2 Kings 2 by Pastor Don Moore

Monday, March 05, 2007

Part two of Friday’s Bible study 

2 Kings 2:15-16  Now when the sons of the prophets who were from Jericho saw him, they said, “The spirit of Elijah rests on Elisha.” And they came to meet him, and bowed to the ground before him. Then they said to him, “Look now, there are fifty strong men with your servants. Please let them go and search for your master, lest perhaps the Spirit of the LORD has taken him up and cast him upon some mountain or into some valley.” And he said, “You shall not send anyone.”

This shows that Elisha saw in the Spirit what the fifty prophets did not see, the chariot of fire which carried Elijah up by a whirlwind into heaven. They were not with Elisha in the Spirit, so they depended on their senses. And now they are wanting to search for Elijah with their senses. They were also calling into question Elisha’s word. He tells them DO NOT SEND ANYONE, but then gives in to them. But with their senses they also saw the power of Elijah manifested through Elisha.

2 Kings 2:17 But when they urged him till he was ashamed, he said, “Send them!” Therefore they sent fifty men, and they searched for three days but did not find him.

Fifty men saw a tremendous miracle and did not believe. They had not gone with Elijah to the desert place. Jesus was also not believed.

2 Kings 2:18  And when they came back to him, for he had stayed in Jericho, he said to them, “Did I not say to you, ‘Do not go’?”

Elisha stayed in Jericho instead of getting angry at their unbelief. Jericho is the place of breath, quick understanding, the Holy Spirit. He did not leave his place of understanding. Pastor Don also mentioned that Jesus knew the hearts of men.

2 Kings 2:19 Then the men of the city said to Elisha, “Please notice the situation of this city is pleasant, as my lord sees; but the water is bad, and the ground barren.

(Heather’s note, the word “bad” in Strong’s is RAH which means naught, bad, disagreeable, malignant.)They were in a desert place, that the water was bad and the ground barren. Not only in the physical, but water is also a symbol of the Word of God, and they are saying that there is not a good Word of God in the area, and barren means lack of fruit (spiritual fruit too). They are saying that a change has to happen, that the spiritual word is barren. We can see this also in the church today, for many leaders are watering down the Word of God, giving out bad Word, not the complete Word, or compromising on the Word of God. The leadership in the churches have not come together, they are going their own ways.

2 Kings 2:20 And he said to them, “Bring me a new bowl, and put salt in it.” So they brought it to him.

New bowls denote offerings, and we know that Jesus said that you are the salt of the earth. Salt heals, it is abrasive at times, and it adds flavor to food. It preserves food as well.

2 Kings 2:21 Then he went out to the source of the water and cast in the salt there, and said, “Thus says the LORD: ‘I have healed this water, from it there shall be no more death or barrenness.'”

 He went to the SOURCE of the water. (Heather’s note, the source of the bad word of God). Pastor Don said that when God heals, He does it good.

2 Kings 2:22 So the water remains healed to this day, according to the word of Elisha which he spoke.

God gave this great miracle through Elisha because Elisha was willing to survive the loneliness, rejection, and difficulty of the Jordan. We want the miracles without being willing to walk the walk.

2 Kings 2:23 Then he went up from there to Bethel; and as he was going up the road, some youths came from the city and mocked him, and said to him, “Go up, you baldhead! Go up, you bald head!”

He went to Bethel, which we learned was the meeting place with God. A place of confirmation. A place we return to when God has done a work in us. Bethel is the house of God.

2 Kings 2:24 So he turned around and looked at them, and pronounced a curse on them in the name of the LORD. And two female bears came out of the woods and mauled forty-two of the youths.

It is here the Elisha learns that even his casual words have power, to be careful of idle words. But it also shows that one should not speak ill of a prophet, but to honor them. Touch not the Lord’s anointed. There is a bit of prophetic in this also, because in the last days two witnesses will come down to speak God’s truth to the people, and they will have power to destroy any who come against him for 3 1/2 years – if you divide 42 by 12 you get 3 1/2. (As lass pointed out, the 12 is 12 months in a year, and we see 42 and other representations of 3 1/2 years in Daniel and Revelation). They will speak curses to those who oppose them and do many of the same miracles Elisha and Elijah did.

Female bears protect cubs, so it speaks of the protection of Israel. After the 3 1/2 years, the remnant will make its way probably to Petra, which is a place that is easily defended.

2 Kings 2:25 Then he went from there to Mount Carmel, and from there be returned to Samaria.

Mount Carmel means fruitful field, garden land, Samaria means watch station. He went from the place that had the bitter water to a garden place.

Mount Carmel was a place of victory. It was where Elijah had God rain down fire to defeat the prophets of Baal. It was the place where the people saw the miracle – the prophets of Baal were challenged to set up an altar and have their god consume a sacrifice, but after a day of praying, song and dance, cutting themselves, etc, nothing happened. Elijah built a simple stone altar, put the sacrifice on it, wood around it, and soaked the wood with water. One request to God, and God consumed all, the sacrifice, the wood and the water. It caused the people to remember that God is God.

When we get through our difficulty, through our test and trials, God will come to us after the Jordan, Gilgal, etc, and will meet you, sometimes with signs and wonders.

People want to believe you don’t have to go through these challenges or to the places God has sent you to go, and will try and stop you, but go and meet with God. He will confirm His will through you.

Now Elisha was ready to go to the fruitful field, for the harvest was ready for picking.

Praying your day is blessed and that you have a fruitful week.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2007 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment