The Resurrection of the Dead Part 2 by Pastor Don Moore More supporting verses

Wednesday, April 16, 2008

The Resurrection of the Dead Part 2 By Pastor Don

Part 1 is here

Pastor Don continued by bringing us to

1 Thessalonians 4:13-14 But I do not want you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning those who have fallen asleep, lest you sorrow as others who have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so God will bring with Him those who sleep in Jesus.

This again is not soul sleep in the grave. Remember that to be absent from the body (dead) is to be present with the Lord – our spirits are with the Lord, even though our bodies have died and are buried. Before Jesus died and rose from the dead, the people who died were in Abraham’s bosom – either in paradise or in hades, depending on how they were in life. You can see that in the Parable of the rich man and Lazarus. But when the thief on the cross acknowledged Jesus, he was told, “This day you will be with me in Paradise.”

1 Thessalonians 4:15 For this we say to you by the word of the Lord, that we who are alive and remain until the coming of the Lord will by no means precede those who are asleep.

They will receive their resurrection bodies before those in Heaven.

1 Thessalonians 4:16 For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first.

The dead in Christ will rise first when the Lord comes. This trump is at the Feast of Trumpets, Rosh Hoshanna in the Fall. Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And thus we shall always be with the Lord.

Notice there is no mention of Christ setting His feet on the ground. He won’t do that until the middle or the end of the Tribulation – we meet with the Lord in the air, meet with Him in the clouds. The dead in Christ will be given resurrection bodies, and be with the Lord. Then the believers left on earth alive will be given resurrection bodies, caught up with Him too.

The next verse is IMPORTANT  Therefore comfort one another with these words.

We do not have to be afraid of death, there is no pain in death.

1 Thessalonians 5:1 But concerning the times and the seasons, brethren, you have no need that I should write to you.

There was no need to write about this  because:

2 For you yourselves know perfectly that the day of the Lord so comes as a thief in the night.

The other apostles and Jesus told them about this day, and we know about this day through His Word. The day of the Lord is after the tribulation and we will rule and reign 1000 years. Remember that for God, a day is as 1000 years and 1000 years is as a day. Keep living right and you will have eternity with Him.

So Pastor Don pointed out that time is fleeting here on earth for us. Forgive Uncle Joe, live right, accept Christ, don’t wait. It will not be long before the books are opened and we stand before the throne of God and have every sin accounted for. We need Jesus.

Someone asked about those who don’t know the truth of the Gospel,

Pastor Don pointed out that Romans 1:20 For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, so that they are without excuse,

God, through His creation and through other ways will make Himself known to all, and it will be their choice to believe Him or not. God is not unjust.

Another question came in and Pastor Don gave an example. He mentioned an alcoholic who asks God to forgive him for drunkenness. If we are willing to fight our sins and not get prideful God will not condemn you, your sins will have their natural repercussions. All sin has a downside. If we analyze our sins we will agree with God that it is not the best for us. All it takes to get you into Heaven is to be honest about it with God.

When Governor Spitzer got caught in his sexual sins, he really did not consider the downside of his sin for his wife, his daughters, society and his self respect. Had he stopped and looked at his actions and asked himself what was he doing, he would realize that what he was doing was not positive. He could have said, “Man, I love doing it, but it was not good.” That may be as far as he can get with his sin, but to be honest with God and realize that we are at fault is the first step to change.

Pastor Don also pointed out that God’s way prevents all sorts of problems. The best way to beat AIDS is to have monogamous marriages. To restrain from having sex until after marriage and then stay in the one marriage.

Romans 7:5 For when we were in the flesh, the sinful passions which were aroused by the law were at work in our members to bear fruit to death.

Pastor Don told us the truth about sin is at first it feels good. People would not participate in it if it didn’t feel good. But sin always ends in a disaster.

Romans 7:4 Therefore, my brethren, you also have become dead to the law through the body of Christ, that you may be married to another—to Him who was raised from the dead, that we should bear fruit to God.

We are married to Jesus and that is so that we can bear fruit to God.

Before we knew Christ, the fruit of our sin was death, but as part of the Body of Christ we bear a fruit that brings life.

When God brought about the institution of marriage, he meant man to woman, and there were many benefits to that relationship – economical, sexual, health wise, and those who are married live longer. Any other kind of relationship opens up many problems, and while it may feel good initially, it can lead to death.

Romans 7:6 But now we have been delivered from the law, having died to what we were held by, so that we should serve in the newness of the Spirit and not in the oldness of the letter.

We are delivered from the law through Jesus Christ. When we deal with others we need to deal with them with forgiveness, grace, love, and kindness, the same that Jesus gives us. We obey the law now not because of fear of punishment, but because of love of God. God will love us as we grow to be more and more like His best desires for us. He loved us while we were sinners, and we are better now than we were then, so He loves us even if we mess up.

There is nothing we can do to earn our forgiveness from God, it is a gift freely given. We can’t say enough Hail Mary’s or if a person is dead, we can’t pray them into Heaven. The decision we make, we make here. Our redeemer knows our name, address, condition, and state of being. Some want to make people say a sinner’s prayer, or an act of contrition, or a multitude of formula prayers, but that doesn’t make things right. Repetition of prayers does not help. What helps is asking God for forgiveness and repenting, changing with the help of the Holy Spirit. We don’t have to jump through hoops to do this.

Matthew 6:7 And when you pray, do not use vain repetitions as the heathen do. For they think that they will be heard for their many words.

Romans 7:9 I was alive once without the law, but when the commandment came, sin revived and I died.

Romans 7:14 For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am carnal, sold under sin.

The 10 commandments are spiritual, we are sinners. We can be tempted, but when God writes the law into our hearts, then we are not carnal, but spiritual.

Romans 7:15 For what I am doing, I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice; but what I hate, that I do.

Our soul (mind, will, emotions) is sin governed, and Paul explains that in the flesh he does what he does not want to do, and practices what he practices. He does what he hates to do in the physical.

Romans 7:16-17 If, then, I do what I will not to do, I agree with the law that it is good.  But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.

The law is good, because it lets us know when we are not in line with God’s Word. But it is not I who sin, but sin that dwells in me. Our spirits were renewed when we got saved. Our spirit does not sin, but our flesh lags behind our spirit and needs to be trained by our spirit to act in line with God’s Word.

Romans 7:18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find.

In our flesh there is no good thing. If you even think you wish someone was dead, then murder dwells in you. Carnal thoughts inside of you are also part of your sinful nature, there are secret sins. In our own strength we cannot find out how to do good. Death is death. There is physical death and spiritual death. We cannot keep defending an abomination and trying to convince ourselves it is gone or OK. We can’t have vestiges in us that say things are OK, for that leads to spiritual death. You can’t bed every prostitute and justify it to yourself that it is ok because she was a harlot.

Romans 7:19-20 For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice. Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.

Sin dwells within us.

Romans 7:21 I find then a law, that evil is present with me, the one who wills to do good.

We see ourselves as a battle field, with evil wanting to dominate, and we want to do good.

Romans 7:22 For I delight in the law of God according to the inward man.

Many people in church and in the lobby praise God and try to hide their sin man, pretending to be more spiritual than they are. The trouble is carnal lies are exposed by the light of the Word. We delight in the law because it is the law that shows us the lies.

Romans 7: 23 But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.

The flesh mind wars against our spirit mind. An example is wanting to lie in bed and not go to church. You convince yourself you know what Pastor Don is teaching and don’t need to attend church for you already know the stuff. But we then let our flesh fool us.

Pastor Don says, if someone else attacks us we defend ourselves, if we attack ourselves we’re ok. We tend to compare ourselves with others. We may think they are better than us, or that we are better than them. And if we are in error, we seek someone else worse than us to compare ourselves to, and tell ourselves, I’m better than them, even though I may be a piece of crap.

In our minds if we attack other people , attack ourselves, lying to ourselves with half truths, we are in sin, in captivity. There is no way in our own power to win this battle with sin. We can criticize the law, but we would still be guilty in the law.

Martin Luther was so self-condeming he would crawl up the steps on broken glass, so he could punish himself for his sins. Finally he took the time to read the Bible and read the books of Galatians and Ephesians, and realized he was saved by faith. That because of God’s grace no man could boast.

If we tell ourselves we are so bad we can’t be forgiven or saved we are under a sin of pride. We are trying to imply we are so humble. It is like saying Christ did not do enough when He went to the cross. Christ sacrificed himself once for all of our sins. It is like telling him to get off the cross because we need the wood.

Pastor Don told us when God raises the dead, the 1 Corinthians 15 experience, many of us will have the shock of our lives, for there will be a whole lot of people in Heaven we thought would never get there. But they have confessed their sin, and have received salvation.

The Bible study ran way over time, so we had to close here.

I hope this blesses you. Have a wonderful night.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2008 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

