Discovering the Will of God by Pastor Wendell Williams

Saturday, December 09, 2006

Discovering the Will of God by Pastor Wendell Williams

We had a visiting pastor teach Friday Bible Study. Pastor Wendell Williams from Good Ground Family Church in Cohoes, New York (that is near Albany). The Bible study was so meaty I am going to split it into two entries. What a blessing this study was. I pray that it touches your hearts too. I really needed to hear this teaching.

Pastor Wendell talked about the purchasing of Good Ground Family Church, how God helped to supply the money for the building, including $5,000 more than the down payment needed. Our church also donated to help with the purchase. Pastor Wendell tithed the $5,000. He said that in his flesh, he thought about putting that extra money aside for emergencies, but then realized that God blesses those who tithe, so he tithed, and God has blessed this act of faith.

Pastor Wendell said, “Don’t take God’s portion thinking you are going to make your own solutions.” (Heather’s note) How many times have I tried to do things in my own thinking, power and ability only to find out that God has a much better solution and obedience would have saved me much grief.

We then looked at ways of discovering God’s will. Pastor Wendell mentioned that so often we hear about knowing God’s will, but that knowing comes from our walk with Him and discovering what He wants us to do.

The Greek word for “walk” is: peripateo which has as part of its meaning, To regulate one’s life, to conduct one’s self, to pass one’s life.

WALKING IS THE KEY. We walk in the life, we don’t just sit and wait for God. We have to get off our behinds and make it happen.

We turned to Proverbs 3 and started reading with the instruction to look for words that meant “Walking” and “Wisdom”. Pastor Wendell felt it was important to read Proverbs 3:1-26 in its entirety, so please do not skip over this, for we do get washed in the Word. Keep in mind the key words as we read a few of these Proverbs. This reading will lay down the foundation for the rest of the Bible study.

Proverbs 3:1-4 My son, do not forget my law, but let your heart keep my commandments; for length of days and long life and peace they will add to you. Let not mercy and truth forsake you; bind them around your neck. Write them on the tablet of your heart, and so find favor and high esteem in the sight of God and man.

We need to get instruction, to find out what God wants us to do. The instructions are in the book (The Bible).

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

Paths is a walking word.

Proverbs 3:7-10 Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and depart from evil. It will be health to your flesh, and strength to your bones. Honor the LORD with your possessions, and with the firstfruits of all your increase; so your barns will be filled with plenty, and your vats will overflow with new wine.

Pastor Wendell pointed out that when we read God’s Word it bathes our spirit, and we get caught by the Spirit. We can read one word and it will wash over us and take hold.

In verses Proverbs 3:11-15 the word she refers to wisdom, My son, do not despise the chastening of the LORD, nor detest his correction; for whom the LORD loves He corrects, just as a father the son in whom he delights. Happy is the man who finds wisdom, and the man who gains understanding; for her proceeds are better than the profits of silver and her gain than fine gold. She is more precious than rubies, and all the things you may desire cannot compare with her.

Proverbs 3:16-17 Length of days is in her right hand, in her left hand riches and honor. Her ways are ways of righteousness, and all her paths are peace.

Paths is a walking word.

Proverbs 3:18-21 She is a tree of life to those who take hold of her, and happy are all who retain her. The LORD by wisdom founded the earth; by understanding He established the heavens; by His knowledge the depths were broken up, and clouds drop down the dew. My son, let them not depart from your eyes, keep sound wisdom and discretion;

Here is the word wisdom, and knowledge.

Proverbs 3:22-23 So they will be life to your soul and grace to your neck. Then you will walk safely in your way, and your foot will not stumble.

The word walk

Proverbs 3:24 When you lie down, you will not be afraid; Yes, you will lie down and your sleep will be sweet.

Pastor Wendell commented, “We can all use sweet sleep.”

Proverbs 3:25-26 Do not be afraid of sudden terror, nor of trouble from the wicked when it comes; for the LORD will be your confidence, and will keep your foot from being caught.

This has a reference to Foot.

Proverbs 4:11-13 I have taught you in the ways of wisdom; I have led you in right paths. When you walk , your steps will not be hindered. And when you run, you will not stumble. Take firm hold of instruction, do not let go; keep her, for she is your life.

We need to live clean and open lives so that we can walk in faith with confidence with God. We may not know where we are going, so we walk. God is very much about a person being in motion. This is not the time to take our ease in Zion, it is not a time of compromise. It is a time to confront, to sacrifice ourselves. It is not about my own thing, but about Kingdom mission to conquer the world with His truth. The church needs to rally, individuals need to step up and get into the place Christ has prepared for them. It is about attitude and place which is crucial to our performance in God’s kingdom.

Proverbs talks about going step by step, Psalm 37:23 The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD, and He delights in his way. When we are taking these steps do we qualify? When God looks through the blood to see us, we want to please Him, to be in right placement.

Nevertheless, we don’t want our own will to prevail, but His will. When our flesh cries, we say ouch, ouch, ouch but do His will anyway. When we want to say no, no, no, and God says yes, yes, yes, we obey God. When we say, “I can’t” we have to listen to God who says, “Yes, you can.”

Our words affirm what we are doing. Our words speak to the flesh and tell it to line up with God’s will. We tell our flesh, you are going to the cross, you may not like it, but you will like what you will become when you sacrifice yourself to God’s Will.

In 1 Samuel 15 we find King Saul doing his own thing. He decided what he was going to do even though it was contrary to God’s instructions. So Samuel speaks with Saul ,

1 Samuel 15:20-21 And Saul said to Samuel, “But I have obeyed the voice of the LORD, and gone on the mission on which the LORD sent me, and brought back Agag king of Amalek: I have utterly destroyed the Amalekites. But the people took of the plunder, sheep and oxen, the best of the things which should have been utterly destroyed, to sacrifice to the LORD your God in Gilgal.

Liar, for if he had obeyed God, he would have also destroyed the King Agag and not taken the plunder. (1 Samuel 15:3 God tells Saul to utterly destroy all that they have and do not spare them. Kill both man and woman, infant and nursing child, ox and seep, camel and donkey). But Saul did not do that, for he preserved things, thinking to please God, by what he wanted to do in the flesh. When we start making excuses there is a lie in there.  Listen to God’s response through Samuel.

1 Samuel 15:22 Has the LORD as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the LORD? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice.

YOU CAN’T DO THE WILL OF GOD IF YOU INSIST ON DOING YOUR OWN THING.

We have the capacity to think, and therein lies our problem. Sometimes we think ourselves into situations that we wish we hadn’t thought ourselves into. To obey is better than sacrifice.

Remember Psalm 37:23 that the steps of a righteous man are ordered by the Lord. Righteousness is a state of relationship with God, that is why God can work with a righteous man.

How do we discern the Will of God? DO THE WORD! When we get into His Word (the Bible) we begin to learn what is God’s will for us, what we need to avoid, how to walk in righteousness, etc.

Psalm 119:11-14 Your word I have hidden in my heart, that I might not sin against You. Blessed are You, O LORD! Teach me Your statutes. With my lips I have declared all the judgments of your mouth. I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies.

We want to walk our paths of life within God’s law.

Psalm 119:15-16 I will meditate on Your precepts, and contemplate Your ways. I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.

The Law is loving, and we want to know the Word of the Lord. We want to love it and obey it.

Psalm 119:18 Open my eyes, that I may see Wondrous things from Your law.

As we learn God’s law, our eyes are opened to Him and blessings.

Romans 10:17 So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.

Faith is the ability to follow God and have confidence in what He said, trust is the ability to receive the Will of God, to Know the Will of God, we learn to track God’s will through the Word. If nothing else, do the Word, Kenneth Copeland said. If we have no worship team, if we have no building, if there is nothing else in a service, just the Word, go with the Word. Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give us the desires of our heart. Fall into the will of God and lay there.

Tomorrow I will share what Pastor Wendell taught us about the three ways to find the Will of God.

Let me tell you that this teaching was a blessing to me, and I hope that it blesses you. Hoping you stay warm, it is bitter cold here.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Pastor Wendell Williams and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

