Israel photos, the upper room

Saturday, August 25, 2007

The Upper Room

Some aspects of our trip to Israel impacted me greatly and this is one of them – the Upper Room. Obviously when Jesus and His disciples met in the Upper Room it was not a Gothic church building, but the top of a house. As with all sites in Israel, they can only guess about where the the Upper Room was really located. But so much worship has gone on in this particular site there is a holiness about the Upper Room.

Again, God showed His hand for our group. We did not have another group in the room with us and we had plenty of time to worship. Pastor Don brought communion for us to share and God touched each of us profoundly.

We first hear about upper room when Jesus held his final Passover Meal with His disciples. He had his disciples prepare the room and the meal. We can read about this in Mark 14:12-26, Matthew 26:17-29 and Luke 22:7-23; and 1 Corinthians 11:23-26 talks about the Lord’s Supper. It is here Jesus will tell the disciples that one of the 12 will betray Him. Where Jesus showed His disciples true servanthood by washing the disciples’ feet, including Judas’ who would betray Him. He drinks the three cups of wine but leaves the last cup to share with His disciples when we drink it in the kingdom of God. Jesus and his disciples sang a hymn and then went out to the Mt. of Olives to pray, and all the while Jesus knew what would occur shortly – his betrayal, trial, beatings, death on the cross, and then the joyous resurrection.

z106375021

 

Here we are walking towards the Upper Room.

z106375104

 

Around us were doorways for various synagogues, for teaching of children and adults. We could hear the sounds of Hebrew prayers and teaching going on. I imagine that, when the disciples found their way to the Upper Room, many of the same sounds of worship were going on because the people would have been preparing themselves for Passover.

z106375443

We gathered and looked around the room that the church built over the spot, and there was a holiness about the site that was refreshing. Pastor Don spent a few moments talking about the Upper Room and what occurred there. I want to share one passage with you that touches my heart whenever I read it.

Luke 22:7-13 is the disciples preparing the room according to Jesus’ instructions. Meeting a person and following them to the right spot.

Luke 22:14-15When the hour had come, He sat down, and the twelve apostles with Him. Then He said to them, “With fervent desire I have desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer.

(Heather’s note: Can you imagine???? He knows He is going to suffer and die, going to the cross for our sins, and yet He fervently wanted to eat the Passover (symbol of what He is about to do) with his disciples who are all too human. I cry when I think of the love He showed them during this meal. I imagine Jesus was papa in the meal and John would have asked the questions.)

Luke 22:16 “For I say to you, I will no loner eat of it until it is fulfilled in the kingdom of God.”

(Heather’s note: Oh my, the wedding feast of the Lamb, we will share a meal with Jesus, only this time it will be celebration.)

Luke 22:17-18 Then He took the cup, and gave thanks, and said, “Take this and divide it among yourselves; for I say to you, I will not drink of the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes.” And He took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is My body which is given for you; do this in remembrance of Me.”

(Heather’s comment: We need to remember the sacrifice Jesus did for us, by His stripes we are healed. Communion, when taken completely – the bread and wine (juice) – body and blood offers healing-mind, body and Spirit. He gave fully of Himself for us, and we remember all He did through the act of communion. Pastor Don brought the elements of communion for the Upper Room. We did not have cups so used our hand to drink from. Judas did not share communion with Jesus and the disciples for Jesus sent him to do what he had to do-betray Jesus.)

z106379872

Pastor Don pouring out the juice into our hands. We also had unleavened bread to share.

z106379235

z106379105

(Heather’s comment: What always touches my heart is, while Jesus knew what was going to be happening, his disciples – all too humanly – started debating about who among them should be the greatest. We still do that with our legalistic beliefs, our traditions, debating who has the one and only true doctrine, etc. Jesus tells his disciples, Luke 22:25 And He said to them, “The kings of the Gentiles exercise lordship over them, and those who exercise authority over them are called ‘benefactors.’ But not so among you; on the contrary, he who is greatest among you, let him be as the younger, and he who governs as he who serves. For who is greater, he who sits at the table, or he who serves? Is it not he who sits at the table? Yet I am among you as the One who serves. But you are those who have continued with Me in My trials. And I bestow upon you a kingdom, just as My Father bestowed one upon Me, that you may eat and drink at My table in My kingdom, and sit on thrones judging the twelve tribes of Israel.”

I pray to be one who serves and in these last days, to stay true to God, even in the face of what seems to be challenges for believers.)

Then Pastor Don told us to spend some time praying and thinking about Jesus and His sacrifice. Julie went around snapping worship pictures. I thought I would share the few that she shared with me.

z106379406

z106379360

 

z106379313

z106379274

This time was so blessed for us – we left the room quietly and I know that God touched the hearts of us all.

Hoping your day is blessed.

Heather

 

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2007 Pastor Don Moore Teachings, Israel photos and commentary, personal, photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

