Abigail 1 Samuel 25 by Gabriel Delgato and Pastor Don Moore

Tuesday, April 07, 2009

Abigail by Gabriel Delgato

Gabe came down to Bible study telling us that Pastor Don asked him to open up the study – he taught this wonderful lesson without having time to prepare, the only time to prepare was the time it took to walk from upstairs in the church to downstairs where the Bible study was. God put Abigail on his heart to teach and I think Gabriel did a wonderful job.

Gabe used the NLT version of the Bible and I found it interesting to hear a different translation of this story of Abigail. We read the story pretty much completely before doing many comments.

1 Samuel 25:2-9 There was a wealthy man from Maon who owned property near the town of Carmel. He had 3,000 sheep and 1,000 goats, and it was sheep-shearing time. This man’s name was Nabal, and his wife, Abigail, was a sensible and beautiful woman. But Nabal, a descendant of Caleb, was crude and mean in all his dealings. When David heard that Nabal was shearing his sheep, he sent ten of his young men to Carmel with this message for Nabal: “Peace and prosperity to you, your family, and everything you own!  I am told that it is sheep-shearing time. While your shepherds stayed among us near Carmel, we never harmed them, and nothing was ever stolen from them. Ask your own men, and they will tell you this is true. So would you be kind to us, since we have come at a time of celebration? Please share any provisions you might have on hand with us and with your friend David.” David’s young men gave this message to Nabal in David’s name, and they waited for a reply.

The name “Nabal” means fool and he certainly will act foolish.  The young men gave David (soon to be King) message.

1 Samuel 25:10-18 “Who is this fellow David?” Nabal sneered to the young men. “Who does this son of Jesse think he is? There are lots of servants these days who run away from their masters.  Should I take my bread and my water and my meat that I’ve slaughtered for my shearers and give it to a band of outlaws who come from who knows where?” So David’s young men returned and told him what Nabal had said. “Get your swords!” was David’s reply as he strapped on his own. Then 400 men started off with David, and 200 remained behind to guard their equipment. Meanwhile, one of Nabal’s servants went to Abigail and told her, “David sent messengers from the wilderness to greet our master, but he screamed insults at them. These men have been very good to us, and we never suffered any harm from them. Nothing was stolen from us the whole time they were with us. In fact, day and night they were like a wall of protection to us and the sheep. You need to know this and figure out what to do, for there is going to be trouble for our master and his whole family. He’s so ill-tempered that no one can even talk to him!” Abigail wasted no time. She quickly gathered 200 loaves of bread, two wineskins full of wine, five sheep that had been slaughtered, nearly a bushel of roasted grain, 100 clusters of raisins, and 200 fig cakes. She packed them on donkeys

Gabe pointed out that Abigail wasted no time in responding.  She immediately acted.

1 Samuel 25:19 and said to her servants, “Go on ahead. I will follow you shortly.” But she didn’t tell her husband Nabal what she was doing.

Here Abigail used Godly wisdom and strategy.

Psalm 109:5 They repay evil for good, and hatred for my love.

1 Samuel 25:20-22 As she was riding her donkey into a mountain ravine, she saw David and his men coming toward her. David had just been saying, “A lot of good it did to help this fellow. We protected his flocks in the wilderness, and nothing he owned was lost or stolen. But he has repaid me evil for good. (22) May God strike me and kill me if even one man of his household is still alive tomorrow morning!”

Verse 22 – this is not how a king should be talking!

1 Samuel 25:23 When Abigail saw David, she quickly got off her donkey and bowed low before him.

Abigail shows humility by bowing down to David. Proverbs 31:30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last; but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised. Abigail had a spirit of humility.  First, she responded to what her servant said.  Then she acted immediately, and now she bowed to the king.  Without a spirit of humility pride can get in the way.

1 Samuel 25:24-25 She fell at his feet and said, “I accept all blame in this matter, my lord. Please listen to what I have to say. I know Nabal is a wicked and ill-tempered man; please don’t pay any attention to him. He is a fool, just as his name suggests. But I never even saw the young men you sent.

Notice, instead of pointing a finger at her husband – something she could have in all justice done, Abigail takes ALL THE BLAME.

1 Samuel 25:26-29 “Now, my lord, as surely as the Lord lives and you yourself live, since the Lord has kept you from murdering and taking vengeance into your own hands, let all your enemies and those who try to harm you be as cursed as Nabal is. And here is a present that I, your servant, have brought to you and your young men. Please forgive me if I have offended you in any way. The Lord will surely reward you with a lasting dynasty, for you are fighting the Lord’s battles. And you have not done wrong throughout your entire life. “Even when you are chased by those who seek to kill you, your life is safe in the care of the Lord your God, secure in his treasure pouch! But the lives of your enemies will disappear like stones shot from a sling!

Abigail had knowledge about how David feared the Lord and about his exploits.  We know what we need to know about our King because of what he acknowledges.

Abigail acted as an intercessor for Nabal who was foolish, selfish, ignorant and greedy.  At the same time her actions acted as an intercessor for David preventing him from acting foolishly.

Proverbs 11:16 A gracious woman gains respect, but ruthless men gain only wealth.

Proverbs 12:6 The words of the wicked are like a murderous ambush, but the words of the godly save lives.

1 Samuel 25:31-35 don’t let this be a blemish on your record. Then your conscience won’t have to bear the staggering burden of needless bloodshed and vengeance. And when the Lord has done these great things for you, please remember me, your servant!” David replied to Abigail, “Praise the Lord, the God of Israel, who has sent you to meet me today! Thank God for your good sense! Bless you for keeping me from murder and from carrying out vengeance with my own hands. For I swear by the Lord, the God of Israel, who has kept me from hurting you, that if you had not hurried out to meet me, not one of Nabal’s men would still be alive tomorrow morning.” Then David accepted her present and told her, “Return home in peace. I have heard what you said. We will not kill your husband.”

Because of Abigail, David showed mercy on Nabal.

1 Samuel 25:36  When Abigail arrived home, she found that Nabal was throwing a big party and was celebrating like a king. He was very drunk, so she didn’t tell him anything about her meeting with David until dawn the next day.

Again this shows wisdom on Abigail’s part.

1 Samuel 25:37-38  In the morning when Nabal was sober, his wife told him what had happened. As a result he had a stroke, and he lay paralyzed on his bed like a stone. About ten days later, the Lord struck him, and he died.

Romans 12:19  Dear friends, never take revenge. Leave that to the righteous anger of God. For the Scriptures say, “I will take revenge; I will pay them back,” says the Lord.

Instead of taking vengeance on her husband for his irresponsibility, and instead of David taking vengeance, the Lord dealt with the situation.  The battle is the Lord’s.

1 Samuel 25:39-42 When David heard that Nabal was dead, he said, “Praise the Lord, who has avenged the insult I received from Nabal and has kept me from doing it myself. Nabal has received the punishment for his sin.” Then David sent messengers to Abigail to ask her to become his wife. When the messengers arrived at Carmel, they told Abigail, “David has sent us to take you back to marry him.” She bowed low to the ground and responded, “I, your servant, would be happy to marry David. I would even be willing to become a slave, washing the feet of his servants!” Quickly getting ready, she took along five of her servant girls as attendants, mounted her donkey, and went with David’s messengers. And so she became his wife.

She received her reward for her faithfulness – she married King David.  She must have been a lonely woman being married to a fool, but her obedience and reverence paid off.

We are going to be married to Jesus so our actions here on earth need to also exhibit such wisdom and humility.

Because Abigail stood in the place of righteousness, God was able to unfold the better plan.

Pastor Don added a few more bits of information – pointing out that most married guys do not teach on Abigail.  But he wanted to share a bit more background.  Now it is NKJV unless otherwise stated.

Genesis 3:16 To the woman He said:  “I will greatly multiply your sorrow and your conception; in pain you shall bring forth children; your desire shall be for your husband, and he shall rule over you.”

Then Pastor Don asked if someone had their Amplified Bible with them and we read the passage in the Amplified – Genesis 3:16 To the woman He said, I will greatly multiply your grief and your suffering in pregnancy and the pangs of childbearing; with spasms of distress you will bring forth children. Yet your desire and craving will be for your husband, and he will rule over you.

Most interpret this as God speaking this over the woman as a curse, that her husband shall rule over her, and she had desire for her husband.

The problem is that the desire to do well came but was frustrated for the ability to rule was taken from her and given to her husband.

Abigail was aware that she was more intelligent than Nabal, and had better people, financial skills, organizational skills, and politics.  Yet she was subordinate to Nabal.

If a woman learns how to honor, respect and yield to reality that is God ordained, not embarrassing her Nabals, and correcting them, she will end up elevated and lifted up with honor and respect.  She will be blessed.

Pastor Don pointed out that the man being in charge is hard on the man for most men die sooner than women because of the responsibility of ruling.  We are to cover our husbands. And one of the side benefits is if something goes wrong, it is not our fault.

Abigail knew when everything was awry and coming down and also knew that if she did nothing not only would her husband be attacked but in that day and age family and children could also be killed.  She was smart enough to see the political side of it.

Why did David marry her?  David knew that she was smart and that she honored and respected her husband. David knew that she would protect him, covering and honoring and respecting her man.

We prayed a prayer of Abigail – Pastor Don led us to pray that we would learn honor and respect in our marriages.

We pick the way we live and whom we marry.  We have to accept responsibility for the choices we make.  Get ourselves under control and ride it out.  Nowhere in the Bible does it talk about soul mates.  If a person is God ordained for you, why is it that relationships are so hard?  Marriages are made, not born.   The two partners in the marriage start out willful, and a relationship needs to be built, responsibility for the relationship needs to be developed between both parties, and when that begins to occur character is formed.

We then went on into our study of Hebrews – guess what – Hebrews 13!!!!! A new chapter!!!!  I will type that tomorrow.

Have a blessed day,

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2009 Pastor Don Moore Teachings, Gabriel Delgato and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

