Proverbs 31 The Virtuous Woman by Ethel Knox

Friday, February 20, 2009

Proverbs 31 The Virtuous Woman by Ethel Knox

Ethel spoke at a conference of women who were sharing on various aspects of the Proverbs 31 woman, and it was very convicting.

Virtuous means able, capable, strong, courageous.

John 3:16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

Ethel gave us a list of things virtuous women manifest.

1. A desire to know the Lord and turn from wicked ways. We are not perfect, but we work toward becoming the Virtuous woman.

2. Make knowing God the top priority.  Romans 12:1-2 I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. Intimacy with God by all means necessary. Time spent with God the Father. The whole household saved. God is on your agenda every day.

3. Commit to knowing and bring truth, not legalism. Biblical based thinking, tithing, baptism, common traditions have to go in line with the Word of God.  Conquer with what the Word of God says.

4. Find or become a Godly mentor.  Titus 2:1-5 But as for you, speak the things which are proper for sound doctrine: that the older men be sober, reverent, temperate, sound in faith, in love, in patience; the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things— that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed. Older women are to speak to younger women and guide them.  Respect people where they are at even though they are not living up to your standards. Don’t judge them, bring them around by being a good role model.

Ethel told us the Proverbs 31 woman had a mentor who shared with her the secrets of how to fear the Lord, to trust and respect. The mentor models Christ centered living and encourages others through their struggles.  You can’t mentor anyone if you are not living what you are preaching.

Sober means balanced, moderation, clear headed, stable.  God is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow.  Let people see I’m going through but I have the victory. Be yourself. Be reverent and worthy of respect.  Be worthy of praise. Be temperate, have self control.  Be sensible even though you are living in a heathen world.

Be temperate about what we allow our children to do or not to do.  If they turn away or fail you need to trust the seed.  Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it.  God has your every situation.

5. Be sound in faith, love and patience.  Have a healthy personal faith.  Share, teach, share about what Christ has done in your life and model a godly lifestyle.  Be a good teacher, godly and not a gossiper.  Don’t be playing church.  The world is looking at us and people in the church are looking at you and not at Jesus.  Look towards Jesus. Stop being victims and be victorious.  Stop talking about your test and get to your testimony.

6. Maintain realistic expectations. Husbands do right for five years and mess up, then you get rid of them even though they had been right for five years. It doesn’t make sense, people will mess up, and if your husband gets it right most of the time, count your blessings.  Seek increasing maturity in Christ.  Seek Christlikeness rather than being wrapped up in perfection.

7. Have an attitude of humility, stay teachable by walking very close to the teacher. Don’t stray or you will mess up.

8. Encourage yourself in the Lord.

This was a profound teaching and often since this conference I ask myself, what would a Proverbs 31 woman do?  And I try to do it.

Have a blessed day!

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Ethel Knox and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

