The Good Samaritan by Michael Hasenbalg

Friday, May 05, 2006
 
A few Sunday’s ago Michael Hasenbalg gave a dynamite study on the Good Samaritan, Luke 10:25-37. In this parable there are many characters and things in the natural.
 
A certain man, a certain priest, a Levite, a certain centurion, oil, wine, an inn, 2 denarii, etc.
 
We started looking at some of these things from a spiritual point of view.
Jerusalem, this is the place of God, where the temple is, where God met with the people in the Holy of Holies.
Jericho – the walls came down. It was part of taking the promised land,
Canaan is where the enemy dwelt, before the Israelites came, and the place where Jesus was tempted.
 
After Jesus spoke with the lawyer, and answered his question, the lawyer answered, who is my neighbor? Jesus started answering Luke 10:30 “A certain man went down from Jerusalem to Jericho, and fell among thieves, who stripped him of his clothing, wounded him, and departed, leaving him half dead.”
 
A certain man (Adam) was brought down by the enemy (satan), robbed (of his position on earth through the lies of satan), he was stripped (of authority) and left for dead (spiritual death), even though he was still physically alive.
 
Luke 10:31-32 “Now by chance a certain priest came down that road. And when he saw him, he passed by on the other side. Likewise a Levite, when he arrived at the place, came and looked, and passed by on the other side.”
 
Moses is the Law giver, the Levitical priest, who led the Israelites out of Egypt. We know that the law is a school master, that no one can obey the law completely, we all fall short, so the law was not able to help the man (Adam), it just showed him the sins. So he passed by on one side, unable to help.
 
Aaron, the High priest went to the temple once a year to make sacrifice for the atonement of sins, it was a covering for sin, but did not obliterate the sins, just covered them. This sacrifice was to be done once a year, for the sin was not completely removed, it could not provide but a temporary covering for the man. So he passed by on the other side, unable to help.
 
Not to mention these priests, because of their laws would not touch the man for fear of contamination and ruining their feasts.
 
Luke 10: 33-35 “But a certain Samaritan, as he journeyed, came where he was. And when he saw him, he had compassion. So he went to him and bandaged his wounds, pouring on oil, and wine; and he set him on his own animal, brought him to an inn, and took care of him. On the next day, when he departed, he took out two denarii, gave them to the innkeeper, and said to him, ‘Take care of him; and whatever more you spend, when I come again, I will repay you'”.
 
I am sure that you can guess who the Samaritan was representing.  Compassion (something Jesus looked at people with), oil and wine – holy spirit and blood, He stopped and bandaged wounds (healed, and Jesus stopped at the needs of people like Blind Bartimaeus to give healing), he cared about the outcast, the inn – remember there was no place at the inn for Jesus, a denari is a day’s wage – so here we are talking about 2 days (and for God a day is as a thousand years) and so the man is taken care of for 2000 years, and then the Samaritan says, WHEN I COME AGAIN, and we know who is coming again, He will repay those who took care of the man. Jesus wants to use us to be his hands on the earth until He comes again.
 
If you look at the Samaritan parable you can see the whole gospel message. Michael went on to say that he is doing a study of the parables looking for the gospel message hidden in them, for the parables were stories that hid truths, that Jesus often had to explain the parables to his disciples. I sure would have liked to have heard His explanation of his other parables, and the discussions they had around the fire. I had not looked at this parable as a message of the gospel, but rather as a way that God wants us to live as neighbors to everyone. I love how deep the Word of God is, layer upon layer upon layer.
Hope you have a blessed day. I am hoping more can access the wailing wall site, I don’t have a problem with the link. By the way today is Friday Bible study!!!! Yeah.
 
Heather
About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Michael Hasenbalg and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

