Poem: Mary’s Prophetic Journey by Elaine Skibicki

Wednesday, December 24, 2008

Poem: Mary’s Prophetic Journey by Elaine Skibicki

Last Christmas I attended a Women’s Aglow luncheon and the coordinator, Elaine Skibicki read the following poem that she wrote.  It touched my heart and I was grateful that she sent it to me so that I can share it with you.
Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy Hanukkah.
Heather
Mary’s Prophetic Journey
One nite the angel Gabriel came to me
A simple Jewish girl living in poverty.
In a little town of Nazareth, by a big oak tree.
What could I offer anyone, especially God Almighty?
“Greetings!” His voice filled the room;
“You are highly favored among women, the Lord is with you.
Do not fear, you will give birth to the Messiah” is what I heard.
Yes Lord, let it be unto me, according to Your Word.
I was the sovereign vessel chosen,
For my child~like faith and heart of devotion.
And He will choose you too, don’t you see?
When you say “Yes Lord, let it be done unto me.
According to Your will, Your way, Your plan.
I give you my heart, my life, please take my hand.
I will carry to term for You
Anything that You call me to.”
Now, my life was quite ordinary, although Jesus had a whim.
Once returning from Jerusalem, I frantically looked for Him.
We found Him in the Temple, He said I should have known.
Oyvey! I wanted to ground Him til He was full grown!
You see your life may seem ordinary;
You may be waiting for the “Big Call”.
But it’s what your doing from day to day
That matters most of all.
If God can’t trust you with the little things
That happen every day;
How can He trust you with the big ones
That might blow you away!
So just determine to trust Him, right where you are.
Learn to be patient and pray;
Ask God, every morning, to show you revival…today.
When my Son hung on the cross that day;
Beaten, naked and dying;
Asking, “Father, why have You forsaken Me?”
I thought…this isn’t the way it’s supposed to be.
He was just healing the sick and raising the dead.
I couldn’t sort all this out in my head.
Truth is, it’s always darkest before the dawn.
But my worst fear was realized…Jesus was gone!
Crucified, dead and buried was He.
Seems I’d put my faith in what I could see.
Instead of trusting God to bring me all the way through
To fulfill my prophetic destiny according to His eternal view.
Oh ~ to know His resurrection power from within;
To look past pain or fear, when things look dim.
The assurance of knowing that His Word is hidden in my heart;
For He is faithful to keep His promises and do His part.
So Lord, according to Your will and Your Word,
As I responded to the angel I heard;
Let these dear ones come to You on bended knee
And say, “As it was with Mary, Lord, let Your will be done in me.
Elaine Skibicki
1999
About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Elaine Skibicki and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

