Genesis 13, Abraham, Hebrews 11 by Pastor Don Moore

Sunday, February 15, 2009

Genesis 13 Abraham, Hebrews 11 by Pastor Don

Wow, has it been some time since I’ve updated, I think I needed a bit of a Xanga break.  I have been doing some fun studies in the Word and God has helped me to understand a passage of Scripture that was tough for me.  I am continuing Pastor Don’s Friday Bible study notes, see previous posts part 1 here and part 2 here.

Genesis 13:1 Then Abram went up from Egypt, he and his wife and all that he had, and Lot with him, to the South.

Up from Egypt to the south.  The drought was on and off, but Abram is now going back to where God sent Him in the first place.  We need to return to where God wants us to be if we have strayed off course.

Genesis 13:2-4 Abram was very rich in livestock, in silver, and in gold. And he went on his journey from the South as far as Bethel, to the place where his tent had been at the beginning, between Bethel and Ai,  to the place of the altar which he had made there at first. And there Abram called on the name of the LORD.

If you lose where you should be, go back to where you were before you lost it.  Some leave and never turn back to Him.  Go back to the point where God corrected you.  We need to humble ourselves and go back to that point of correction.  God cannot advance you until you fix what God wants you to do.  It takes us awhile to get to the truth of this, so we can see the fruit. As we stay with this spiritual fight, and as we face these truths we can more easily work through the bad stuff.

Genesis 13:5-8 Lot also, who went with Abram, had flocks and herds and tents. Now the land was not able to support them, that they might dwell together, for their possessions were so great that they could not dwell together.  And there was strife between the herdsmen of Abram’s livestock and the herdsmen of Lot’s livestock. The Canaanites and the Perizzites then dwelt in the land.  So Abram said to Lot, “Please let there be no strife between you and me, and between my herdsmen and your herdsmen; for we are brethren.

No strife between Lot and Abram, but there would not have been any strife if Abram had totally obeyed God, for Lot would not have come with Abram and his family. God had told Abram to take him and his wife, no mention of family. The enemy loves to make strife in the camp.  What is the solution?

Genesis 13:9 Is not the whole land before you? Please separate from me. If you take the left, then I will go to the right; or, if you go to the right, then I will go to the left.”

Abram let Lot pick the first of the land, and Abram trusted that God would take care of Abram and his family.  Lot picked by sight, Abram by faith.

Genesis 13:10 And Lot lifted his eyes and saw all the plain of Jordan, that it was well watered everywhere (before the LORD destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah) like the garden of the LORD, like the land of Egypt as you go toward Zoar.

Don’t forget God destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah because, while it was outwardly beautiful and pleasant, there was sin in that area.

Genesis 13:11-12  Then Lot chose for himself all the plain of Jordan, and Lot journeyed east. And they separated from each other. Abram dwelt in the land of Canaan, and Lot dwelt in the cities of the plain and pitched his tent even as far as Sodom.

Abram learned His lesson. Don’t go where God did not send you.  Lot was younger and less experienced, and he did not know that bad company (Sodom & Gomorrah) corrupts good morals.

Genesis 13:13 But the men of Sodom were exceedingly wicked and sinful against the LORD.

Don’t make the mistake Lot made.  So often young people leave the church thinking they can handle bad company, and thinking they won’t be caught by the wiles of the World.  You have to be careful of your company.  You need to pick more people of better character than yourself, so you model yourself after them.

Genesis 13:14-15 And the LORD said to Abram, after Lot had separated from him: “Lift your eyes now and look from the place where you are—northward, southward, eastward, and westward; for all the land which you see I give to you and your descendants forever.

Abram and Lot separated, but if you read further in his story you see that, when Lot needed protection, Abram protected him.  When you protect those under you, you receive the blessing of Melchizedek. Abraham tithed to Melchizedek and received blessings.

Genesis 14:18-20 Then Melchizedek king of Salem brought out bread and wine; he was the priest of God Most High. And he blessed him and said:  “Blessed be Abram of God Most High, possessor of heaven and earth; and blessed be God Most High, who has delivered your enemies into your hand.”

Pastor Don told us we get faith by learning, we don’t just get faith and never mess up. Abram had faith, messed up, and still continued with God, learning from the mistakes he made and building his faith.  God always takes us back to where we messed up until we learn what we are supposed to do and do what God wants us to do.

The faith of Abram was not only based on his successes but also on his failures and what he learned from them.

We also need to realize that, when we are doing things wrong and keep doing the wrong things, that also requires faith – wrong placed faith, because we are not working our faith to go forward with God.  We need to refuse to let our ego take us the wrong way, and we need to trust God, not going left or right but straight ahead.

When we discover we have made a wrong choice, we need to stop, say to our self, I should have trusted God, and get back to our Bethel – the place where we were right before we messed up and got it right.  Abram came back to his Bethel.

And as Hebrews 11:8-10 tells us, By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out to the place which he would receive as an inheritance. And he went out, not knowing where he was going. By faith he dwelt in the land of promise as in a foreign country, dwelling in tents with Isaac and Jacob, the heirs with him of the same promise; for he waited for the city which has foundations, whose builder and maker is God.

Hope this blesses you, for me it a reminder that, when I mess up, I can learn from that,  get back in line with God’s plan, and move forward again.  Hopefully I will catch myself quicker each time, and mess up less.

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2009 Pastor Don Moore Teachings, Discipleship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

