Personal studies Genesis 24, mention of some of Beth Moore’s teachings on this chapter

Thursday, July 06, 2006
Genesis 24

Abraham is now getting old (probably approximately 140 years) and the LORD had blessed him in all things. How awesome to walk in obedience in the LORD’s blessing for such a long period of time.

As Beth Moore says on page 84 of her study The Patriarchs, “I believe that as it did in the life of Abraham, obedience to God causes many of those imputed blessings to become imparted blessings in our walk here on Planet Earth. As we walk in obedience to God, our final testimonies will prove that we have been blessed in every way. Without exception, every area of my life has been affected positively by a growing intimacy with God. When we seek to be fully His, blessing overflows the walls of our compartmentalized lives.”

So much of the Old Testament is a picture of principles that have happened or will happen in the New Testament. This aspect of Isaac’s life reminds me of Revelation 19 and the wedding feast of the Lamb. Remember, the wedding feast occurred after the couple had been secluded for a week – Here is a link to my notes from Vicki’s Bible study that talks about the Jewish wedding . Granted, we have not gotten all the traditions yet at this time in Biblical history, but I am certain that some of the same principles were  already in operation. So much of the Law of Moses has already been seen in what Abraham has done, even though the Law has not yet been written.

Abraham calls in his oldest servant. Who might that be? The oldest servant would have been the one who would inherit from Abraham if Abraham did not have children, so we can probably assume that this servant was Eliezer (whose name means help, succor). We will see that throughout all of the account of searching for Isaac’s bride that the servant is just called Abraham’s servant. This may be a stretch, but if you think about the Holy Spirit, he is one who is called the comforter, he helps the Jesus and God, and aids us in our walk. He remains nameless, and in all that He does, He just points us to Jesus. If Abraham is a picture of God, Isaac a picture of Jesus, and then the servant is a picture of the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit is sent to prepare the bride for the Lamb, could this not be a picture of that Great Wedding feast of the Lamb in Revelation 19? It would sort of make sense because Isaac also represented the sacrifice of the Lamb for our sins.

Abraham’s oldest servant (Eliezer) is instructed to take a binding oath – this involved putting his hand under Abraham’s thigh. Verse 3-4 “…and I will make you swear by the LORD, the God of heaven and the God of the earth, that you will not take a wife for my son from the daughters of the Canaanites, among whom I dwell, but you shall go to my country and to my family, and take a wife for my son Isaac.” 

Beth Moore points out that according to the Jewish Study Bible, “intermarriage with the Canaanites would present a lethal threat to Abraham’s identity and destiny.”

So this means going back to Ur of the Chaldees, where Abraham had a brother who had a daughter. The servant is concerned because maybe he could not find a woman willing to follow him back to this land. The servant wanted to know if he should take Isaac with him to Ur. Abraham tells him verse 6 “…Beware that you do not take my son back there.” Isaac is not to return to that past history of Abraham. It is quite possible that if we return to our old haunts after we have been freed through Christ, that we can be trapped to remain where God does not want us.

Also, if you are following the picture of the Bride of Christ, Christ has ascended to heaven, and the Holy Spirit is interceding for Christ on the earth, preparing the bride. The husband does not go into the bride’s house, the bride leaves her house and home and goes to the husband’s house. So Isaac’s bride will return with the servant to Isaac’s home, he is not to go there.

Abraham reminds the servant of God’s promise, and quotes, in verse 7 “…”To your descendants I give this land,” He will send His angel before you, and you shall take a wife for my son from there.” What great faith Abraham had, he knew that God would provide. He had learned that time after time, so he knew in faith that a bride would be found for Isaac. Also, the bride would not be a Canaanite, for that would be a fleshly bride, and God wanted the line to stay spiritual.

To ease the servant’s fears, Abraham tells him that if a bride is not willing to come, the servant would be released from this binding oath, but I am certain Abraham knew that the bride would be found and would come – would have to because God promised him.

GOD’S WONDROUS INTERVENTION

One servant, 10 camels, and his masters goods were in the servant’s  hand. He went to Mesopotamia, to the city of Nahor. He shows up at a well at evening time, the time when women came to draw water. The goods that the servant brought would have been considered the bride price.

The servant then prays to God a beautiful prayer. verse 12-14 “Then he said, “O LORD God of my master Abraham, please give me success this day, and show kindness to my master Abraham. Behold, here I stand by the well of water, and the daughters of the men of the city are coming out to draw water. Now let it be that the young woman to whom I say, ‘Please let down your pitcher that I may drink,’ and she says, ‘Drink, and I will also give your camels a drink’ let her be the one You have appointed for Your servant Isaac. And by this I will know that You have shown kindness to my master.”

This is the stuff of fairy tales, don’t you remember those wonderful stories where a princess does a kindness for a stranger, and then finds out that the stranger has wonderful gifts to give or she gains a prince for a husband.

But notice that the servant prayed to the God of his master, and trusted that God would provide – he had learned that Abraham’s God was faithful. He sets out a sort of fleece, that the girl would give him a drink of water, and also water 10 camels. That would be a lot of pitchers of water to pull out. Most people would shy away from such hard work, a pitcher of water for the man maybe, but most maidens would probably not want to do that kind of hard work to water 10 camels because each camel could drink 25 gallons of water. For a someone to offer to draw that much water, 250 gallons is above and beyond the call of duty.

What is awesome is that in verse 15 it says that BEFORE HE FINISHED SPEAKING, Rebekah appears. (Remember Rebekah’s genealogy was at the end of chapter 22, so we know that she is related). But how fast God honored this prayer is incredible. I sure wish some of my prayers were answered so speedily.

Rebekah was described as a young woman who was beautiful to behold, a virgin, no man had known her.

She answers the servant’s prayer, offering to give him a drink and water his camels. Notice in verse 21 “And the man, wondering at her, remained silent so as to know whether the LORD had made his journey prosperous or not.” I find that interesting, because so often I want to “help” along the prayers I make. Sometimes I will give a broad hint at what I am asking, trying to ensure that God will answer the prayer, especially when I am praying for problems within my family. Much harder to sit back and wait on God, to trust that God will be faithful.

When the camels were done drinking the man (Abraham’s servant) gave Rebekah a golden nose ring weighing 1/2 shekel and two bracelets for her wrists weighing 10 shekels of gold. Then he asks her whose daughter she is, and whether there is room in her father’s house to lodge. When finding out that she was related to Nahor, and that there was room to lodge, then verse 26 Then the man bowed down his head and worshiped the LORD. And he said, Blessed be the LORD God of my master Abraham, who has not forsaken His mercy and His truth toward my master. As for me, being on the way, the LORD led me to the house of my master’s brethren.”

So the young woman ran and told her mother’s household these things, and Rebekah’s brother Laban, ran out to meet the man by the well. Laban will also be instrumental in teaching Isaac’s son Jacob about honest dealings with others, but that is later on. But Laban noticed the nose ring and bracelets, and offers hospitality, verse 31 “Come in, O blessed of the LORD! Why do you stand outside? For I have prepared the house, and a place for the camels.”

What a good servant, Abraham’s servant was, he was offered food, but would not eat until he had told the Nahor’s family about his errand. He outlines how blessed by God Abraham is, and how his son, Isaac would inherit all that his father has. Then he tells about the commission he was sent on to find a wife for Isaac from his master’s family. He repeats the whole story in detail. I have found that a few places in the Bible there are repeats, and that leads me to believe that it is because there is great importance to God in the material covered, so we need to take special care to read the section with attention. This is one time, also the description of the tabernacle construction, the tithes and offerings made by the tribes. So, what lessons could be learned by the above?

Perhaps it is God’s valuing of marriage, service and its rewards, the picture of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. The great gifts that the Lord has to offer for those who serve and obey, the facts that foreshadow Revelation 19.  I don’t know. I also wonder about the number 10, why 10 camels? One other famous 10 is the 10 commandments.

After repeating the whole story, in verse 49, the servant asks, “Now, if you will deal kindly and truly with my master, tell me. And if not, tell me, that I may turn to the right hand or to the left.

Laban (the son) and Bethuel (the father) state that this comes from the LORD, and they cannot speak either bad or good. They say in verse 51 “Here is Rebekah before you; take her and go, and let her be your master’s son’s wife, as the LORD has spoken.”

Again, Abraham’s servant worships the LORD and bows himself to the earth. He has learned from Abraham how to worship God. Then the servant brings out jewelry of silver, gold, and clothing to give to Rebekah (the bridal price). And gives precious things to her brother and her mother.

After the commission was done he ate and drank and said “Send me away to my master.”

The brother and mother ask that the woman stay a few days, at least ten (10???) then she can go, but the servant says, verse 56 “Do not hinder me, since the LORD has prospered my way; send me away so that I may go to my master.”

They call Rebekah and ask her, and she when asked if she would go with the servant,  Rebekah says, “I will go.” So Rebekah and her nurse went with the servant and his men. Her family gave her a blessing to send her off:

Verse 60 Our sister, may you become the mother of thousands of ten thousands, and may your descendants possess the gates of those who hate them.

They were saying, may her descendants have victory, and they begin the trek towards Abraham’s home.

Isaac, who remained at his father’s house, was looking out for his bride’s coming, just like Jesus is eagerly awaiting our coming. He came to Beer Lahai Roi (which means well of the Lord of the Living one seeing me). This is the same well where the Angel of the Lord met Hagar. Isaac is out meditating in the field in the evening, and when he lifted his eyes, he saw that the camels were coming.

Here is the stuff of romance – Rebekah lifts her eyes and sees Isaac and dismounts. She asks who is that man, and finds out that it is her future husband, so Rebekah covers herself with a veil. Isaac brings Rebekah into his mother’s tent (remember that Sarah died), and she became his wife, and he loved her. So Isaac was comforted after his mother’s death.

sigh, I love happy endings.

Beth Moore shares something in her Patriarch’s study that touched me deeply. As most of you by now know my past, you know that at the age of 8 my father took my virginity and I ended up feeling that I was ruined goods. Most of my life I felt that I would never have that innocence that most people have, and I lived a life according to that lie. Beth Moore was also abused and she writes this, on page 86:

I so wish I had been a virgin when I married. God meant virginity to be a precious gift. Because of my history of both victimization and sin, I did not at all feel beautiful on my wedding day. Keith hates for me to say such a thing, but I remember vividly the emotions I felt that day. Perhaps you have a similar past or maybe, though you remained pure you struggle with feeling beautiful. Dear, Dear One, Christ answers both of those needs. Through His glorious forgiveness, redemption, and refinement, we can joyfully be presented as “virgins” (2 Cor. 11:2) Emotionally, mentally, and spiritually, my virginity has undoubtedly been restored as one of the sweetest works of God’s redemption in my life. I feel an innocence and purity now that was totally foreign to me even in my elementary school years.

She then mentions Ephesians 5:25-27 “Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself for her, that He might sanctify and cleanse her with the washing of water by the word, that He might present her to Himself a glorious church, not having spot or wrinkle or any such thing, but that she should be holy and without blemish.”

How awesome that Christ not only wants us, but purifies us, so that we are presentable to Him as His bride. It brings tears to my eyes to see how loved we are by Him.

Beth Moore than gives us a beauty secret, Page 86 “You will never have a beauty secret with more visible results than the study of God’s Word. Let His word evoke your beauty daily.”

Beth Moore spent many days on this chapter, and there are other angles that she presented that I hadn’t thought about. Because this entry is so long, I think I will share the rest of them with you tomorrow, they impacted me greatly when I reviewed them, so you might as well see what God is working on in my life.

I am hoping you have a blessed day!!

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Heather's personal Bible study notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

