  The signs and wonders that Jesus did came from His compassion.

Pastor Don told us that there are more miracles on the mission field because people on the mission field are not afraid to release compassion.  Anything you can do makes an impact.  Our compassion can rise to a level where it releases our faith. The holy anointing will not flow if a person does not have compassion, for they can’t get deeper to reach the person who is suffering and needs change.  We need to get to the point where we can’t stand to see a person suffer anymore, and feel they’ve got to be healed.  If you feel that deeply for someone you are crossing over into the area of faith.  You will say the situation has to be remedied, and it will not be hoping it is remedied, but that it must be changed.  God is full of pity for those under oppression.

Hebrews 13:4  Marriage is honorable among all, and the bed undefiled; but fornicators and adulterers God will judge.

God will judge fornicators and adulterers. Pastor Don spoke about the Lakeland revival and how he had a sense that something was wrong with Todd Bentley – and it wasn’t the tattoos and externals.  It turned out to be adultery.  That adulterous relationship caused him to stop doing the meetings and the revival lost its fire.  God judged this.  God will not be mocked. All the healings and miracles that happened are still valid – for God will use a flawed vessel if necessary to reach a person for Himself.  People were saved, healed, and blessed, but when it runs its course, God breaks the vessel.  This was necessary so that Bentley could repent.

Jimmy Swaggert’s ministry was severely reduced because of adultery, and even though he repented, his ministry is not as prospering as it was before the adultery.  David, after his adultery with Bathsheba, ended up having to fight for the rest of his time as king.  There was no peace in his kingdom.  Jim Bakker and others saw their ministries suffer for sins.

When we sin and ask forgiveness, our sins are forgiven, but we may still have to do some reaping of what we sowed with our sins.  Those sins will keep coming up and we will never reach the height of the previous glory.

Pastor Don told us this to remind us that IN A MOMENT OF WEAKNESS WE ALL CAN FALL.  We need to pray and ask God to give us the strength to not touch the unclean thing.

Hebrews 13:5  Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Be content, this verse just speaks for itself.

Hebrews 13:6 So we may boldly say: “ The LORD is my helper; I will not fear. What can man do to me?”

No matter what adversity we are facing, financial, relationship or whatever we can trust that God will never leave us or forsake us.  We can be content because our life is not dependent on man.  God has it in control.

Praying your day is blessed!!!! I sure am blessed and thankful that Jim is home from the hospital.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2009 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

