Capernaum – Israel trip – photos and commentary

Wednesday, August 01, 2007

Capernaum from our May trip

Jesus preached in many towns around Jerusalem. He would travel from place to place and preach in the synagogues and doing good. From studying a list of His travels we find Jesus ended up spending a lot of time in Capernaum.

z99915504

z102184893

z99917747

Here is an olive oil press found in the area of Capernaum.

z99918036

Behind our tour guide Nurit (who is standing) is the side wall of the Synagogue at Capernaum.

Pastor Don read a list of the various places Jesus traveled, in ROUGHLY the order He traveled to them. The names were given so quickly I did not get them all down in my notebook, so I took this list from the back of my Bible. You will get the general idea that Capernaum was a frequent stopping place of Jesus during his travels. Capernaum was where Peter’s House was located.

Travels of Jesus in His early life
Bethlehem
Jerusalem – presented in the temple
Egypt – escape
Nazareth
Jerusalem – teach in Temple
Nazareth – time as carpenter

The years of ministry
Nazareth
Jordan- baptized
Wilderness of Judea – temptation
Bethabara – five disciples chosen
Cana – Water changed to wine
Capernaum
Jerusalem – Passover
Judean countryside
Jacob’s well at Sychar – woman of Samaria
Cana – Healing of official’s son
Nazareth – Mt. Precipice
Capernaum
Galilee tour
Capernaum
Jerusalem – Passover
Pool of Bethesda
Capernaum
Mount of Beatitudes
Capernaum
Through Galilee
Capernaum
Gerasenes – Demoniac healed
Capernaum -Jairus’s daughter raised
Nazareth
Galilean Sea
Capernaum
Desert near Bethsaida
Gennesaret -walks on sea
Capernaum
Phoenicia – Syrian Phoenician woman
Decapolis
Dalmanutha
Bethsaida
Caesarea Philippi
Mt. of Transfiguration
Capernaum
Samaria
Jerusalem
Bethany
Bethabara
Bethany
Ephriam
Perea
Jerusalem Passover
Garden of Gethsemane
Palace of high priest
Pilate
Herod
Pilate
Calvary

Pastor Don told us, no matter how busy we are in our ministry, we need to find a place where we can go to get rest and refreshment, even Jesus needed that. Capernaum was the place where Jesus could go to worship and be taken care of. He probably stayed at Peter’s house. 

We spent some time looking at the site of the synagogue at Capernaum. The remains of the synagogue we see is built over the synagogue that Jesus worshipped at, but the synagogue site is the same.

z99918172

 

 

z99918366

The pillars straight ahead from where we were walking were where the scrolls of Torah would have been kept.

 

z99918583

Nurit was explaining some aspects of the Synagogue to us.

z102186080

 

 

z102186288

Thought you might like a picture of me. Pastor Don in Green shirt, Pastor Ted in blue shirt, looking at parts of the synagogue.

z100050684

 

The scrolls were kept in the area where the person is sitting.

z100050823

 

 

z102186519

This shows you some of the excavations in Capernaum, and lets us see how close and small the houses were. One house stood out from the rest, with several additions and larger size. It is this house, thought to be Peter’s, that a Catholic church was built over. The rationale was this particular house had more and more additions added onto it than any others in the area, and that was because more and more people would gather for ministry.

Here are some pictures of what they believe to be the house of Peter.

z100051071

The Church had a glass floor that looked straight down on the footprint of the house of Peter.

z100051196

This is viewing the walls from alongside the church.

z100057324

You can see that there were additions to the house.

z100057449

The next stage of our journey brought us UP to Jerusalem. We never fully comprehended what was meant by that term until the bus ride there.   I got great respect for all the walking Jesus and the disciples did. The countryside was very rugged. 

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2007 Pastor Don Moore Teachings, Israel photos and commentary, personal, photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Capernaum – Israel trip – photos and commentary

  1. Capernaum is a very interesting site because it is one of the few examples of an early church that rather than being built in the traditional rectangular shape is an octagon, called a martyrium, commemorating an important event in Jesus’ life. http://israeltours.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/kathisma-church/
    Blessings from Jerusalem,
    Shmuel

Leave a Reply

