Hebrews 12 by Pastor Don Moore

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Hebrews 12 by Pastor Don

Hebrews Chapters 12 and 13 are fundamental to our faith.

Pastor Don told us that Chapter 12 & 13 show us the nature of God.  He told us that people sometimes ask questions, such as those asked after 9/11 when they said if God is God why did God not save people?  How can a loving God be a loving God and let evil happen?

The truth is God plays by His rules, not ours.  Our views and sensibilities are not necessarily God’s.  If there are no accidents and no one died the world would be overpopulated.  Life on earth is training for eternity.  Yet we live life on earth as if it is the central part of our existence.

God sets things in motion, but we have dominion over our lives.  When something does not go the way we want it to go, we can opt to change the rules. The validity of the existence of God is not determined by what we feel He should do.  Nothing in the Word says God will always intervene in the crises of man.

Heaven is a real place, and there will be much work to be done in Heaven. Since we are God’s Children, He will discipline us or not discipline us at His discretion.  We can either obey God or ignore His discipline.

Chapter 12 is about discipline. Sometimes we accept or reject discipline.  God has a purpose in our obedience but good can even come out of our disobedience. For example, if you tell your child to not touch the hot stove and the child touches the stove, he learns when you say he could get hurt, he could get hurt.

Hebrews 12:1 Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,

Run the race set before us.  We may not always be sure what our part in the race is.

Hebrews 12:2 looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Jesus started and finished it, and went to the Cross for the joy that was set before Him.  When He ascended to Heaven He saw Joy.  Heaven is a happy place.  Pastor Don told us that when we find something worth that joy, it is also worth the sorrow necessary to attain it.

Hebrews 12:3 For consider Him who endured such hostility from sinners against Himself, lest you become weary and discouraged in your souls.

Jesus endured a level of hostility that we have no conception of.  He was called a worker of satan, beaten, abused.  People will abuse you for being a believer.  The church will be labeled intolerant because of our message.  They don’t realize you can love a person and not condone their actions.  This hostility, as time goes by will get worse, not better.

Hebrews 12:4 You have not yet resisted to bloodshed, striving against sin.

No one has strove against sin until it causes bloodshed.  Most people are not willing to go that far.  That is why the antichrist will not meet with opposition when he is revealed. People will give up their rights when they find out it interferes with their comforts.

Hebrews 12:5-6 And you have forgotten the exhortation which speaks to you as to sons: “My son, do not despise the chastening of the LORD, nor be discouraged when you are rebuked by Him; for whom the LORD loves He chastens, and scourges every son whom He receives.”

Discipline helps a child (both our children and us as children of God) for it teaches us discipline so we don’t end up with the diagnosis of PINS –Person INeed of Supervision

God will let us reap what we have sown.  Circumstances will keep coming to pass until we learn our lesson.

Hebrews 12:7-8 If you endure chastening, God deals with you as with sons; for what son is there whom a father does not chasten? But if you are without chastening, of which all have become partakers, then you are illegitimate and not sons.

If there is no parental control, for example, if you are an unsupervised child out of wedlock, then there is no discipline or control.  We are God’s children and He will discipline us, even if our earthly parents fail in that task.

Hebrews 12:9 Furthermore, we have had human fathers who corrected us, and we paid them respect. Shall we not much more readily be in subjection to the Father of spirits and live?

Discipline is life or death to us.

Hebrews 12:10  For they indeed for a few days chastened us as seemed best to them, but He for our profit, that we may be partakers of His holiness.

His discipline always brings us to Holiness.

Hebrews 12:11 Now no chastening seems to be joyful for the present, but painful; nevertheless, afterward it yields the peaceable fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.

No one loves being disciplined at the moment, and yet we know it is done for our future good and to produce the fruit of righteousness. We are trained by discipline, and whether we succeed or fail, discipline will help to correct us. Now we have a choice, we can either choose to learn by experience in the school of hard knocks, or we can learn in a vicarious way by reading the Scriptures and applying their truths to our lives.  It is far less painful to learn from the Scriptures than by experience.  But we all have different personalities and God will deal with us as we need, to produce that fruit of righteousness.

Hoping you have a blessed day.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2009 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

