Do the first works – sermon by Pastor Don Moore

Monday, April 13, 2009

Do the First Works by Pastor Don Moore

Below is the closed captioned transcript of an important sermon, we all need to be doing our first works, our first love especially in these end time days.  Remember what is in [brackets] is what the congregation says.  We need to be doing our first works.  Have a blessed day.

SAY AMEN
SHOW 120
DO THE FIRST WORKS
3/22/09

I was asleep Friday and it was dawn, that’s when the Lord usually comes to me in dreams. And the sun was just beginning to rise and I was still asleep.  And then the Lord, He put me in the upper class room over here in the other building.  And I was sitting in that room and I was surrounded by about maybe 8 people.  And they were just 8 people, and I knew that the Lord was going to give me something.  And so, I’m just looking at these people and one of the ladies at the table said, “Pastor, Pastor,”  she says, “what’s wrong with the churches?  What’s wrong with the churches?  What is the problem?  What, where are we, where are we pastor?”

And the Lord began to speak through me, because, you know it’s the Lord when He’s giving you stuff you don’t know. [amen]  When He’s telling you things you don’t know, then you know it’s the Lord.  And so, I began to, in the dream now, I’m watching this whole thing.  And out of me comes this message.  And I’m beginning to preach this message in the dream.  And I’m preaching in the dream sitting down to these 8 people or so.  And in it I’m answering the question.  I began answering the question.  And out of it comes an answer that I didn’t expect.

You know, how many times have you, have you looked over a Scripture over and over again, thought you had a revelation and understanding of it, only to find out that in a moment of clarity, in a moment of quietness, when you’re waiting on the Lord, then He shows you a deeper meaning?  [come on]  Do you ever do that?  [yes]

All you husbands know what I’m talking about.  It’s like a, you know, you live with this woman so long and then all of a sudden she begins to just every now and then drop a bomb, quiet bombs on you.  And you begin to realize that God is speaking to you through her.  Sometimes God’ll speak to you through children, through a child.  So pay attention.  He says, He’ll even speak through the ignorant  [yes]  and the stupid.  [amen]  And so, He, you can see this vision.

They’re sitting around the table and ask the question, well what’s wrong with the churches?  What is the problem?  What is the problem in these last days?  What’s going on here?  And so, sure enough, I’m beginning to preach this message.  I begin to bring revelation and understanding.  The revelation was so clear to me that the Lord was bringing, that I said, my goodness, I wonder who else knows this?  And then I realized that there’s some stuff we have preached and preached and preached and we’ve heard and we just didn’t get the fullness of what God was saying.

Go to the second chapter of the Revelation of Jesus Christ.  Just open your Bibles there.  I just want you to get this.  This is so blessed…  It is just, my goodness…. HALLELUJAH!!!!!  [praise God!]  Hallelujah, the fire just shot up in my bones and I’ve got to get it out! [shouts of joy]  Oh Lord have mercy!  [thank you Lord]  Lord have mercy.

My wife has assigned the responsibility to me that whenever a fire needs to be built, I have to build it.  And I realize it’s something, there’s a sacred duty.  And when a man begins to understand his role, [hey]  Come on, somebody.  Is anybody here?  There’s a blessedness when a man begins to understand his role.  [yes]  That he has a responsibility to his family, to his wife.  He has a responsibility to his God.  [amen]  You know, some of you men are still acting like boys and you need to grow up.  [amen]  Well go ahead, at least the women should have said, “AMEN.”  [amen]  You know.

And some of you women are still locked, locked over in, I hate to say it, but some of you all are just so, so locked in stress and mess.  [amen]  You know, stirring up stuff that don’t need to be stirred up.  You know, the soup is on the thing, leave the soup alone.  Just let it cook.  You don’t need to be stirring it, and stirring it, you know, a soap opera mentality.

You know, Cindy Prussa coined a phrase last night.  I’ll never forget it.  Do you remember?  What was it? [overflowing in the flesh] Overflowing in the flesh.  We have to be careful about overflowing in the flesh.  Lord have mercy!  Come on, ladies.  [amen]  Come on.  Got no drama in your life and ain’t happy about it.  [laughter]  Let me say that again.  Ain’t got no drama in your life and ain’t happy about it.  Lord have mercy.  You’d better be happy through the quiet times, when the kids are acting right, and your husband’s coming home, and he ain’t bringing nobody with him and ain’t bringing no curse with him.  You should be happy.  [amen]  Praise God!

So, the Church is in the same situation.  The Church has to grow up and step into what it has been called to do.  But somewhere along the line we’ve kind of lost it.  And so, the cry of my heart has been, as I see these different things, going, “Lord, what’s the Church supposed to be doing?  What have we lost?  What are we missing?  Where is it?” … And then, and then I’m preaching this upstairs in the other room, 8 people sitting there, and I’m preaching it to ’em, I’m preaching it to ’em.  And in the dream, you know, I’m in the dream and I’m saying in the dream, “I didn’t know that.”  I never saw that the way that God is explaining it to me.  I didn’t understand that the way God is showing it to me.  How does that work, Lord Jesus?  You all want to see what He showed me?  [come on]  Yeah, come on, this will bless your socks off.

In the second chapter of the Revelation of Jesus Christ, the Lord is speaking to the church at Ephesus.  But I want you to understand something, the church at Ephesus is also the Church now, as well as all the other churches.  They are divided into historical periods that is true.  They’re churches of certain historical periods.  The Church of Laodicea, is the time period that we are in now.  But, whatever He addressed to the Church at Ephesus is also for us today, because the Churches are all divided into these different churches.

I’m going too fast but I don’t have time right now to break all that down to you.  All I’m saying is that there’s seven churches, there’s seven churches, seven lampstands, and there’s seven angels over those seven churches.  Those seven churches existed in historic periods, but they also exist in the present day church in different locations.  There are different churches that are the church of Smyrna, or acting like the church at Sardis, or acting like the church at Laodicea.  But the Church of the Last Days that we are, we are more the Church of Laodicea.  But there’s something we can learn from the Church at Ephesus if we would figure out, where is it that the Church has missed it?  Then we can put it together and be who God’s called us to be, doing what God wants us to be doing now.  [yes]

Look at this.  Look at it here, the second chapter, watch what He says.  “To the angel of the church of Ephesus write, “These things says He who holds the seven stars in His right hand, who walks in the midst of the seven golden lampstands:”  Look what He says.  “I know your works,”   Can everybody say works three times?  [works, works, works]  Say it again. [works, works, works]  “I know your works, works, works…”  I know, “your labor, your patience, and that you cannot bear those who are evil.”  Say, “I don’t like ’em either.”  [I don’t like ’em either.]  Amen.  And then He says, “And you have tested those who say they are apostles and are not, and have found them liars;”  He says, “and you have persevered and have patience, and have labored for My name’s sake and have not become weary.”

Verse 4  How many of you’ll here?  [here]  Didn’t go home yet, right?  [no]  You ready?  [yes]  This is it, here it goes… I was preaching this sermon, “Nevertheless I have this against you,”  Say, “He’s got this against us.”  [He’s got this against us.]  “…that you have left your first love.”

In my Bible I have an “amen” written there.  I have an amen written there because at one point, sometime in my spiritual life, when I had this Bible, somebody preached a sermon about your first love.  And I was so moved by it, I wrote “amen” right after it.  I was all excited.  And all of us have heard, you know, different – “Oh you left your first love.”  And their interpretation of that, you all ready?  Wave at me.  Their interpretation of that is the same as mine was.  Which was, you used to be in love with Jesus and you’re not as in love with Jesus as you used to be.  And you need to be getting more back in love with Jesus.

So the Church at Ephesus, they left their first love.  Their first love was they were in love with Jesus, and they left Jesus, and they’re not acting as much in love as they should.  [Jesus]  And I could preach that boy.  I  could preach that.  People’ll shout and carry on, jump up and down, and receive it.  [amen]  I’ve ministered that.  Oh, you left your first love.  You need to get back to your first love.  You know, and I thought that was what it was all about.  And we need to love Jesus more.  And I could preach that now and everybody would just leave here screaming going, “Yeah, I need to get back to loving Jesus.”

Let’s see if that’s what He meant.  Cause in this vision, in this dream, He told me something else.  He said, “Read a little bit further.”  [amen]  Why do we stop?  Let’s read a little bit more.  Everybody still here?  [yes]  Watch what He says.  Verse 5.  “Remember therefore from where you have fallen; repent and do the first works, or else I will come to you quickly and remove your lampstand from its place — unless you repent.” [repent] Can we do this again?  [yes]  Look at verse 4.  “Nevertheless I have this against you, that you have left your first love.”  And He says, “Remember…”  Can you say, “Remember?”  [remember] Remember, remember, remember, remember.  [remember, remember, remember, remember]  Very good, you remembered that.  “Therefore from where you have fallen;”  He wants you to remember that you have fallen from someplace that you used to be that you’re not there anymore.  He says, remember that, and then do something.  “Do your first works.”…

Now, we go, “yeah. Do my…my first work is my first love. Fall back in love with Jesus.”  That’s not what it says.  [come on]  That’s not what He says.  So the sister at the table says, “Pastor, what’s wrong with the Church?  What’s wrong with it now?”  I could come up with my answer, but the Spirit of the Lord spoke through me in the vision.  And He said, read that again.  And read it a little further… I woke up preaching this sermon.  My wife rolled over, “What are you doing?”  And then I began telling her about this…

And I thought to myself, I got it Lord. I see it.  I understand what He was saying… He’s not saying just fall in love with Jesus all over again.  He is saying, your first love.  What was your first love?  Your first love, if you’d think back, don’t get righteous on me.  Because everyone of us, everyone of us, crawled out from under a rock, to get to Jesus.  [amen]  Come on now, let’s tell the truth.  We were walking around in our stupidity, when Jesus saved us.  [yes]  When He knocked on our door, and we finally had the sense to let Him in, we weren’t all that.  [all right now]  I don’t care how old you came to the Lord, you weren’t all that when Jesus finally rang your doorbell and you let Him in.

And He is saying, “Your first love is for you to remember where you fell from.  Stay with me now.  And, after you think on that for awhile, repent of who you used to be.  Remember what He’s done for you, and then do your first works.  You say, “Well, what was our first works?”  Our first work was not opening a food pantry.  Our first work was not feeding some starving person.  Our first work was not lifting someone out of the gutter and getting them a job.  Our first work was not joining the church and working hard to become a deacon, or a recognized person.  Or people getting a label put on you.  Our first work wasn’t getting into position.  Our first work wasn’t coming in, and I’m over the dance team, I’m over the praise team, I’m over something.  Our first work wasn’t doing any of that!  [amen]  That wasn’t our first work!

Our first work was that we were still had repentance in our heart, when we first loved Jesus, so much so that we were glad to do the first work, which was tell somebody!  [whew, yes!]  Tell somebody… We couldn’t hold it to ourselves.  I remember when the Shekinah glory of God fell me, I didn’t care who rejected me, I had to tell somebody.  I didn’t care what they thought about me.  I didn’t care what gutter I crawled out of.  I wasn’t ashamed to tell people that I was a drug abuser.  I wasn’t ashamed to tell people that I was lost and confused.  I wasn’t ashamed to tell ’em that I’d walked away from the Church, the Church of my father’s when I was little.  I had forsaken that and gone out into the world to make a name for myself.  I was no longer ashamed of that.

I just wanted them to know that I met somebody who could do something about anybody!  [amen]  Glory be to God!  I couldn’t hold it back.  [hallelujah]  I couldn’t hold it back.  I didn’t just look for people that were saved, so that I could walk like mine did with someone who wasn’t afraid of the name of Jesus.  I didn’t care whether they knew the name of Jesus, or not.  I was just looking for somebody that wanted to hear what happened to me.  [yep] Glory to God!  These are tears of salvation not pain.  God saved me.  He did something to me.  He picked me up and turned me around, and I was just so grateful.

I would sit in a restaurant and wait for an opening with the waitress.  I didn’t care if I was buying a new suit, as the guy’s putting it on me, I was looking for an illustration to tell them that this new suit is only a picture of what the Lord has done for me.  [come on]  I’d stand in a line at Wal-Mart, and I’d be saying, “Praise the Lord. Thank you Jesus.”  Just in the hopes that I’d either annoy somebody to death or somebody would say to me, “What are you excited about?”  [laughter]  Remember your first love.  Do you remember when you decided you had to finally tell your parents?  [yes]  Do you remember that moment when you decided, I’ve got to tell mom about this?  Something’s happened to me.  Have you, have you gotten so dead that you forgot when you had to tell your best friend that the drinking, drunken party was over?  That you had a different party to go to.  [yes, chuckles]  Do you remember that?

Do you remember when you had to tell your buddies, “Listen, listen, listen, I’m not, that four letter word is stricken from my vocabulary now. And it annoys me when you use Jesus’ name in the context of a curse word.”  Do you remember when you had to get that together in you to get up enough nerve to say, “Listen, in my presence from now on, don’t talk like that.”  Do you remember that?  Do you remember that when you, there were certain things that you used to smell.  You liked the smell of them and then all of a sudden, you decided, oh, that stinks.  [laughter]  And they don’t smell so good.  And then you had to open your mouth and tell them why you’re, you can pass it but pass it by me.  Oh, don’t get quiet like you don’t know what I’m talking about.   [laughter]  You know what I’m talking about… You say, “Well, I don’t smoke that anymore, I’ll just stay here until I get a contact high.”  [laughter] You all, I’m preaching the truth here.  Just telling the truth… Lord have mercy.  May God forgive us.

But, when we had our first love, when we were in love with our first love, we did the work of our first love, is that we had to go tell somebody… We weren’t ashamed of it.  We had to tell somebody.  One of the brothers in this church had a testimony that Sunday was his day to wash his car… But that first Sunday that he didn’t wash his car, he had to tell somebody why.  [hallelujah]  Another brother in this church, he was like building cars.  You’d just put parts in his garage and he’d make a beautiful machine.  And he loved that beautiful machine.  But you know, someday Jesus came into his life, and that became secondary to his existence.  [amen]  Lord have mercy!  Some of us had to turn off, turn off the things we used to watch and make a change, but we weren’t sad about it.  We were glad about it.  And we had to tell somebody.  We had to do the first work.

We had to do that thing that we used to do, that used to spring up inside us.  We weren’t ashamed to invite somebody to church then.  In those days, we were excited.  Guess where I’m going?  I’m going to church!  Why?  I want to hear some Word. There’s some music going on.  Where are you going?  I’m going to a party.  Who’s going to be there?  My Lord.  I’m going.  You should come with me.  Well I don’t know, I don’t know about that.  That’s too bad, but when you get it together, I’ll be here to tell you about it.  Do you remember?

Can you remember when you crawled up from under the rock and Jesus saved you?  Do you remember when He touched you?  Do you remember when He spoke your name and down in here, and you reverberated on the inside?  And you said, somebody somewhere is going to hear about this.  I’m through keeping it a secret.  I’ve got to tell somebody.  Somebody… somebody’s got to know about this thing….

I remember when I got healed.  I remember the first time I got healed.  It was from diabetes.  The doctor said, “Young man, you’re going to have, for the rest of your life you’re going to have to take this, this, and this.”  Gave me a little blue thing to put on my key chain.  He said, “You need to start the medication right away.  Your sugar is so high you could go into a diabetic coma right now.”  I said,… I’m not advising you to do this but I had a word from the Lord.  The Lord told me in my office on my way to the doctor’s.  He says.  “Fast 10 days, I’ll heal you son.”  [my God]  The doctor asked me what am I going to do.  I said, “I’m going to fast.  I’m going to fast and pray 10 days.”  He said, “That alone, that alone will mess all over your sugar levels.”  He said, “You can’t do that.”  I says, “Listen, I’ll see you in 10 days.”  [yes]  Praise God Almighty!  [amen]  Praise God Almighty!  I just went home.  I didn’t tell anybody about it.  I said, “I’m going to take some time off.  I’m going to take this week off.”

I don’t advise this unless you have a Word from the Lord.  [amen]  Cause you can’t, you can’t do, you can’t get to where God wants to take you on your stubbornness.  [amen]  You’d better have a Word from the Lord.  [amen]  The end of those 10 days, I went back.  He checked my glucose, my dextrose, my nostros, by glusos, my vostros.  He checked everything he could check, and my blood sugar is at natural, normal levels.  [hallelujah]  Now, I’m just giving God praise.  I’m looking for somebody to tell.  Somebody to tell!  That the curse that ran up through my grandma, it ran through my papa, it stops here with the third generation.  [clapping and shouts of joy]  It stops with the third generation.  Curse be broken, over me In the name of Jesus.  I had to tell somebody.

The first person I had to tell was myself.  [laughter]  I still had that little blue thing on there saying I’m a diabetic and if I go into a coma, flip it over and it says call this number.  I had to take that thing off my key chain… Did you see that?  [yep]  I took it off my key chain.  Then I says, you know, I’d better get that because I left it on the ground.  I says, some junkie will find it and use it for something.  So I picked it up, you know, and threw it in the garbage.  Cause I don’t want anybody else to have it.

Listen, I’m telling you that your first love, your first love is the joy of the expression of gratitude and repentance that God put in your heart…when you first got saved, when you first came to know Him.  [yes]… I wrote down a few, just to back it up.  Cause you say, well that’s just you Pastor Don.  No, it was the voice of the Lord speaking to me.  Can we do a few of ’em?

Go to Mark, chapter 5… Mark, chapter 5.  Jesus is Lord of Lords and King of Kings!  [yes]  He’s the Master over all things!  [amen]  Principalities and powers must bow at His Name!  [yeah]  The authority He put in your heart, let it out!!!  [yes]  Stop saving it!  Shoot.

In the 5th chapter of the book of Mark, Mark Chapter 5, in verse 15.  Mark 5:15.  “Then they came to Jesus, and saw the one who had been demon-possessed and had the legion, sitting and clothed and in his right mind. And they were afraid.  And those who saw it told them how it happened to him who had been demon-possessed, and about the swine.  Then they began to plead with Him to depart from their region.  And when He got into the boat, he who had been demon possessed begged Him that he might be with Him.  However, Jesus did not permit him, but said” … do your first love… “Go home to your friends and tell them what great things the Lord has done for you, and how He has had compassion on you.””  Now watch it.  “And he departed and began to proclaim in Decapolis all that Jesus had done for him; and all marveled.”  [amen]  Lord have mercy.

Go to the book of John, chapter 7.  How are you all doing?  You alright?  [yes]  Book of John, chapter 7, verse 45.  John 7:45.  When you go back to your first love, you will defend the name of Jesus.  Shame on you if you stand around people that are putting Jesus down, speaking against your church, grinding your pastor into chopped liver, and you silently stand there and let them abuse that which God has ordained as holy.  “Then the officers came to the chief priests and Pharisees, who said to them, “Why have you not brought Him?”  Why didn’t you arrest Jesus they are saying?  Verse 46.  “The officers answered, “No man ever spoke like this Man!”  How many of you ever had Jesus speak in your heart and you went, no man spoke like this?  Nobody has ever been able to straighten you out, but when Jesus gives you a line of criticism and gets you back where you’re supposed to be, nobody spoke like that.  [amen]  And then he says, watch how men do.  “…”Are you also deceived?” … “Have any of the rulers or the Pharisees believed in Him?  But this crowd that does not know the law is accursed.”

They’re going to curse you.  Yeah, they’re going to say, make fun of you.  They’re going to put names on you.  But guess what?  You need to be like Nicodemus.  Nicodemus had one conversation with Jesus, look how it changed him.  “Nicodemus (he who had come to Jesus by night, being one of them)  said to them…”  He had to open his mouth and do his first love.  “Does our law judge a man before it hears him and knows what he is doing?”…”Does our law judge a man before it hears him and knows what he is doing?”  They answered and said to him, “Are you also from Galilee?  Search and look, for no prophet has arisen out of Galilee.” … When are you going to defend the Gospel?  Nicodemus, he just stood up and he said, “Listen, are you going to accuse Jesus…based on no information?”

And the information they had was wrong.  All they had to do was read the book of Isaiah 7th chapter for it says, that a great prophet would rise up out of Galilee… When are we going to defend the faith?  When people say things against the Bible, when are we going to stand up and tell them, no, it’s accurate, it’s true?  It’s archaeologically and scientifically accurate.  It is the greatest book that has ever been written.  And every enemy that has come against it has fallen and it is still the greatest book [amen]  that has ever been written.  [amen]  Lord have mercy!  [yes, amen]  …

Had a muslim guy tell me, oh the Bible just contradicts itself.  I said, “Give me the contradictions.”  He gave me everything that he thought was a contradiction.  I just wrote him out the scriptures and explained every contradiction.  [amen, amen]  He’s still trying to figure out how the koran could say that God made everything in six days and then in another place it says he made them in eight days.  He’s still trying to get back to me on that.  Moving right along… [chuckling]  Mohammed couldn’t even figure out how many days did God do it in.  Two different places in the koran it gives two different times, two different dates.  The Bible doesn’t contradict itself.

You just don’t have enough information because you have a contradictory mind.  You need to defend the Gospel against confusion.  Can we move right along?  I love you people… When I grow up I’m going to try and be a pastor somewhere.  If they won’t take me in the city, I’ll get a church in the country.  [laughter]

Alright, go to John, chapter 9 … verse 30.  Chapter 9 … verse 30.  I don’t have enough time to do this, can I just tell you about, but I can’t do the whole thing.  “The man answered and said to them, “Why, is this a marvelous thing, that you do not know where He is from: yet He has opened my eyes!”  This is the blind man by the pool.  “Now we know…”  This is, watch this, this is do your first love.   This guy just got healed by Jesus.  Listen to him preach.  He says, “Now we know that God does not hear sinners; but if anyone is a worshiper of God and does His will, He hears him.  Since the world began it has been unheard of that anyone opened the eyes of one who was born blind.  If this Man were not from God, He could do nothing.”  They answered and said to him, “You were completely born in sins, and you are teaching us?”  And they cast him out.”

There’s some places you should be glad to get kicked out of.  [come on]  Come on.  But if you don’t do your first love, nobody’s going to kick you out.  They’re going to think you are in complete agreement with everything that’s going down.  [hallelujah]  You know, until you open your mouth and do your first love…listen to me.

What happened, when you had your first love, you invited people to your house.  And you set traps for them… You invited them to your house and you fed them.  And then you looked for an opportunity to tell them, listen, I got born again.  The Lord came to me and talked to me and you’re my friends… What happened to those days?

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2009 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

