The Power of God – Pastor Don Moore

Saturday, August 19, 2006
Pastor Don’s Friday’s Bible Study was on the POWER OF GOD

When Jesus was questioned by the Pharisees he told them He only did what He saw His Father do, and He only said what His Father said.

One image that people think of God’s power is natural phenomenon like a lightning strike. They will say, for example,  that if they do this or that, God will strike them down with a lightning bolt. Granted, God could do this, but lightning is also a natural phenomenon, humidity and heat building to create an electrical charge. It was created by the power of God, set in space and time eons ago by design. Another example is the miracle of birth – that was set in motion from the beginning of time by God’s design.

The Power of God is not a phenomenon set in motion, but an interruption in the natural order of things, a release of the Power of God. And example is Joshua, during a battle, prayed that God would stop time. And God did. Scientists have found that there is a whole day missing when they calculate the rotation of the earth.

We can begin to ascertain about the Power of God by seeing Jesus’ ministry on earth.

John 8 deals with a test put to Jesus by the scribes and Pharisees. They brought to Him a woman caught in adultery and asked Him to pronounce judgment on her. They are saying that they are righteous and holy, and can do this. But the Law stated that the punishment was to be made on the man and the woman. They did not follow the law, because they only brought the woman to Jesus. You cannot commit adultery alone. Jesus does not condone adultery. If these scribes and Pharisees had had a genuine desire in their hearts to stamp out adultery, if they had brought both the man and the woman to Jesus, His answer might have been different. As it was, he asked the woman, after her accusers left because none was without sin, John 8:10 “Woman where are those accusers of yours? Has no one condemned you?” He then tells her in verse 11 “Neither do I condemn you: go and sin no more.”

He did judge her actions as sin, and He told her not to sin anymore. But while He was on earth, Jesus did not come to condemn anyone to death, but He did judge. He was particularly hard in His judgments of the scribes and Pharisees. But His time on earth was not the time of His judgement of human fleshly sins. But one day Jesus will judge – He is the King of Kings, Lord of Lords.

John 8:14-18 Jesus answered and said to them, “Even if I bear witness of Myself, My witness is true, for I know where I came from and where I am going; but you do not know where I come from and where I am going. You judge according to the flesh; I judge no one. And yet if I do judge, My judgment is true, for I am not alone, but I am with the Father who sent me. It is also written in your law that the testimony of two witnesses is true. I am One who bears witness of Myself, and the Father who sent Me bears witness of me.

Jesus judges no one according to the flesh, but He does judge according to the heart – which is a true judgment. He also judged while He was on earth, with the operating power of the Holy Spirit, so His judgments were true. There is a difference between condemning to death and judging. Judging examines the fruit – whether it is good or bad. But He did not condemn to death while He was on earth.

Notice that it says “You judge according to the flesh (semicolon) I judge no one. The semicolon shows a continuation of thought – that Jesus would not judge according to the flesh.  Jesus relied on the Word of God and the Holy Spirit to judge those on earth.

When we judge in the flesh we base our judgments on appearance, on our likes and dislikes. The Holy Spirit gives discernment to see beyond the flesh.

Verse 15 “You judge according to the flesh, I judge no one.” and verse 16 “And yet if I do judge, My judgment is true; for I am not alone, but I am with the Father who sent Me.” seems to contradict each other.

But it isn’t a contradiction, for God also does not judge according to the flesh, but to the heart. The Holy Spirit will guide Jesus to make true judgments. And when he said “I AM” with the Father who sent me – remember that God introduced Himself to Moses as I AM that I AM. Jesus is using the same words showing that He and the Father are One. (See the verse below).

Verse 18 I am One who bears witness of Myself, and the Father who sent Me bears witness of Me.

Verse 21 Then Jesus said to them again, “I am going away, and you will seek Me and will die in your sin. Where I go you cannot come.

That is true, because the Scribes and the Pharisees reject Jesus, and it is only through Jesus that they can come to the Father.  They will not be able to go into the Kingdom where Jesus rules and reigns.

In this day and age, with the concept of tolerance, people are trying to get Christians to back down by saying that they cannot judge. We are to judge. We are to judge the fruit of a person’s life. We are to judge, but not to condemn to death. We do not have the right to say, “You are going to go to hell because of that action – for we do not know the heart of a person, only God can condemn.” But we are to judge if something is in line with God’s Word or not, if something bears fruit or not. When we have struggled and overcome a beam in our own eye, we can identify a speck in someone else’s eye. One of the people at our Bible study overcame drug addiction. She has the right to judge a person who is taking drugs and inform them that if they continue on that path, this is the outcome. We are to judge a lie from the truth.

We are to inform people that THERE IS A HELL TO BE SHUNNED AND A HEAVEN TO BE GAINED. If we really love people, we have to have a compassion to warn them of the consequences of their behavior. If we are still locked in a particular sin, then we are to keep our mouth shut.

I will continue this study tomorrow, we will be talking about planting seed which is our job as Christians.

Hoping you have a great weekend,

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2006 Pastor Don Moore Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

