Operating in the God Kind of Faith, Part 2 by Tony Williams

Sunday, September 09, 2007

Operating in the God Kind of Faith, Part 2 by Tony Williams

My oldest is at college. My other son saw this away message on his IM, it cracked me up:

Pondering Plato’s The Trial and Death of Socrates. I hope it has a happy ending.

**************

We continued talking about faith – you can see part one here.

God looks at our hearts.

1 Peter 3:4 Rather let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God.

When we are born again, God gives every man a measure of faith. Tony reminded us that exercising our faith is like exercising our muscles. We have to develop our faith by using it and believing God.

We also need to remind ourselves of our past successes with faith. When David faced Goliath he reminded himself he had killed a bear and a lion – so how much harder would it be to kill a giant? He knew God had protected him in the past, so God would protect him now. David spoke words of faith, and he had plenty to say about God to Goliath who was blaspheming God.

One of our members had us chuckling, when he said, “David sure knew how to get ahead.”

Caleb and Joshua were two of the 12 spies sent into the Promised Land to spy out the land. They were the only two who came back with a good report. They believed God’s promise that they would take possession of the land, and did not speak words that did not agree with God’s promise. They spoke the confession God told them, that they would be victors. The others focused on the appearances, how they were like grasshoppers compared to the giants in the land. Caleb and Joshua trusted God. Caleb and Joshua were also the only original Israelites that made it into the Promised Land, guiding the children of the older Israelites.

Confession is saying the same thing God has said. To speak out God’s truths.

So often we speak God’s word and then add…”but…..” We have to get our butts out of the way. God is within us. He is the Almighty, Creator of the whole earth, the High and Mighty. We have to realize who we are in God. If God is for us, who can be against us? Who will mess with you when you have God on your side? We have the Creator of the Earth with us.

You can think when something goes wrong, “Who are you messing with? Don’t you know who I am?” We are the sons and daughters of the Most High God.

We are not weak worms made of dust. God doesn’t have to cover us to hide us from the big bad enemy. He already defeated the enemy.

1 John 4:4 You are of God, little children,and have overcome them, because He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world. 

Tony then said, God is not a life insurance policy that only pays in the end.

God’s word doesn’t work by itself, you have to put it to use. When you do, God backs you up. As 1 Peter 3:4 says, we have to hide His Word in our heart.

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths.

Believe God with your innermost being. Believe in your heart.

2 Corinthians 10:3-6 For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh. For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ, and being ready to punish all disobedience when your obedience is fulfilled.

To illustrate how we cannot hold two though simultaneously, Tony had us close our eyes and count to 20. Then, when we reached 5, he said, now say your name out loud. When we did, the counting to 20 in our head stopped, for we couldn’t speak our names and continue counting simultaneously. For that reason, the best way to keep our thoughts that are not of God captive is to speak the Word of God outlouf. For if our minds and mouth are speaking and thinking God’s Word, thoughts that are not of God cannot occur.

Tony also told us we can speak to our soul (mind, will, emotions). For an example he gave Psalm 103 of David. You can read the whole Psalm but here are the first two verses Psalm 103:1-2 Bless the LORD, O my soul; and all that is within me, bless His holy name. Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits.

(Heather’s comment: When you read this out loud, all 22 verses, you come away uplifted for you have blessed the Lord. Sometimes when I am down and out, I read the Psalms. I find such encouragement, and it is comforting to know David would start out upset, and then when he finished He was praising God.)

We cannot win the battle with our thoughts by trying to force them out of our mind, or telling ourselves we will forget. We need to replace the thoughts with the life-giving Word of God. To put into our minds the thoughts that God has – which we can get from His Word. Remember, our Spirit will outlast our mind, will and emotions, and the physical. We need to listen to the Spirit Man.

Remind ourselves that we are what the Word of God says we are. Philemon 4-6 I thank my God, making mention of you always in my prayers, hearing of your love and faith which you have toward the Lord Jesus and toward all the saints, that the sharing of your faith may become effective by the acknowledgment of every good thing which is in you in Christ Jesus.

Acknowledge who we are in Christ Jesus.

Proverbs 3:8 It (The Word of God) will be health to your flesh, and strength to your bones.

When we believe God in our hearts, what we say will manifest in the flesh. A believer is one who believes. You can school yourself into faith if you keep saying what God says. If you speak the truth, God’s Word, you will grow to believe it.  Romans 10:17 So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.

Tony gave a silly example that makes a good point. He said if he calls someone, telling them he needs to be picked up at the train station at 12:00, and the person he calls shows up at the airport, they will miss the appointment with Tony. It is that way with faith. God tells us that faith comes by hearing – not reading, not thinking, but by hearing the Word of God. And when we speak the Word of God out loud, we believe ourselves, even more than we believe another. So we need to speak God’s Word to ourselves..

Psalm 145:5 KJV I will speak of the glorious honour of thy majesty, and of thy wondrous works.

Psalm 145:5 NKJ I will meditate on the glorious splendor of Your majesty, and on Your wondrous works.

The word “works” in Hebrew can be translated as “things” or “word” or “Work”.

God created the world through speaking. God could have thought the world into existence, but He spoke the world into existence – He spoke THINGS.

Our words make the things we see. The words we spoke yesterday and in our past are the things we experience today. (Heather’s note, unless like Joy says, you pray for a crop failure.) All we experience today are the things we have said and believed.

Tony said something that made me pause for I am a worrier. He said all worrying is is meditating on the lies of the devil.

With our circumstances, we stand in a circle of the words we have spoken and believed.

David said Psalm 27:13 I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.

1 Peter 2:4-5 Coming to Him as to a living stone, rejected indeed by men, but chosen by God and precious, you also, as living stones, are being built upon a spiritual house, a holy priesthood, to offer up spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.

When we let fear rule, we invite what we fear to come to pass. Job said, Job 3:25 For the thing I greatly feared has come upon me, and what I dreaded has happened to me.

Sometimes when we face tough situations with the faith of God people wonder about us, thinking we are cold-hearted or not in our right minds for not worrying or being upset. Will worrying bring back someone? or fill an empty pantry? We are a deciding witness.

Do we believe the lies of the devil or the truth of God? What we say will be what occurs. If we speak God’s Word, His truth will prevail. If we speak the lies of satan, his truth will prevail.

Someone asked about what it meant that we had to work out our salvation. We do come into God’s Kingdom when we say the salvation prayer and believe in our hearts, but that does not mean our fleshly bodies are totally changed. It is a process of working out our salvation, of choosing to believe God. Of choosing to act on God’s Word. While we are saved, there is still a lot of flesh that needs changing. Some are changed instantaneously, but not all are changed immediately. The Holy Spirit begins the process of helping a person to come more in line with God’s Word.

Tony said, “God is always speaking, but are we listening?” We fine tune ourselves to hear when God is speaking.

Our future is on the inside of us. God has wonderful plans for us, for good, not for evil. But we need to obey God and come in line with His perfect will for our lives.

Don’t put this off another day, start putting your faith into practice NOW. Start your miracle NOW.

Have a blessed day,
Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Tony Williams and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

