Names of God by Vicki Gabler

Well we had an incredible Bible study on Friday, done by two people, Vicki and Ed

Vicki spoke about the names of God, reminding us that God gave us these names in His relationship with people, and that we can use them when we need to in our prayers. She covered several of them and gave us scriptures where they were given. There are over 700 names of God in the Bible

Psalm 34:3 “Oh, magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt His name together.” An archaic definition of magnify is to praise highly, esteem greatly.

Psalm 111:9 “He has sent redemption to His people; He has commanded His covenant forever: Holy and awesome is His name.”

The name of God is Holy, so holy in fact that when the Israelites wrote the Torah, when they came to the name of God, they would stop, cleanse themselves, change their clothes and write the name with a new pen. We need to spend more time honoring God, and the names He has shared with us.

1. Elohim – which means God our creator – Genesis 1:1 “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.” Elohim is a plural word. El  is unity, Elohim is more than one, it is the first place we get the glimpse that there is a trinity. Genesis 1:26 Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness…” The word God here is also Elohim. and God is using the terms us and our, implying more than one. God is the strong one, mighty leader, supreme deity, with a plenitude of power and majesty.

2. Jehovah – Our Eternal God – Genesis 2:4, 2:7 (4)”This is the history of the heavens and the earth when they were created, in the day that the LORD God made the earth and the heavens. (7) And the LORD God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living being.”

This is an active God, Israel’s redeemer. The name Jehovah is listed 6,823 times in the Old Testament. It is associated with God’s holiness, hatred of sin, and gracious promise of redemption. He was, is and is to be. The creator of men, the covenant giver, the atonement for our sins. He desires relationship with us for we can’t worship Him without relationship. Every time you see the name LORD in caps, it means Jehovah.

3. Jehovah El Shaddai – God our supplier – Genesis 17:1-2 When Abram was ninety-nine years old, the LORD appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am Almighty God, walk before Me and be blameless. And I will make My covenant between Me and you, and will multiply you exceedingly.” He is a God of right, nourishment, bounty, and blessings. Abram’s response to God was to fall on his face and worship. It means mountain, overpowering, almighty, one standing on a mountain, the God who is enough.

4. Adonai – Master, Lord – (Dr. Ed went to Hebrew School as a boy, so he gave us some of the pronunciations – I will try to phonetically spell out how the word is to be said, maybe it will be of some help – AD – DOE – NOY (rhymes with boy).) Genesis 18:3 “and  said “My Lord, if you have now found favor in Your sight, do not pass on by your servant.” This is when Abraham addresses the three angels before the destruction of Sodom is revealed.  And when God appears on the earth in the Old Testament He is always accompanied by angels, for He is the Lord, the master. It implies ownership, possession, lordship over our lives.

5. Jehovah Jireh -God my provider. Genesis 22:14 And Abraham called the name of the place, The LORD will Provide; as it is said to this day, “In the Mount of the LORD it shall be provided.” He provides all we need, and he provided His son for our redemption, he provides for our physical and spiritual needs. And our greatest need of all is Jesus. Philippians 4:19 “And my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Notice it is need, not needs. What we really need is Christ Jesus.

6. Jehovah Rapha – God my healer Exodus 15:22-26 Now when they came to Marah, they could not drink the waters of Marah, for they were bitter. Therefore the name of it was called Marah. And the people complained against Moses, saying, “What shall we drink?” So he cried out to the LORD and the LORD showed him a tree. When he cast it into the waters, the waters were made sweet. There He made a statute and an ordinance for them, and He tested them, and said, “If you diligently heed the voice of the LORD your God and do what is right in His sight, give ear to His commandments and keep all His statutes, I will put none of the diseases on you which I have brought on the Egyptians. For I am the LORD who heals you.” When we are sick it is important to call on Jehovah Rapha. In fact Vicki said that there was a period where she was sick and all she did was spent time singing, “I am the God who Heals you..” and over time she got over her sickness. We cannot get scared by a diagnosis, for God is a more powerful healer than any sickness that could come on us.

7. Jehovah Nissi – God my Banner – Exodus 17:15 And Moses built an altar and called its name, The LORD is My Banner.” God provides a covering and a protection over us. He can bring us to victory, but we must obey Him. He cannot protect or cover disobedience. 2 Cor. 2:14 “Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place.”

8. Jehovah M’kadesh – God my Sanctifier (Dr. Ed gave us this pronunciation – know that I may not have heard correctly, but this is to the best of my knowledge the phonetic sounds, Meh COD esh) sanctify means to set apart for service, holy to the LORD Exodus 31:13 “Speak also to the children of Israel, saying: ‘Surely My Sabbaths you shall keep, for it is a sign between Me and you throughout your generations, that you may know that I am the LORD who sanctifies you.'” We must walk in the holiness of God, and obey Him. Jesus prayed this for us: John 17:17 “Sanctify them by Your truth. Your word is truth.”

9. Jehovah Shalom – God my Peace Judges 6:23-24 “Then the LORD said to him, “Peace be with you; do not fear, you shall not die.” So Gideon built an altar there to the LORD, and called it The LORD Is Peace. To this day it is still in Ophrah of the Abiezrites.” We have peace with God through Jesus. Psalm  119:165 “Great peace have those who love Your law, and nothing causes them to stumble.”

10. Jehovah Tsidkenu- God my Righteousness (Another phonetic rendition, important to pronounce both the “t” and the “s” in kind of like a slur sound, Tsid Kay New) We are made righteous with God through Jesus. We cannot achieve righteousness by our own efforts. Jeremiah 23:6 “In His days Judah will be saved, and Israel will dwell safely: Now this is His name by which He will be called: THE LORD OUR RIGHTEOUSNESS.” 1 Cor. 1:30 “But of Him you are in Christ Jesus, who became for us wisdom from God– and righteousness and sanctification and redemption—“

2 Cor. 5:21″ For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.”

Jehovah Rohi – God my Shepherd (Phonetic Row He) Psalm 23:1 “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want…” God provides leadership, protection, close intimacy, and all that a shepherd would provide for his sheep.

12 Jehovah Shammah – The Abiding Presence – (Phonetic Shah – Ma) God wants to walk with us moment by moment. Ezekiel 48:35 “All the way around shall be eighteen thousand cubits; and the name of the city from that day shall be: THE LORD IS THERE.” God is abiding with us, He does not just come for short visits.

As you can see from these names of God, it is a progression in how we know Him from the creator to abiding with us. Or from head knowledge to heart knowledge. When we use the true names of God it enhances our relationship with Him, enriches it.

Someone asked about God providing, and wanted to know about the prosperity messages preached on TV – and we were told that we are to be happy with what we have, but desire all that God has for us. Not always is an overabundance a good thing. Sometimes it can be our downfall. Not everyone can handle having tons of money and using it wisely for the Lord. Someone might give a diabetic an overabundance of sweets, but that will not be in their best interests health-wise.

I will try to write Dr. Ed’s teaching tomorrow or Monday. It is an incredible teaching that He calls the Jerusalem Road – sort of akin to the Roman Road. And it is passages he used to talk to his Jewish Father about Jesus, all from the Old Testament.

Have a blessed Sunday,

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Vicki Gabler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

