Personal notes, photos of sons photo shoot, Reading Eat this Book by Eugene Peterson

Tuesday, June 06, 2006
Currently Reading
Eat This Book: A Conversation in the Art of Spiritual Reading
By Eugene H. Peterson
see related

Am starting a new book that looks to be interesting, see above. Here is  a quote from the preface.

“What I want to say, countering the devil, is that in order to read the Scriptures adequately and accurately, it is necessary at the same time to live them. Not to live them as a prerequisite to reading them, and not to live them in consequence of reading them, but to live them as we read them, the living and reading reciprocal, body language and spoken word, the back-and-forthness assimilating the reading to the living, the living to the reading. Reading the Scriptures is not an activity discrete from living the gospel but one integral to it. It means letting Another have a say in everything we are saying and doing. It is as easy as that. And as hard.”

Well the author is a bit verbose, but what he is saying is so important, that is to read the Bible is good, but to read and respond to what the Bible is saying to you is far more important that mere reading. The Bible is a way that God can dialogue with us.

Funny thing, this author is the author of the Message Bible, and it seems that he saved his verboseness for this book, not sure what the chapters will be like.

Beth Moore once gave a demonstration of how she reads the Bible in her daily talks with God, and she will read a passage like “Love the Lord with all your heart,” and then stop and ask God to help her love Him with all her heart, to take away those things that prevent this from happening, etc…

I think God really enjoys when we tarry with His word. When I was still a pagan I remember reading the Bible like a novel. The theory was that I was going to read it once from Genesis to Revelation. I did that and some things stuck, the second reading was equally as rapid and other things stuck. After a few more readings of the Bible I started to take more time, not rushing the reading, so what if the read the Bible in a year plan took three years, as long as I was daily in the Word. I now love spending time trying to find all that God has for me to learn in whatever part of the Bible I am. And the cool thing, just like the disciples on the road to Emmaus found out, Jesus is in every chapter and verse of the Bible. That is awesome.

Have a blessed day. I am still trying to get to your sites, and spend a bit of time there. It has been hectic times. But fun too. My two sons were spotted at a Boy Scout yard sale, and someone took their picture for an article on scouts, and this weekend we got a call that a photographer wanted them, and a couple other boys for a fashion shoot for clothes for a men’s magazine. We went to the try out where they had one snapshot of them, then were invited back for the photo shoot. If their pictures appear in the magazine I will let you know, they also snapped a roll of pictures of my daughter. This woman specializes in children’s pictures. We were there and watched our sons posing by a tree in clothes that probably cost more than their entire wardrobe combined. My one son was laughing saying that he was wearing Cramer’s pants (Seinfeld), but my other son took a liking to the sheepskin jacket. They had fun, and we had fun watching them. Of course their father, who is the son of a photographer, now knows how much they will tolerate in posing and picture taking. May change the picture taking in our family for the future, oh help. But they had fun and I suspect it was a great ego building experience to realize that someone thought them so photogenic. My daughter has some self-image problems, she feels ugly and fat (thanks to her “friends” comments) and I am actually hoping that this photographer calls her. What I like is that the family was invited to be there to watch, albeit at a distance, so we were not a distraction. But the boys look good!.

Here is a picture of the people who were doing the photo shoot, the photographer’s assistant is the one in red. The photographer is the woman to the left of the guy in the blue shirt.. My boys are back there by the tree.

z39216937

Never a dull moment in our household. Today my oldest, the one on the left gets inducted into National Honor Society. I am so proud of his hard work.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Heather's personal Bible study notes, personal, photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

