Moving beyond elementary principles and bridling our tongue part 2 by Pastor Don Moore

Sunday, November 11, 2007

Moving beyond Elementary Principles and Bridling our tongue part 2 by Pastor Don

Woke up this morning to an inch of snow, fortunately it is beginning to melt. But it did look pretty, with snow in the branches of trees, and yet some color with the fall leaves. God sure is an incredible artist.

Pastor Don continued (see previous notes)

1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

Pastor Don read the above and inserted “a few unrighteousness”, “some”, “those he wanted” -NO God will cleanse us from ALL.  This is ALL unrighteousness in mind, thought, and deed. It is the implanted Word of God that He does this.

James 1:21-25 Therefore lay aside all filthiness and overflow of wickedness, and receive with meekness the implanted word, which is able to save your souls. But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man observing his natural face in a mirror; for he observes himself, goes away, and immediately forgets what kind of man he was. But he who looks into the perfect law of liberty and continues in it, and is not a forgetful hearer but a doer of the work, this one will be blessed in what he does.

God’s Word sets us free. We need to continue in the cycle of repentance and forgiveness. As we grow in Christ we will have less to repent about, but the closer we come to Christ, the more we will see what needs to be removed so we are clear vessels for Him. We need to remember His Words and do His Words, and He will help us to grow in liberty.

James 1:26 If anyone among you thinks he is religious and does not bridle his tongue but deceives his own heart, this one’s religion is useless.

Do we hold to the traditions of men and the things we think will lead to salvation? What if you have a mindset that is perfect, never a sinful thought, action, or word, but you fail and stand in a cycle of fear and degradation and don’t know how to get out of it? What if you fall? Do people shun you? This is not the Gospel. No matter how many times you fall down, He picks you up. It is not that you never fail, but that you always get up that is your perfection.

It is a false teaching that we lose our salvation when we sin. Not so – if we repent He is faithful and just to forgive us. We can get caught up in a cycle of evil works, we can speak into existence our demise, failure, and get caught in a negative cycle. God may choose to save our soul, but we may end up being taken out of this life early. Some seem to have pledged to destroy themselves.

If we go to God for miraculous healing but have no intention to change our actions we may not be relieved of our situation. For example if a person is addicted to smoking, they may still be smoking and claim that “I am free of this smoking addiction.” They are speaking into existence their freedom from smoking. Pastor Don pantomimed a person smoking and then saying, “I am free of this smoking addiction.” The more we hear what we say, the more it will come into existence. If the person with the smoking addiction says, “I can’t get free from smoking, I can’t seem to put down those cigarettes,” they will go to their grave confessing their bondage to smoking. Far better to go to their grave confessing God’s truth about victory and deliverance. For our words become action.

If you keep saying, I still believe for my deliverance, the deliverance will come. Faith comes by hearing and hearing by the Word of God.

Psalm 37:23 The steps of a good man are ordered by God.

Sometimes your good purpose can destroy you. Katherine Kuhlman was told by God she had to slow down her schedule of meetings or she would face an early demise. She chose rather to keep up her schedule, burning brightly for God, and ended up dying earlier than necessary. She did not pace herself. Don’t overload yourself with good works.

Hebrews 6:1 Therefore, leaving the discussion of the elementary principles of Christ, let us go on to perfection, not laying again the foundation of repentance from dead works and of faith toward God.

There is a doctrine of faith which is the foundation of what we believe and testify about. And faith toward God is to overshadow all doctrines. In the final analysis of the reality of the sovereignty of Jesus, the ultimate end of everything we say or do is by faith – BUT GOD is our everything, is our life. We didn’t understand about sickness, healing, etc. before Jesus gave us the key of knowledge Mark 11:22 For assuredly, I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be removed and be cast into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that those things he says will be done, he will have whatever he says.”

The reality of the situation is people who have no faith in God because they are mad at God, do not bear fruit, for they have compartmentalized their lack of faith under categories such as I’m disappointed in God, I’m angry at God, God did not give me my way. Faith in God must supersede all your understanding or it isn’t faith. For if we perceive it with our senses, or have a tangible response, we are not believing by faith. We are not happy that we don’t understand. But we want a God bigger than our limited understanding.

We must have faith in God and repentance for dead works. It takes no faith to believe where I am, but we need to believe where we could be.  Faith in God has to be foundational.

People get upset with God when they don’t get their way. This says what they have is conditional faith.  They are making God into their sugar daddy. Things will not always work out the way we think they should work out. Things happen on planet earth that we won’t get the answer for until we get to glory. God doesn’t tell us everything. He doesn’t send us a telegram informing us of all that He is doing. God is sovereign, and He is wanting us to trust Him. When God set the planet in motion He knew stuff would happen. When gravitational pull exerted itself, it meant people would fall and get hurt. Gravitational force is for good and  bad.

We need to hold fast to our confession of faith. Keep making it no matter what comes up. Write your confession of faith and put it where you can see it. Say it frequently, and trust God, have faith in God. Then things will change. Once you keep repeating God’s truth to yourself, one day like a bolt of lightning you will realize you believe it, and things will change. Like Abraham, who was told that he would have a son, laughed and said, “I believe it.” Believe it, Believe God.

Hoping your day is blessed.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2007 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

