A good pastor is hard to find, when you find one stay put.

Wednesday, April 18, 2007

A good Pastor is hard to find. When you find one stay put!

I got such a blessing last night in an unexpected way when I went to New York.

During a Friday Bible study Pastor Don talked about an evangelist called W.V. Grant, from Dallas. He had, some time ago, gone to one of Pastor Grant’s revivals in Virginia. Right now W.V. Grant is doing a revival in Brooklyn, New York. Some of our church members have been going there to be blessed. I was able to ride with a few members of our church to Brooklyn last night.

I went there skeptical. Most of you know, with my background in the occult, I am very careful about people with gifts of the Spirit because I want to know which spirit these gifts come from. Satan can imitate what God does, and when people come to a meeting needy and hungry, satan is aware of their needs and if the pastor is not really right on, what is given may not be of God. This pastor, W.V. Grant was the real thing.

What was astounding to me was how many of the people present who sit under pastors in churches had so many huge presenting problems. So many needs and demonic influences which were oppressing them (not possessing, but oppressing – big difference there).

In our group, when Pastor Grant spoke over the people I was with, it was blessings, and the problems faced were presented as done, resolved. When he spoke over me he recognized that I had been through some intense stuff in my past, and he said, “It is finished and God will use it to bless others.” I knew it was finished, it had been finished awhile ago and God is using me to bless others. It was a good confirmation of what Pastor Don has already told me.

But what I came away with is a bigger blessing than that. I came away realizing that Pastor Don is an incredible shepherd of his sheep. That he, through God, has really helped us to resolve the issues we came to church with when we first walked through these doors. We are not walking around with gaping sores of spiritual hurt and pain. He has taught us the Word of God, how to apply the Word of God in our lives, and I am certain he prays for us, blesses us with his teachings, and has brought us to a point where healing occurs. When told these things, Pastor Don always reminds us that it is God, not him who had done this work in us.

It is sometimes interesting and nice to go and see another person’s ministry, but I fully realize that not all are as blessed as we are to have a pastor who is such a good shepherd. And I want to encourage you to find such a pastor, and when you do, stay put under the teachings of your pastor.

What keeps going through my mind is the last scene in the Wizard of Oz where Dorothy wants to go home and she is told to click her heels together and say, “There is no place like home, there is no place like home.” She realized that all that she needed was in her own back yard.

I used to not understand that movie when I was a kid, because with my past I would never have wanted to leave Oz, but truly right now I can say, “There is no place like my church home, there is no place like my church home.” I am so blessed and highly favored.

Praise God!

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in personal, testimony and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

