Pray for missionaries in India

Wednesday, July 04, 2007
Our church supports missionaries in other countries, one of which is India – not the India where many missionaries go, but deep into the interior of India where there are not many missionaries. The Pastor we deal the most with is Pastor Abraham who has many churches in India. Pastor Abraham taught another pastor, Pastor Paulas, who has already started three Living Word Chapel churches in India. Before last Wednesday’s Bible study we prayed for Pastor Paulas. Because today is Independence Day, I think it is fitting to pray for religious freedom around the world. Let me share with you what we learned recently happened to Pastor Paulas’ church.

45-50 Shaq (sp?) youth attacked one of Pastor Paulas’ churches. The members had gathered for a prayer meeting. They were not evangelizing, it was just the members meeting to pray. In India evangelizing is against the law. The members were attacked during their prayers. Mr. T. XaXa was dragged out of the meeting and beaten, taken to the police station. The attackers were beating people with hockey sticks, and then dragged Mr. XaXa to the police station. We are praying for his release and healing for his body.

Pastor Abraham’s churches have also suffered similar problems. Last year 19 members were beaten, dragged out and of those 19, 9 were arrested. The people were taken out into the street, beaten and trees and logs were rolled over them. Many were hurt to the point where they couldnt’ work, the 9 were kept in jail for six months before they could be bailed out. We were able to send money to bail the members out, and ultimately the charges were declared false, but the people were beaten, and those who perpetrated the abuse to the church members went free – no charges were brought against them.

The police in India will not press charges against the attackers. In the previous situation the activists had lodged a complaint four days before the attack on the 19 members, so this was premeditated. Jobs are hard to come by for the ones who are Christians.

The activists in India do not tolerate religious freedom, and this is not reported by our media and the press. The government of India says that there is freedom to choose religion, but the government is not enforcing freedom of religion, and do not press charges for those who attack Christians. Justice is not served in these cases.

So pray for India, pray for all countries where religious freedom is not permitted. Pray for our country. 

Right now at church we have a prayer time chart up for a prayer movement for July 7, 2007 – 7/7/07 to pray, each of us are signing up for a fifteen minute slot. Perhaps on that day you can join your prayers with ours, praying freedom for our country, praying wisdom for our leaders, praying for a move of God in our World.

Hoping you have a blessed Independence Day. I will be typing up my notes from the Wednesday Bible study and posting it as soon as I can, but it may be much later today. I guarantee it is a study that will bless your socks off.

Have a wonderful day, I get to go to a birthday party for Pastor Don’s mom who is 90 years old/young today. She is a pleasure to visit and talk with, for her experiences are so varied. She was the daughter of a pastor, married a pastor and now has two sons who are pastors. God is always with her. At one point she directed a choir of many different churches that performed at Lincoln Center and Carnegie Hall, and many other places around the country. I love learning about her and her life.

Blessings to  you and yours,

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

