Peace – by Pastor Don Moore

Wednesday, March 19, 2008

Peace by Pastor Don

Pastor Don began his sermon by telling us it is time to make a decision. He told us Joshua said, Joshua 24:15 And if it seems evil to you to serve the LORD, choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you dwell. But as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”

We have to choose if we want to serve baal, an idol, or God.

For us, the only choice is God because only he can provide peace. He separates us from the rest of the world, and has told us, John 14:27 Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

We can have that peace. Yet many of us have a spirit of fear that resides in us. We are afraid to travel, to go out, to eat, to drink, of friends, in the Body of Christ. Yet He has promised us peace, and we let the devil rob us of that peace.

Hebrews 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.

And we rest in His presence.

We are not perfect. After King David, a man after God’s own heart, sinned, he laid down by a stream of water and asked God to not take His Holy Spirit away.

Our battles are about to intensify. We have to make choices of what do we believe.

With the coming of Easter, we have to make a choice about if the Bible is the Word of God or not. With the Word of God we are armed and dangerous.

Pastor Don asked the question (which he said he will go into in greater detail later), about why does Easter not fall on Passover. Jesus, our Lord and Savior, celebrated Passover. He did not celebrate a holiday with pagan roots, which Easter is. Pastor Don challenged us to read his book Christianese pages 139-146 about the pagan roots of Easter. 

In times like these we need the Bible. The Church as it is on the planet now is not the Church He is looking for. What is coming out of many of the pulpits is amazing. We need, as the song says, to “Be very sure our anchor holds.” And when we have Jesus in our lives, our anchor will hold and we will have peace.

Leviticus 26:6 I will give peace in the land, and you shall lie down, and none will make you afraid; I will rid the land of evil beasts, and the sword will not go through your land.

We can have the peace God provides as a gift by asking.

We may not be able to change our situation. We may not be able to stop our husband from picking a fight, but we can have peace in the midst of the situation.

Numbers 6:23-26 Speak to Aaron and his sons, saying, ‘This is the way you shall bless the children of Israel. Say to them: “The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make His face shine upon you, and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up His countenance upon you, and give you peace.”

That is the Aaronic blessing.

Pastor Don told us, when each child is born, the child should be brought to his father and have the father speak words of blessings over the child. Subsequent generations should pass the blessing onto the next generation.

Pastor Don says that when his sons are home he is often telling them, “I love you man.” We have to tell our children we love them, that we are proud of them, even for simple things. As we speak blessings over them, we are helping them become what they can be in the Lord.

We really have to watch what we say.  We need to speak peace into our relationships. Even about those who are our ex’s, we need to speak blessings. They aren’t around but we can still keep the unhappy influence in our house if we are speaking curses about them.

We have to fix our old relationships so we can function better in our current ones.  God looks for restoration, reconciliation and peace.

We are supposed to live in peace, walk, talk, and feel peace and love.

We then spent time in Psalm 4, which I am going to save until tomorrow to share.

Praying you have a peace that passes all understanding, and walk in His peace no matter your circumstances.

Tomorrow we take my daughter and a few of her friends to a local large mall and let them shop and watch a movie – it is her desire for her birthday.

Have a blessed day,

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2008 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peace – by Pastor Don Moore

  1. Pingback: Peace, part 2 (Psalm 4) by Pastor Don Moore | Heather's Blog

Leave a Reply

