Israel photos and commentary – David’s Tomb and the Cardo

Monday, August 27, 2007

David’s Tomb & the Cardo

After the Upper Room, we saw the tomb of King David. 

Here are a few pictures of the David’s Tomb area.

z106380301

 

Women and men were separated in all the Synagogues we saw, and even at the Wailing Wall they worshipped by gender.

z106380407

 

We asked what this throne was – it is Elijah’s throne, waiting for His return to earth.

z106380537

 

I loved this Star of David because of the interwoven triangles. It was like an embrace. Nurite, our tour guide told us that she saw the Star of David as God reaching down to his people – and the people reaching up to God forming the two triangles that intersect. Later on God showed me it is God reaching down to His people – sending His Son – and His Son reaching His arms up on the cross to die for our sins – where are we? – in the center of the Star of David, surrounded by the love of God and Jesus.

Continuing on in our trip to Israel (from May), we visited some places where we could not bring a camera. One of them was the museum that housed the Dead Sea Scrolls. Remember we saw the cave where they were found. I cannot tell you how awesome it was to see the actual texts. To realize that the words on those scrolls are the exact same words that we read today. The Hebrew texts of today do not vary from the text of old. The very words we read are the words given to the authors of the Bible by God.

To get to this museum we entered the Jewish Quarter of the Old City.

It is here that I realized how hard won Jerusalem was.

z106739522

This is the Mount Zion Gate. See those pock marks in the walls, these are bullet holes from the time when Israel fought to regain Jerusalem.

z106740079

I cannot imagine how many lives were lost. It was truly a bloody battle for the streets are narrow, with few places to hide. Jerusalem was gained back by blood.

z106739608

Here we are entering the Cardo, which is the main heart of Jerusalem.

z106739699

z106739564

Laban looking at a Mezuzah.

z106739663-1

This area of Jerusalem is divided into four quarters, Armenian (Christian, Orthodox), Jewish, Christian, and Muslim. Pastor Ted was sitting on a bench.

In 1948 to gain supplies, a cable was strung to bring supplies into those who were trapped in the battle. At night bucket after bucket of supplies were brought in.

The following information is from notes hastily scribbled. In 1630 Sulimen built a wall around the city, in the area of the Four Sephardi Synagogues. This was not part of the Muslim city – and although the Muslims want Jerusalem, they do not pray toward Jerusalem, they do not make pilgrimages to Jerusalem – they want Jerusalem because it is wanted by other religions.

The crusaders came and fortified the walls. The Cardo is built over some of these old walls.

z106742041-1

Here are some of the original walls.

z106740436

You can glance down and see some of the old walls under the city.

z106740347

And an old cistern.

It was Sabbath when we walked through the Cardo, so we could not go to the museum that day, but on clear display was something that took our breath away.

z106740499

Israel has been rebuilding the tools for use in the Temple that will be rebuilt. They are using scholars to reconstruct from Biblical research all the tools for the Temple. Here is the lampstand for the Holy of Holies – this is made of gold according to the pattern God gave to Moses. Later we will see part of the lampstand up close. This picture makes the lampstand look small, but it is as tall if not taller than a person.

Hoping this walk through the Cardo blesses you!

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2007 Pastor Don Moore Teachings, Israel photos and commentary, personal, photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

