Photos of Resurrection Sunday

Sunday, April 08, 2007
Currently Reading
Chasing Francis: A Pilgrim’s Tale
By Ian Morgan Cron
see related

I hope you had a blessed Resurrection Sunday, mine was WONDERFUL, starting out with a Sunrise Service at Living Word Chapel, then Mass with my husband and kids, then back to Living Word Chapel where I spent the rest of the morning and most of the afternoon. Then a great dinner with my family.

z83354483                                     

Here is a picture of the Sunrise service. Pastor Don is facing away from the camera wearing the white hat. Joy, our Music Minister is wearing the white shawl, she was playing in the freezing cold – we even had snow flurries. I am second from the right, and my husband is taking the picture. Behind us is the reservoir, what a beautiful panorama. When I drive in our area, I praise God’s artistry with sky, clouds, mountains, trees, etc.

z83354520                             

Here is one more picture of the Seder, this was our table, From Left to right is Michelle, my son Christopher, my husband Jim, Sonny and Loretta (standing), me, my son Edward, my daughter Katherine and Michelle’s daughter, Eslin. 

Now I get a few minutes to touch base with you. I have a mega load of Bible studies to share, starting with Friday’s, each Bible study is better than the rest. I think I will save the Bible study typing for tomorrow.

Here is a quote from a book I am reading that is blessing me, called Chasing Francis by Ian Morgan Cron.

The book is about a pastor named Chase who has a crisis of faith. He is challenged by his uncle, a Franciscan priest, to go on a pilgrimage following the footsteps of St. Francis. But there is so much depth and searching in his journey that resonates with our spiritual walks.

P. 67 covers a conversation with a traveling confessor and Chase, the confessor says, “Everywhere I go, I meet people, old and young, from all over the world, and they tell me about their lives, their relationships, broken families, their addictions, shame, guilt failures. You’ll never be able to speak into their souls unless you speak the truth about your own wounds. You need to tell them what our Lord has come to mean to you in the midst of your disappointments and losses. All ministry begins at the ragged edges of your own pain,” he said.

It is so true, that when we relate to others, we have to speak in truth. People know when there is hidden stuff, they may not be able to tell exactly what it is, but they know. It is so surprising to me that God can use our brokenness to reach out to other people, that what we used to see as weakness can become strength with the transformation of God. I can attest that Pastor Don’s transparency about his life, and the love of God that he shows us speaks volumes and reaches into lives in a way that lets God’s glory shine forth. Without his honesty I would have run, not walked to the nearest exit of the church, but instead, I was drawn closer and closer to God. Today, with the time I got to spend in worship, I was able to thank God for all that He has done in my life. Truly a miracle. It really does make me tremble with gratitude and love for God.

Hoping you have a blessed night.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in personal, photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

