At the Crossroads (Salvation) part 2 by Callin

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

At the Crossroads (Salvation) Part 2 by Callin

To see part one, go here.

Callin used NIV for this study.

Matthew 6:25-34 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

Jesus tells us not to worry.  We are children of God, and He gives us all our blessings.  He gives us our needs, but not necessarily all our desires, for He has our best interests at heart and some of what we desire is not in our best interest.

Salvation is a saving deliverance, a preservation from destruction.  There will be judgment, just like there was for Noah’s flood.  No one can inherit salvation, each person chooses to accept the gift of salvation individually.  As we grow in faith we reap the benefit of faith and get exactly what we are speaking.

Saved is defined as being saved from enemies, sin, delivered from slavery, health, preservation of life, freedom from physical infirmities, and in general all kinds of deliverance.  Saved from sin. Final and complete deliverance from all causes including death.

Thus salvation cannot be linked to the initiation of redemption – salvation is ongoing.  It is tri-fold – three in one – body, soul, spirit.  God is a trinity, and salvation is also triune.

There is initial salvation, when we say “yes” to God’s offer, perpetual salvation – living, moving and ongoing, and eternal salvation – no end to it.

That’s the kind of God we serve. Why, with such a loving God, do we find ourselves living in worry under a spirit of fear?

We should have the audacity to say, “I don’t know how, but I know God will make a way.  He didn’t bring me this far to leave me.  God is sovereign.”

Callin talked a bit about his past and told us that when the love of God did not provoke him to do right, the fear of God did.  Solomon prayed, give me an understanding heart.

Whoever says, “Yes, Lord,” represents one with an understanding heart, and God is a rewarder of faith.  Look at Jacob, Abraham.  God knows humanity, and when we are making a wrong decision, and God can remedy our mistakes.

Then Callin shared from Dake’s Bible reasons not to worry. (Heather’s comment, Dake’s Bible gives wonderful lists.)

8 Reasons why we should not worry listed in margin near Matthew 6.

1 Life is more than meat
2. Body more than raiment
3. Men greater than materials
4. Men greater than fowls whom God feeds without their labor.
5. Worry cannot change the body
6. Men better than plants that do not worry about clothing
7. God’s providence is over all creation, not only birds and plants that never buy, sell, manufacture or labor.
8. Worry is useless and sinful and must not be tolerated.

QUIT WORRYING BECAUSE IT IS
1. Sinful and produces fear
2. A disease of the mind causing other ills in the body.
3. Borrowing trouble that cannot be paid back
4. Brooding over what may not happen.  We can find ourselves in Job’s situation, that what Job feared came upon him.  Our faith will be tested on occasion but God will work it out towards good.With a test of faith, we pray until we see what we are praying for manifested. Doubt and unbelief can prevent what we are believing for in faith from occurring.
5. Creating trouble, misery, death
6. A burden borrowed from tomorrow and others who should carry it.  Sometimes we take another’s cause and carry it.  If we do that it can be because doing that keeps us from looking at ourselves and the problems we should be dealing with in our lives.  Israel did not move in the wilderness until God moved the pillar of fire or the cloud.  It helped them to “be still and know that He was God.”  We are dependent on God, and that means that we need to wait and get a leading from God about what we should be doing and involved in. Ask God about your associates, activities and actions.  Ask God to show us what to do.
7. Weight that kills prematurely
8. Mental and physical suicide
9. A grave-digger that has no sympathy
10. A needless and wastes time and effort that should be spent on worthwhile things
11. A robber of faith, peace, and trust in a never-failing heavenly Father
12. A stumbling block to others
13 A disgrace to God and should never be indulged in by Christians
14. Anxiety over what is nothing today and less tomorrow, in view of faith
15. Anticipating troubles which seldom come to those who trust God
16 Torment over something that will likely be a blessing if it comes.
17. Living like an orphan without an heavenly Father
18. A crime against God, man, nature, and better judgment
19. Mental cruelty to self and others
20. Foolish, for whatever is going to happen cannot be stopped by worry; and if it doesn’t happen there is nothing to worry about, should adversities actually come, one may still be victorious by trusting in God.

Psalm 37 tells us to not worry, not fret.

Numbers 14 reminds us how we will have what we say.  The Israelites, all those over the age of 20, ended up dying in the wilderness, except Joshua and Caleb who told the truth of God.

In the Bible we see Jesus and the Salvation of God manifested from Genesis to Revelation.  We also see that without faith it is impossible to please God.  We are reminded not to worry and to not be like the Israelites.

Numbers 14:26-28  And the LORD spoke to Moses and Aaron, saying,  “How long shall I bear with this evil congregation who complain against Me? I have heard the complaints which the children of Israel make against Me. Say to them, ‘As I live,’ says the LORD, ‘just as you have spoken in My hearing, so I will do to you:

God kept His promise.  We closed the Bible study with this wonderful promise from God in Joshua.

Joshua 1:8-9 This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”

Oh, I pray that your day is blessed and that you trust in Him and do not worry.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Callin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

