Pastor Don Moore answers a few questions from my readers.

Saturday, October 07, 2006

Answers to Comments.

(10/24/13 – The Xanga subscribers mentioned in this post now have inactive sites, I’m keeping their comments, but can’t give you a new address for them.)

I got to see Pastor Don today. One of the things I always do is give Pastor Don copies of the Bible study notes I share with you, and your comments. The other day I put up an entry about the Holy Spirit and Tongues. I printed that out too because, if I am sharing something, I want to make sure it is Biblical. Pastor Don spent some time reading comments and gave me answers to two of the commenters. You should know that Pastor Don values any comments you make on his teachings, for it helps him to see what he still needs to teach on, and also he loves to hear what others have to say. You bless him with your comments. So tonight, I am going to put up the two comments that Pastor Don addressed and his responses. I was scribbling notes -it was like my own private Bible study.

Here is the article on the Holy Spirit link.

First comment:

Just a quick comment.  1 Corinthians 14:21-22 “In the law it is written: “With men of other tongues and other lips I will speak to this people;And yet, for all that, they will not hear Me,” says the Lord. Therefore tongues are for a sign, not to those who believe but to unbelievers; but prophesying is not for unbelievers but for those who believe.”  Now if you read Acts 2:7-12 you’ll find the tongues were intelligible languages.  At the time the Corinthian church was carnal in nature.  They weren’t maturing.  There was disorder in the church.  Paul, under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, wrote the letter to correct that situation.  The key to understanding his teaching on tongues is vss. 27-28.

Posted 10/1/2006 at 11:40 PM by didache

Pastor Don pointed out that the support verses used for your argument are not taken in context. For your reference to Acts 2:7-12 you have to go back to verse 4 to gain insight into the context. Acts 2:4-6 And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak with other tongues as the Spirit gave them utterance. And there were dwelling in Jerusalem Jews, devout men, from every nation under heaven. And when this sound occurred, the multitude came together, and were confused, because everyone heard them speak in his own tongue.

Verse 4 The Holy Spirit utterance was not a language that they knew (other tongues), and some accused them of babbling. There would be no miracle if the men were babbling. So in order for this to be perceived as a miracle, the were actually speaking in foreign languages that they did not ordinarily speak or that they were speaking in tongues – with interpretation in foreign languages.

Verse 6 the weight of the miracle is actually in this confusion – they would not appear drunk.Verse 15 For these are not drunk, as you suppose, since it is only the third hour of the day. If they spilled out into the street speaking intelligible language it would be no miracle. If they were speaking a foreign language it would be assumed in this coastal town that they were familiar with the foreign language that they were speaking, that they were just being loud in the morning, and it would not lead to conversions.

The only explanation to this passage as a sign and wonder is that they were speaking tongues in an unintelligible language and this converted many nonbelievers and witnesses and participants in that miracle (sign and wonder) and the tongues were interpreted by the listeners into their language.

1 Corinthians 14:21-22 In the law it is written: “With men of other tongues and other lips I will speak to this people, and yet, for all that, they will not hear Me, says the LORD. Therefore tongues are for a sign, not to those who believe but to unbelievers; but prophesying is not for unbelievers but for those who believe.

The prophetic reference to the verse above said of tongues is for the purpose of prophetic conversion of unbelievers. Paul’s quote of the Old Testament was pointing to the fact that God in the later days (from the cross to the present) would use every vehicle of language to reach the unsaved and to reach unbelievers who refuse or are unable to see God’s supernatural ability by using unintelligible tongues and languages. But yet and still people will not hear. The passage is a reference to tongues being used under the Spiritual Gifts of Corinthians 12 to profit all, not from Corinthians 14 which is a prayer language to edify the individual believer.

I Corinthians 14: 2, 4 For he who speaks in a tongue does not speak to men but to God, for no one understands him, however, in the spirit he speaks mysteries, (4) He who speaks in a tongue edifies himself, but he who prophesies edifies the church.

I Corinthians 12:27-28 Now you are the body of Christ, and members individually. And God has appointed to these in the church: first apostles, second prophets, third teachers, after that miracles, then gifts of healings, helps, administrations, varieties of tongues.

Paul, under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit is wanting to correct the situation of confusion and warns us not to forbid speaking in tongues I Corinthians 14:39 Therefore, brethren, desire earnestly to prophesy, and do not forbid to speak with tongues.

He encourages us that we need to pray that God gives us interpretation of tongues.                 1 Corinthians 14:13 Therefore let him who speaks in a tongue pray that he may interpret.

1 Corinthians 14:14 For if I pray in a tongue, my spirit prays, but my understanding is unfruitful. We are told to pray in the Spirit even though tongues is a prayer language unfruitful to our understanding.

1 Corinthians 14:15 What is the conclusion then? I will pray with the spirit, and I will also pray with the understanding. I will sing with the spirit, and I will also sing with the understanding. He concludes that we are to pray both with understanding and with the Spirit.

1 Corinthians 14:18 I thank my God I speak with tongues more than you all; Paul exceeds the church in Corinth in praying in tongues – he prays in tongues more than them.  Therefore his letter is his effort to set forth that the gift in chapter 12 is not practiced in the same manner as the prayer language in Chapter 14. Consideration must be given to politeness and spiritual order. 1 Corinthians 14:26-28 How is it then, brethren? Whenever you come together, each of you has a psalm, has a teaching, has a tongue, has a revelation, has an interpretation. Let all things be done for edification. If anyone speaks in a tongue, let there be two or at the most three, each in turn, and let one interpret. But if there is no interpreter, let him keep silent in church, and let him speak to himself and to God.  Verse 33 For God is not the author of confusion but of peace, as in all the churches of the saints.

God is a God of order. He reminds us in verse 37 If anyone thinks himself to be a prophet or spiritual, let him acknowledge that the things which I write to you are the commandments of the Lord.

In the modern church, instead of bringing order to the use and operation of tongues as a personal prayer language and signs and wonders, of prophesying in the congregation. The church has thrown out the baby with the bath water. In the church doubt and unbelief is preached rather than practice and yieldedness, thereby robbing the church and the saints of the individual edification, weapons of evangelism, and prophetic edification of the Church by the Spiritual voice of the Holy Spirit.

Pastor Don then said, as a Baptist boy who did not believe in tongues, I prayed a simple prayer.”If it is a twofold gift by the Holy Spirit I yield to it and I receive what you have for me. If it is of the devil or just error, I trust you to keep it from me, and protect me by your power.” This simple prayer of faith opened the door to the supernatural for me and It will do the same for you.

********

It only takes one time of being in complete and utter desperation and having someone pray over you and for you in tongues for you to believe. When my son Josiah was still born, the pastor I grew up with came to my hospital room and prayed over/with me. I was too sad to pray for myself. The Holy Spirit was my intercessor. The worlds I could not understand came to heal me and the hurt that can not be explained.
Posted 10/2/2006 at 7:35 AM by Queenpalmtree –

The Biblical answer to what you shared is Romans 8:26-28 Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weakness. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. Now He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He who makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God. And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

*****

I hope that the answers to these comments bless you too.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2006 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

